Objective Opinion: Media Coverage In Last Two Weeks

Torontoblue76

I have only posted twice before, so I do so only when necessary. I am writing with the benefit/curse of more than 20 years' experience in the international media game, having worked in the US, UK, Scotland (home country), Europe, Africa, Asia etc and now living in Canada.

In my professional opinion, there is no doubt a case to be made against the BBC for bias when it comes to the coverage of the Warburton and Fulham story. For the BBC to have put up a story about this on their website during the Dumbarton game was a deliberate attempt to unsettle the team; for the same journalists to ask the same questions four times in succession ten days after they had first been given a straight answer, then again six days later and again a straight answer came back - this is, plainly put, harassment by the media.

If this goes on for another year I could honestly see MW leaving a year early if (for instance) a Southampton/Everton etc were to come calling. Nothing to do with the club or the fans, just the way he gets treated by the press. And anyone who has followed Scottish media for any length of time will know very well he will not be the first to whom this has happened.

Mods, feel free to merge with the witch hunt thread if this is where my thoughts should be. Thanks - TB

I have only posted twice before, so I do so only when necessary. I am writing with the benefit/curse of more than 20 years' experience in the international media game, having worked in the US, UK, Scotland (home country), Europe, Africa, Asia etc and now living in Canada.

In my professional opinion, there is no doubt a case to be made against the BBC for bias when it comes to the coverage of the Warburton and Fulham story. For the BBC to have put up a story about this on their website during the Dumbarton game was a deliberate attempt to unsettle the team; for the same journalists to ask the same questions four times in succession ten days after they had first been given a straight answer, then again six days later and again a straight answer came back - this is, plainly put, harassment by the media.

If this goes on for another year I could honestly see MW leaving a year early if (for instance) a Southampton/Everton etc were to come calling. Nothing to do with the club or the fans, just the way he gets treated by the press. And anyone who has followed Scottish media for any length of time will know very well he will not be the first to whom this has happened.

Mods, feel free to merge with the witch hunt thread if this is where my thoughts should be. Thanks - TB

Aye MW is so weak repetitive questioning would make him Leave! Just stupid! Then again you did say ( imply) you were a journalist ! Figures!

Putting a story up during a game was an attempt to unsettle the team? Were they grabbing fly looks at their mobile during the game?

Maybe just the cynic in me but for someone with 20 years experience involved with "international media", and having been a member here for a couple of years, this is what you feel is necessary to prompt you to post?

I'd hope that the manager would be able to handle himself with the press but I get the point your making. If he has to endure this type of yellow journalism week in week out for the remainder of his contract, it could make think twice about staying. I do think that it was an attempt to unsettle the team. It was a big game and one we needed to win. I expect more stories like this before the final.

I'm sure Warbs will have been in a lot more stressful situations than the Scottish Media and I'm sure he can easily handle them. On a side note Gordon Waddell in today's Sunday Mail pissed me off with his little snipe!

"Firm skin is needed" He goes on about the pressure of being an old firm manager but what really pissed me off was the wee bit towards the end of the article paragraph started with, "He could have killed the speculation early on but chose to dance round it then blame everyone else for not reading a buried nuance. He was never leaving despite Fulham's interest, so just say it Simple.!"

Well I'm sorry Gordon but you are writing out of your arse, Warbs did say during 4 different interviews and reporters like yourself wouldn't accept it when he first said it!

The "Last Laugh" will be on the so called sports journalists, and especially the BBC coven of vampires, as MW and the players have proven to date, beyond doubt, that they are well and able to handle anything that comes their way.

The bias at the BBC has been around for a donkey's age now, and we can do no more than complain through the proper channels but unfortunately this has little effect up here at BBC Scotland as they are infested with anti Rangers bigots.

If it were to escalate further, then I believe that MW would be well and able to handle all comers without braking sweat, and will drill this into the players so that they are similarly equipped to handle any subsequent press bullshit.

All the press/media outlets up here in Scotland are full of shit when it comes to The Rangers, but I believe they have now mistaken MW's respectful demeanour for softness, and will regret that impression when he swats them aside like the cockroaches they are .......... with a big "respectful" smile on his face ......... :P

As said above ...... nobody who has been under the pressure of working "In the city" to the tune of £2 billion per day can be seen as a mouse ...... such an individual is to be underestimated at a person,s own risk.

Only the mob up here that try and pass themselves off as sports journalists would make this mistake, and turn this situation into the proverbial ....... Mountain out of a Molehill.

:uk:

The "Last Laugh" will be on the so called sports journalists, and especially the BBC coven of vampires, as MW and the players have proven to date, beyond doubt, that they are well and able to handle anything that comes their way.

The bias at the BBC has been around for a donkey's age now, and we can do no more than complain through the proper channels but unfortunately this has little effect up here at BBC Scotland as they are infested with anti Rangers bigots.

If it were to escalate further, then I believe that MW would be well and able to handle all comers without braking sweat, and will drill this into the players so that they are similarly equipped to handle any subsequent press bullshit.

All the press/media outlets up here in Scotland are full of shit when it comes to The Rangers, but I believe they have now mistaken MW's respectful demeanour for softness, and will regret that impression when he swats them aside like the cockroaches they are .......... with a big "respectful" smile on his face ......... :P

As said above ...... nobody who has been under the pressure of working "In the city" to the tune of £2 billion per day can be seen as a mouse ...... such an individual is to be underestimated at a person,s own risk.

Only the mob up here that try and pass themselves off as sports journalists would make this mistake, and turn this situation into the proverbial ....... Mountain out of a Molehill.

Great post mate, think the OP should watch Mark's performances with the media, he's been outstanding. He's called them out on their integrity and professionalism and did it in a respectful and professional way.

I seriously doubt he gives them much thought or credence.

Great post mate, think the OP should watch Mark's performances with the media, he's been outstanding. He's called them out on their integrity and professionalism and did it in a respectful and professional way.

I seriously doubt he gives them much thought or credence.

:clap:

Agreed ......... and why should he? ........ He is after all, the manager of the most successful football Club in the world ....... this has got to upset them more than they upset him ........ No Surrender MW.

The media are doing what they do, trying to stir up a situation that doesn't exist. Some of it is really quite laughable.

Jackson suggests, on the basis of a little irritation in MWs voice, that he might not be able to handle the media circus. Having watched all MWs press conferences this year, if anybody can handle the press in this country, it is MW (and with ease). However, let's assume he had lost the place at the press conference on Thursday (which he clearly did not), what difference does it make to him being a successful manager. There was no manager in the game with a thinner skin than Alex Ferguson. He spent his entire career lambasting and giving short shrift to incompetent journalists, didn't do him any harm.

Then today, we have a quote from the clown manager across the city offering advice to MW. Having watched both of them do their job this season, are we really meant to take this seriously. Ridiculous - quite clearly a setup by a journalist struggling to come up with a story.

I'm surprised that Rangers haven't came out and said prior to ANY conference be it for MW or a player "If any of you daft cunts asks again about links to another job opening, you'll be banned" Or words in a more appropriate English manner. Especially with the constant pish about transfers as well.

I'd also like to think that he wouldn't be put off by these twats but it could get to the stage where its a constant hassle having to talk to them but on the flip side i suppose he doesn't need to spend much time worrying/thinking about answers to different questions, due to the majority all brining about the same answer.

I'm sure Warbs will have been in a lot more stressful situations than the Scottish Media and I'm sure he can easily handle them. On a side note Gordon Waddell in today's Sunday Mail pissed me off with his little snipe!

"Firm skin is needed" He goes on about the pressure of being an old firm manager but what really pissed me off was the wee bit towards the end of the article paragraph started with, "He could have killed the speculation early on but chose to dance round it then blame everyone else for not reading a buried nuance. He was never leaving despite Fulham's interest, so just say it Simple.!"

Well I'm sorry Gordon but you are writing out of your arse, Warbs did say during 4 different interviews and reporters like yourself wouldn't accept it when he first said it!

The problem is that Mark Warburton said it in a way that these Scottish "journalists" couldn't understand because they are so fucking thick that the only way you can explain things to them is to spell it out clearly, such as.....Right! I'm no' fuckin' gawn tae Fulham...Get it?