Posting news articles on Rangers Media

Bad Robot

Posting news articles on Rangers Media   

232 members have voted

1. 1. Our collective response to the Daily Records negative publications about us fans and our club

• A complete ban on all things related (links, text etc.)
    • One poster cuts and pastes the text (no links)
    • We post want we want from this paper
  2. 2. We have a dedicated page for articles that constantly portray the club and fans in a negative way

• Yes - one page for the record
    • Yes - one page for all negative publications
    • No - keep them random within the other posts
  3. 3. Our collective response to all other negative publications about us fans and our club

• A complete ban on all things related (links, text etc.)
    • One poster cuts and pastes the text (no links)
    • We post want we want from this paper

1872 are asking us to take a stance against the Rhebel. This is one of their releases I agree with most.

I want the Rhebel out off the BD into another folder elsewhere ie a sticky.

In the sticky, no links permitted, copy and paste only.

Means those who want to readout Can, those who don't want to don't, and shows a level of support to what 1872 are trying to achieve.

• Replies 145

14 minutes ago, buster. said:

The heid yins of RM can make up their mind but it might be a more effective strategy if it could be broadly agreed accross the messageboard network, (eg FF and Gersnet).

Yes, would be a good idea.

If you don't like long posts then don't bother reading on.  Just skip to the next post.  

The approaches create a sense being under siege and so bunkering down and stopping buying (boycotting) the newspapers or stopping accessing them.    That's understandable.

The interesting bit for 1872 and for the Club and for supporter groups would be how to turn this around and get Rangers-friendly articles published, or at least articles that are sufficiently free from anti-Rangers bias / hostility and which can be recognised generally as being reasonable and fair.    Bunkering down and denial of purchase / access to links is one half of the matter.  The other half is what can be done to create a more constructive approach from the media. 

If the Club, 1872 and supporter groups have all concluded there is nothing they can do, or are willing to do, to try to bring about a change in the quality of media reporting of Rangers then all we are left with is protest which only the Club, 1872 and supporter groups hear.  The media is left with a clear field to publish what it wants without concern about reaction from the Club, 1872 and Supporter groups.  Which in turn encourages the media to strengthen their anti-Rangers reporting knowing that their message reaches far and wide outside Rangers circles and influences thinking elsewhere without any effective counter.   It creates the platform for the media to print even bolder anti-Rangers messaging. 

Just boycotting is not, imo, the answer,  IMO the Club's directors and media reps need to be much more in the face of offending media outlets more often and making the Rangers case heard, and seen by the Support to be heard.   Maybe a monthly summary should be published by Rangers of actions the Club has taken to counter patently adverse, unfair, unreasonable, inaccurate etc reporting so that the Support can see what action the Club is taking and that the directors are not being ostrich-headed on media reporting.   The media team should be doing more, and visibly so, to show that its earning its keep.   So too for 1872 as a major shareholder in the Club and as a rep for fans.    

Our minds should be stirring from the topics that usually get posted on an hourly basis that we have to put up with. The crowd who introduced 'liewell, dhailly rhebel, murderwell, dumbert' patter. They must be either taig saboteurs, mentally disabled or posting from prison. Get rid of that shit first.

I voted 2 in all three but to stop people feeling that they cannot post anything, rather than one poster doing this why not just have a place (like the transfer section) for all media negative articles with no links.

I am no fan of C1872 but they do have a point about not financing newspapers who on a daily basis (going by what I read on RM) are writing negative stories about our Club.

The other option is just to carry on as we are at the moment and say fuck them and people just post what the want.

:panic:    :giggidy: 

I remember being told years ago you can never beat the press. If they are banned they just print negative stories. But these days they make up the negative Rangers stuff just for the pure hell of it. I'm all for banning the links. If anyone wants to see the article online they can do it easily enough without RM.

we still need to keep up to date on the agenda,not stick our head in the sand and ignore what is happening 

also former players should not be ghost writing articles for them either

2 reasons,they are selling the clubs good name to make a few quid and also by contributing they are giving bears who are not social media/online community aware still have a reason to buy these rhags to hear what their former heroes are saying 

Don't know why anyone would silly themselves reading the rebel in the first place. 

I've noticed people have voted for copying and pasting the article and not sending the link - you're still going to read their bile though? I know the goal there is to stop their website from getting hits but you'd need to be a gullible moron to read anything the bottom of the barrel filth post. 

2 hours ago, buster. said:

The heid yins of RM can make up their mind but it might be a more effective strategy if it could be broadly agreed accross the messageboard network, (eg FF and Gersnet).

Great idea. We need tae be as one on these issues. Ignore the personalities and use the strength we carry as a support.

1 hour ago, KeyserSoze said:

No we don't, they write pish. It should be of no interest to any bear.

26 minutes ago, magic8ball said:

so we just let the attacks and lies grow without challenge then 

I agree with magic8ball, if you don't know what lies a national newspaper puts in print how the hell are you then supposed to challenge it?

8 minutes ago, Sweetheart said:

Do you mean a sin bin like how http://ifyouknowtheirhistory.blogspot.nl Ran his blog? 

went through some of the stories ,got link to the attack on the hoops bar,

the biased coverage about celtic fans being attacked,nothing about them throwing Bricks back and swinging poles,

nothing also will be reported about why the fued started between ajax and the filth ,

the goon brigade stole a flag from the ajax ultras a few years back,and the ultras have went after them ever since 

more jolly crack hijinx

2 minutes ago, magic8ball said:

went through some of the stories ,got link to the attack on the hoops bar,

the biased coverage about celtic fans being attacked,nothing about them throwing Bricks back and swinging poles,

nothing also will be reported about why the fued started between ajax and the filth ,

the goon brigade stole a flag from the ajax ultras a few years back,and the ultras have went after them ever since 

more jolly crack hijinx

That guy has been building a database for years on them. If a Database like that could be built to prove there has been a witch hunt on Rangers, then maybe the club could take legal recourse and stop the brand damage that it does.

20 minutes ago, Sweetheart said:

That guy has been building a database for years on them. If a Database like that could be built to prove there has been a witch hunt on Rangers, then maybe the club could take legal recourse and stop the brand damage that it does.

this needs done,to protect the brand 

the fat jap has been at it for years ,the threat of legal action to reduce brand damage 

when we entered admin ,one the day before the old firm game at ibrox the record had an article, who's more hated at ibrox,the taxman or Lennon 

now I thought it was still having a pop at us ,but the tour of Japan organiser within hours was on the case ,kheevins was on clyde that day (an unrelated organisation to his newspaper) making a grovelling apology and a back page apology followed 

compare that to the apologies we get for far far worse 

threaten with legal action ,in fact just due the arseof the next media liar ,then maybe more favourable coverage will follow 

1 hour ago, magic8ball said:

so we just let the attacks and lies grow without challenge then 

Where do you challenge them? On here? Or do you continually write to the reporter/editor. 

You are challenging fuck all yaking about it on a Rangers forum that's for sure. 

1 hour ago, slimjim1690 said:

I agree with magic8ball, if you don't know what lies a national newspaper puts in print how the hell are you then supposed to challenge it?

Where do you challenge them? On here? Or do you continually write to the reporter/editor. 

You are challenging fuck all yaking about it on a Rangers forum that's for sure. 

2 minutes ago, KeyserSoze said:

I see where your coming from ,but sitting ignoring won't work either 

pressure fans groups and the board to act ,this will only happen if enough folk speak up