The Rugby thread

MisterC

10 hours ago, MisterC said:

They sure are but they deserved that. You need discipline in rugby and England failed that basic test.

Discipline, especially at test match level can be a big contributor to the end result. Enjoyed watching and listening to Guscott going tonto.

First Welsh try, debatable. French ref right enough. Second one, no reason not to award it. Golden boy Rees-Zammit, bang average.Β Lions call up, really?Β Β Β 

Β 

Wales are utterly honking, it is shameful for the other 3 home nations to have let them win a triple crown, Scotland made a complete cunt of beating them, as did Ireland even with 14.

England, look turgidly coached under Jones, they have a tendency to go into these real dips in performance under him, even accounting for that, that is one of the worst refereeing displays I have seen at Elite level sport.Β 

10 hours ago, Dennis Reynolds said:

Wales are utterly honking, it is shameful for the other 3 home nations to have let them win a triple crown, Scotland made a complete cunt of beating them, as did Ireland even with 14.

England, look turgidly coached under Jones, they have a tendency to go into these real dips in performance under him, even accounting for that, that is one of the worst refereeing displays I have seen at Elite level sport.Β 

England's problem is the coaching, theres no deviation from Jones tactics and gameplan, meaning that the players dont know how to adapt when things aren't going their way.Β 

As you say though, it was ridiculous refereeing and I suspect Gauzerre wont be getting many big international games as ref any time soon.

Wales are very lucky but they are taking advantage of the breaks they are getting rather than butchering such opportunities. I can think of one country who would contrive to lose games in such circumstances....

Β 

Β 

*cough Scotland cough*

Watching Wales v italy 15-0 up already and Italy with a man sin binned after only a few minutes. It's so frustrating watching Italy they are bringing nothing to the 6 nations. I think they save their energies for the games v Scotland.

7 minutes ago, MisterC said:

Watching Wales v italy 15-0 up already and Italy with a man sin binned after only a few minutes. It's so frustrating watching Italy they are bringing nothing to the 6 nations. I think they save their energies for the games v Scotland.

Yeah, compare them to Argentina in the Rugby Championship. Having said that I do think the 6 Nations teams should be playing Georgia, Russia, Portugal, Spain and Germany more often as well. Maybe have a European Championship every 4 years.Β 

1 minute ago, McEwan's Lager said:

Yeah, compare them to Argentina in the Rugby Championship. Having said that I do think the 6 Nations teams should be playing Georgia, Russia, Portugal, Spain and Germany more often as well. Maybe have a European Championship every 4 years.Β 

That's one of rugby's problems is that the tier 1 nations operate a closed shop and only play tier 2 nations once in a blue moon. How are those countries supposed to improve and in turn grow the game if they hardly ever play the big boys?

How do Argentina compare in the RC, I know they beat NZ recently but I'm sure they haven't gone 6 years without a win in the comp.

19 minutes ago, MisterC said:

That's one of rugby's problems is that the tier 1 nations operate a closed shop and only play tier 2 nations once in a blue moon. How are those countries supposed to improve and in turn grow the game if they hardly ever play the big boys?

How do Argentina compare in the RC, I know they beat NZ recently but I'm sure they haven't gone 6 years without a win in the comp.

They have only won 5 games so far over the 8 yearsΒ but they are extremely competitive. Italy's record is what, 14 wins in 21 years? Argentina's opponents are much tougher and they play twice against them as well.

Just now, McEwan's Lager said:

They have only won 5 games so far over the 8 yearsΒ but they are extremely competitive. Italy's record is what, 14 wins in 21 years? Argentina's opponents are much tougher and they play twice against them as well.

Well that's better than Italy over the same period, thats for sure. The case for Italy in the 6 grows weaker byΒ the year. I do feel for them but they push the self destruct button more than we do.Β 

4 minutes ago, MisterC said:

Well that's better than Italy over the same period, thats for sure. The case for Italy in the 6 grows weaker byΒ the year. I do feel for them but they push the self destruct button more than we do.Β 

They have the same issue as Scotland do imo - their feeder structure below the Pro14 is not conducive to producing good enough players.

3 minutes ago, McEwan's Lager said:

They have the same issue as Scotland do imo - their feeder structure below the Pro14 is not conducive to producing good enough players.

That's certainly true in Scotland. I certainly don't think the super6 is the right answer but it needs time to develop. A third pro team would also help.

4 minutes ago, MisterC said:

That's certainly true in Scotland. I certainly don't think the super6 is the right answer but it needs time to develop. A third pro team would also help.

Super 6 is so daft a concept its unbelievable. SRU's focus for the league should be threefold: Growing the game at regional levels, offering a more professionalised set up for players between club and Pro14, and putting the building blocks in place to eventually have another couple of sides enter the Pro14 within 10 years. Glorified club sides aren't going to do that.

They need to move towards a system where the top level of domestic rugby in Scotland is based on countiesΒ / regions and clubs just play each other regionally feeding their best players into that.

Just now, McEwan's Lager said:

Super 6 is so daft a concept its unbelievable. SRU's focus for the league should be threefold: Growing the game at regional levels, offering a more professionalised set up for players between club and Pro14, and putting the building blocks in place to eventually have another couple of sides enter the Pro14 within 10 years. Glorified club sides aren't going to do that.

They need to move towards a system where the top level of domestic rugby in Scotland is based on countiesΒ / regions and clubs just play each other regionally feeding their best players into that.

Yep, have a proper inter district competition alongside the club game and ensure the top end players have a decent standard of quality. A third pro team is a must as too many players are falling away from the game due to lack of game time. Matt Smith and bruce Lockhart are 2 recent examples. So much wrong with the structure and governance of Scottish rugby, it's hard to know where to begin.

Β 

21 hours ago, MisterC said:

Yep, have a proper inter district competition alongside the club game and ensure the top end players have a decent standard of quality. A third pro team is a must as too many players are falling away from the game due to lack of game time. Matt Smith and bruce Lockhart are 2 recent examples. So much wrong with the structure and governance of Scottish rugby, it's hard to know where to begin.

Β 

Bent to the core at the top.Β Very few good young players make it unless put on the "pathway". It's one sport that on the whole sadly only presents opportunities at a pro level in Scotland to players that have either went to the right school, or have parents or grandparents that played at an international level. My mates son was ignored by the SRU up to 15's. He was first choice for the district at every age level. He's now playing pro level down South and although I'd be biased, is way ahead of some of the emergency squad call ups to the Warriors or Edinburgh, and indeed some of the characters that float around the periphery of the international squad. Many kids simply chuck it. Local authority schools rugby barely exists either now.Β Β Β Β Β 

13 minutes ago, BlueHatBlueDay said:

I think it will be a close game. All to play for, for us re six nations. Two strong 1st 15's, our bench looking a wee bit lighter than 2 or 3 weeks ago.Β Β 

I think it will be close but Ireland will have enough to see it out. Fagerson is a huge loss though we will miss his power in the scrum and in the loose.

6 minutes ago, MisterC said:

I think it will be close but Ireland will have enough to see it out. Fagerson is a huge loss though we will miss his power in the scrum and in the loose.

Aye, he's some boy. Hogg's improved immensely since heading to Exeter, if he, and Russell, have a 9/10 today, I think we win. Thankful for rugby today. Fed up with the watered down EPL pish, almost go brain dead watching it.Β 

Enjoy the game Sir