"B-but The Cups Last Season"

BridgeIsBlue

The cup runs are more indicators of an abject inability to create what many might say should be a traditional Rangers team; with the result being evidence of continued gradual decline in ability to win any sort of major trophy whatsoever.  Last trophy was in 2010/11.  A few so-called provincial clubs have managed to win cups in the period since we last won one.

All this means is more and more pressure is heaped on the team, the manager (and yes) the Board next season and so on right through to the 150 anniversary season.   If no major trophy is won during or before 150 then a status of modern day permanent also rans will be complete.   If we got to that disgraceful place I very much doubt if Gerrard would still be the manager at the time (he'd be out before his reputation was damaged beyond repair) and imo the Board would also be out as they'd have demonstrated conclusively that they were just not up creating the right financial and other circumstances for a trophy-winning Rangers team to be fielded.  

Then it would be more downhill as the Club trims its financial cloth to shift its ambition away from trying unsuccessfully to be a modern day major football club and into the realms of how lesser provincial clubs operate.   DoFs and large backroom staffs and so on would be bound to be cut back or fired as they'd be unaffordable in the face of continued lack of football success.  They'd be classed as having failed the Club as despite their efforts it did not prove to be enough by way of producing players that go on to become trophy winning first team players.   

The longer this goes without winning a major trophy - preferably the league title - the more the pressure will build leading up to 150th anniversary.  Pressure to win which no manager and no player (and no Board) would be able to deal with.     Some very tough times lie ahead unless Gerrard is backed by the Board with sufficient transfer funds and can then somehow get enough quality players to deliver the sort of winning consistency that makes league titles and cup wins possible.  

We'll see soon enough what next season brings.        

1 minute ago, BridgeIsBlue said:

Seen plenty of people when the draw was made away to Pittodrie that if we were to win the SC we'd have to do it the hard way, then we get put out and it's a "diddy club mentality" to mention it's a hard run we've had compared to last season. 

No bother ffs :lol:

What does who you play in the early rounds have to do with the game you get knocked out in?

1 hour ago, Prso's headband said:

At least tag me lol. 

I was clearly pointing out the days of getting thumped 5-0 etc for the past 2 years were long gone, which they are. That’s progress, however small. 

Like I said it matters because we’re no longer in fear of getting the piss ripped out us at parkhead or hoping St Mirren don’t end a 134 year old record or some shit like that. 

We’ve clearly become a lot more defensively sound, we’re just missing that quality on either wing or through the middle. 

But okay. If you’re not willing to at least acknowledge some positives of the season then no point in having this conversation 

I didn't tag you because I couldn't remember who said it.

A defeat is a defeat,whether that's by 1 goal or 5. We are a weak team,we get bullied every single week and we have practically a full squad of players who are weak minded and don't have the mentality required...which has been glaringly obvious this season as,outwith that fenians game,which by the way no looks like a fucking freak result,we have completely shit the bed every single time we have had a sniff of an opportunity to close the gap. Our form since the winter break is absolutely fucking disgraceful. That is not progress,nowhere near it.

This team and management are failing us and rather than face the truth people are scrambling around looking for excuses 'because Gerrard'. It's ridiculous.

1 minute ago, Jeffrey said:

What does who you play in the early rounds have to do with the game you get knocked out in?

It's the comparisons between the runs in both cups this season and last. 

Cunts moaning when we couldn't get to Hampden in the SC this term because we struggled at Rugby Park and Pittodrie, when last season we had an easy road there against fucking Fraserburgh, Ayr and Falkirk, to ultimately get battered 4-0 off them. 

We've struggled against teams all season that sit in, it's nothing new and we all knew this before the window opened that it needed fixed and ultimately wasn't. 

4 minutes ago, BlueMe said:

People say we should be blowing teams like Aberdeen, Kilmarnock, Motherwell etc away because our budget is huge compared to theirs, but they also think we should be winning cups and challenging celtic for the title, when their budget is three times ours.

Weird. 

Inverness, St Johnstone, Kilmarnock, Ross County, Hibs, Dundee Utd, Aberdeen have all won a major trophy since we last did

1 minute ago, BridgeIsBlue said:

It's the comparisons between the runs in both cups this season and last. 

Cunts moaning when we couldn't get to Hampden in the SC this term because we struggled at Rugby Park and Pittodrie, when last season we had an easy road there against fucking Fraserburgh, Ayr and Falkirk, to ultimately get battered 4-0 off them. 

We've struggled against teams all season that sit in, it's nothing new and we all knew this before the window opened that it needed fixed and ultimately wasn't. 

Dress it up however you want, we got fucked out of both cups with ease by Aberdeen

Just now, BridgeIsBlue said:

It's like Ally McCoist never happened. 

It's like managers such as Tommy Wright, John Hughes, Alan Stubbs, Jim Mcintyre and Kenny Shiels never managed to win a major trophy.

Just now, Jeffrey said:

Dress it up however you want, we got fucked out of both cups with ease by Aberdeen

One game we didn't have a recognised striker and the one on Tuesday night I'll give you. 

Wouldn't say with ease either, they've been incredibly fucking lucky against us this season. 

One game we didn't have a recognised striker and the one on Tuesday night I'll give you. 

Wouldn't say with ease either, they've been incredibly fucking lucky against us this season. 

Lucky hahahahahahahaha.

First game of the season aye, every other game they have taken something off us has been deserved.

Just now, Jeffrey said:

Lucky hahahahahahahaha.

First game of the season aye, every other game they have taken something off us has been deserved.

The LC semi and the game at Ibrox was deserved? They had 4 shots on goal over 180 minutes and scored two goals, if that's the tarriers then it's Catholic jiggery pokery. 

Morelos gets the penalty on Tuesday night and who knows what could've happened, but we can't talk about that obv. 

The LC semi and the game at Ibrox was deserved? They had 4 shots on goal over 180 minutes and scored two goals, if that's the tarriers then it's Catholic jiggery pokery. 

Morelos gets the penalty on Tuesday night and who knows what could've happened, but we can't talk about that obv. 

Blaming referees and luck. 

How predictable.

Aye just take it on the chin that we've been constantly fucked over this season with decisions that have cost us, that'll do the world of good. 

I'd rather focus on our own issues and get this fixed first if I'm honest but each to their own.

28 minutes ago, Reformation Bear said:

The cup runs are more indicators of an abject inability to create what many might say should be a traditional Rangers team; with the result being evidence of continued gradual decline in ability to win any sort of major trophy whatsoever.  Last trophy was in 2010/11.  A few so-called provincial clubs have managed to win cups in the period since we last won one.

All this means is more and more pressure is heaped on the team, the manager (and yes) the Board next season and so on right through to the 150 anniversary season.   If no major trophy is won during or before 150 then a status of modern day permanent also rans will be complete.   If we got to that disgraceful place I very much doubt if Gerrard would still be the manager at the time (he'd be out before his reputation was damaged beyond repair) and imo the Board would also be out as they'd have demonstrated conclusively that they were just not up creating the right financial and other circumstances for a trophy-winning Rangers team to be fielded.  

Then it would be more downhill as the Club trims its financial cloth to shift its ambition away from trying unsuccessfully to be a modern day major football club and into the realms of how lesser provincial clubs operate.   DoFs and large backroom staffs and so on would be bound to be cut back or fired as they'd be unaffordable in the face of continued lack of football success.  They'd be classed as having failed the Club as despite their efforts it did not prove to be enough by way of producing players that go on to become trophy winning first team players.   

The longer this goes without winning a major trophy - preferably the league title - the more the pressure will build leading up to 150th anniversary.  Pressure to win which no manager and no player (and no Board) would be able to deal with.     Some very tough times lie ahead unless Gerrard is backed by the Board with sufficient transfer funds and can then somehow get enough quality players to deliver the sort of winning consistency that makes league titles and cup wins possible.  

We'll see soon enough what next season brings.        

That's a lot of words to say "we are shit and need to improve".

We have no inherent right to be beating killie, Aberdeen et al.

However, we have the strong expectation of beating them because we've been spending significantly more than them year after year.

Why is it season after season our squads look more depleted than our rivals despite the fact we're vastly better funded than them?

Was like that in the championship season, we went to shit after winning the league. We were shite the following season full stop. But then they Pedro season we crumbled part way through the season. Now again this season, why do we look more depleted than the other teams around us?

We (supposedly) strengthened in the last transfer window, why were the sheep hungrier and stronger midweek? They had a few youngsters playing too. 

14 minutes ago, Jeffrey said:

I'd rather focus on our own issues and get this fixed first if I'm honest but each to their own.

We can get our own house in order but then still have to factor in Laffertys offside goal at Dundee so there's an extra two points straight away off the top of my head. 

22 minutes ago, Captain Hilts said:

Because our budget and resources dwarfs all of them?

Again why??

Plenty of teams have more money than other teams means nothing. 

If we go with your logic then we should never lay a hand on the scum again or win this league ever again. 

2 minutes ago, Rangers_no1 said:

To be honest I thought you were on about the pathetic thread made by Bronzy being wax lyrical over drawing games and not losing by more than one goal!

Anything he posts is immediately disregarded due to him being a window licker.