MyGers

CR3

45 minutes ago, The Hammer 11 said:

What did people actually want from a membership scheme? 

Free 

don’t have to fork out for stuff  I haven’t had to before to be in running for a Livi away ticket , eg Rangers tv 

move position every time we gain points and reap the benefits the next game not 12 weeks time 

The Lower divisions loyalty shown by bears should count in our starting category 

travel club shouldn’t count in starting category  (I’m costing myself points here coz I’ve got points but I actually went) people are on 8/9 travel club points and never left Scotland 

15 minutes ago, Cedrick said:

Free 

don’t have to fork out for stuff  I haven’t had to before to be in running for a Livi away ticket , eg Rangers tv 

move position every time we gain points and reap the benefits the next game not 12 weeks time 

The Lower divisions loyalty shown by bears should count in our starting category 

travel club shouldn’t count in starting category  (I’m costing myself points here coz I’ve got points but I actually went) people are on 8/9 travel club points and never left Scotland 

We can't afford to give things away for free. We earn very little playing in Scotland. We need to maintain and even raise our budget to compete for winning a title.

Just now, MorelosRangers said:

We can't afford to give things away for free. We earn very little playing in Scotland. We need to maintain and even raise our budget to compete for winning a title.

What they giving away ? Counting points ? 

1 minute ago, MorelosRangers said:

We can afford it though. Never had to pay to get a chance at away tickets before.

3 hours ago, Bydo said:

Email this morning:

"MyGers Reward- Exclusive offer with Molton Brown."

£40 well spent.

So MyGers is basically a consumer list that is then sold by the club to commercial companies - and available to us all for the bargain price of £50

I'm going to guess the 'exclusive offer' will be available to anyone with ten minutes to spare to search or Groupon to Itison

They really do think we're all mugs!! (and maybe they're right!!!).

1 hour ago, TartanTeddy said:

So MyGers is basically a consumer list that is then sold by the club to commercial companies - and available to us all for the bargain price of £50

I'm going to guess the 'exclusive offer' will be available to anyone with ten minutes to spare to search or Groupon to Itison

They really do think we're all mugs!! (and maybe they're right!!!).

The email came from RFC not Molton Brown & the original issue with the link was also at RFC side.

However, you are correct that the link is freely available to all but is directly linked to RFC #MyGers scheme, so the more folk buy it the better it looks for RFC im guessing as the commercial deal is working.

2 hours ago, Ace said:

The email came from RFC not Molton Brown & the original issue with the link was also at RFC side.

However, you are correct that the link is freely available to all but is directly linked to RFC #MyGers scheme, so the more folk buy it the better it looks for RFC im guessing as the commercial deal is working.

Rangers are basically selling the membership list to companies who will then send targeted commercial offers - so your MyGers is an income generator for the club on two levels. A membership fee, and then they gain further revenue from selling the list - and at the same time, the club fully expect many fans (season ticket holders) to forgo any real compensation for five games that they have paid for in advance.

It's gouging a captive audience for as much income as possible based on the fact that demand (fans wanting season tickets and a chance of semi final and final tickets) outweighs supply (season tickets and semi finals and final tickets). It's then dressed up as a reward for loyalty when it's pretty much exploiting the loyalty it says it holds in such high regard.

I figure the lad Bisland is here for two years max, he will seek to rip as much money out the fan base as possible (with the compliance of the Board), then move on to his next employer stating how much revenue he gained. 

Now you can applaud that for the income it's gaining for the club, or you can criticise it for being exploitative towards a support that has stood by the club in incredible numbers during extremely difficult times and who are now having that loyalty shat on by the club. 

For me it's a lot closer to the latter, particularly when consideration should be given to many fans who will suffer loss of income during the current health crisis.

With the financial situation the club is currently in, the focus will be to extract as much money from the fan base as possible until saturation point is reached and the increase in income levels off or drops. That’s when the tipping point is reached.

It will be dressed up as showing loyalty, a reward, biggest fan badge or whatever else they can think of to get more cash from the support. You can pay if you want to but I really don’t think anyone is really being fooled about the reasons  behind it.

3 hours ago, TartanTeddy said:

Rangers are basically selling the membership list to companies who will then send targeted commercial offers - so your MyGers is an income generator for the club on two levels. A membership fee, and then they gain further revenue from selling the list - and at the same time, the club fully expect many fans (season ticket holders) to forgo any real compensation for five games that they have paid for in advance.

It's gouging a captive audience for as much income as possible based on the fact that demand (fans wanting season tickets and a chance of semi final and final tickets) outweighs supply (season tickets and semi finals and final tickets). It's then dressed up as a reward for loyalty when it's pretty much exploiting the loyalty it says it holds in such high regard.

I figure the lad Bisland is here for two years max, he will seek to rip as much money out the fan base as possible (with the compliance of the Board), then move on to his next employer stating how much revenue he gained. 

Now you can applaud that for the income it's gaining for the club, or you can criticise it for being exploitative towards a support that has stood by the club in incredible numbers during extremely difficult times and who are now having that loyalty shat on by the club. 

For me it's a lot closer to the latter, particularly when consideration should be given to many fans who will suffer loss of income during the current health crisis.

I only read as far as your first sentence then I stopped as its completely wrong & ignored my quoted comment.

The email came from RFC, it didn't come from Molton Brown so the club aren't selling mailing lists, which I'm pretty sure would break GDPR rules.

23 minutes ago, Ace said:

I only read as far as your first sentence then I stopped as its completely wrong & ignored my quoted comment.

The email came from RFC, it didn't come from Molton Brown so the club aren't selling mailing lists, which I'm pretty sure would break GDPR rules.

And to think the word 'basically' was in that first sentence  :whistle:

13 hours ago, Bydo said:

The folk that bought our ridiculous 'founder members' package a few years ago to be given free MyGers for a start.

I thought all ST holders got the founder members thing for free,  I don’t remember paying any extra for it. Was a pile of shite anyway,  shity wrist band, a badge and a wee gay certificate saying I’m a founder member or some nonsense like that😆

6 hours ago, Tiger Shaw said:

I thought all ST holders got the founder members thing for free,  I don’t remember paying any extra for it. Was a pile of shite anyway,  shity wrist band, a badge and a wee gay certificate saying I’m a founder member or some nonsense like that😆

Aye you could be right about that- everyone else had pay I'm sure.

2 hours ago, The Hammer 11 said:

Fuck I forgot about the founder members pish what did that even give you 

A wee shite badge and a poofy certificate that constantly reminds you that McCoist was the manager at the time, don't remember paying any extra for it though, basically a pile of shite. 

34 minutes ago, Scottywellhousetb said:

A wee shite badge and a poofy certificate that constantly reminds you that McCoist was the manager at the time, don't remember paying any extra for it though, basically a pile of shite. 

Don’t forget the magnificent blue wristband that said Founder member on it, was so proud the first time I wore it 😆