This Hagi Myth

BridgeIsBlue

• Replies 363
1 hour ago, Smell the hotdog said:

It’s mad how our support take to shite like McCrorie and Jones who give a good performance now and again while slate a boy who consistently contributes.

Hagi gives the all away but he does so by trying a forward pass. We slate Jack, Kamara etc for passing too safe but Hagi gets it for trying to be positive. 

I’ve not took to jones he’s got a long way to go but if he screws the nut he’s a good weapon to have 

12 hours ago, M0NTANA said:

Stats are such a pish metric for measuring a players ability. 

Mental though that people are writing Hagi off so far. He’s generally been inconsistent, but most will see the talent is there. And the €3m spent on him is a much better project than on the likes of Turnbull. 

stats are a pish metric.  are you emile heskey ?

23 minutes ago, Tiger Shaw said:

That’s what happens Colin, you might not like it but mocking somebody for posting something that actually happens just makes you look a numpty 😆

Then numpty it is :boughy:

So the Motherwell corner skites off the head of one of their players and smacks Big George on the coupon and ends up in the net. My original question was does the guy who knew fuck all about it get an “assist”? If so, what is the fucking point?

2 minutes ago, Cedrick said:

In today’s game this is an assist and will be counted as he’s created that goal when others describe whoever the boy is as shite 

92A78199-B4F9-45B1-8C38-801683574369.gif

Utterly pointless, my grandson could have played that “assist”.

Take two forwards breaking on a counter attack. We’ve done it loads of times over the years especially when Laudrup was here. The one who doesn’t have the ball heads off in the opposite direction to the man in possession. The defenders then have to decide which player to go with. Most times the decoy will pull one or two away in his direction making the job of the player with the ball a million times easier. That is far greater ASSISTance than that pass in your clip.

This “assist” pish is lazy and people who put any importance on it just show they don’t understand the game.

Rant over.

Just now, Colin Traive said:

Utterly pointless, my grandson could have played that “assist”.

Take two forwards breaking on a counter attack. We’ve done it loads of times over the years especially when Laudrup was here. The one who doesn’t have the ball heads off in the opposite direction to the man in possession. The defenders then have to decide which player to go with. Most times the decoy will pull one or two away in his direction making the job of the player with the ball a million times easier. That is far greater ASSISTance than that pass in your clip.

This “assist” pish is lazy and people who put any importance on it just show they don’t understand the game.

Rant over.

😂👍🏻

25 minutes ago, Colin Traive said:

Then numpty it is :boughy:

So the Motherwell corner skites off the head of one of their players and smacks Big George on the coupon and ends up in the net. My original question was does the guy who knew fuck all about it get an “assist”? If so, what is the fucking point?

It went down as an Edmundson own goal.  So no, there won’t be a Motherwell assist.

23 minutes ago, Mclean RFC said:

people argued he was good despite his atrocious stats as a striker. but what top player does not have the stats for it.  enlighten me.

Well for a kick off our best players stats are shite against our biggest rivals. Does it mean he’s not performed against them? Naw, so the stats are shite. 

Stats don’t tell you how they played, the significance of the goals etc. All well having a good scoring record but if they are in absolute humpings are you having a real bearing on your teams performance? Unlikely. Look at Cosgrove at Aberdeen, stats will tell you he’s a ‘good goalscorer’ leading people to believe he’s a decent player. But anyone who’s seen him play will know he’s utter shite. 

Took him 3 or 4 games to get going but he's starting to get involved more and contribute more. Absolutely vital if we're to win the league.

His goals and assists are important ones as well. His nutmeg to assist Kent opened up the scoring against Dundee Utd, he scored the opener against Hamilton and assited Arfield for the goal that put is 2-1 up against Hibs. We need players who can turn up in big moments.

1 hour ago, Dennis Reynolds said:

He’s quality, he’s a piano player rather than a carrier. I doubt he will ever be in a game for 80+% of it but instead will put a bit of class on it now and then. 

If he ends the season with 15 + assists for instance you’re fucken right his assists will have mattered. 

Fuck off

Players like Barker benefit from having no fans in the stadium whereas players like Hagi miss have the crowd behind them look at the Braga game last year as an example.

Hagi is also a young player who is still developing so we will see some inconsistent performances especially while he adjusts to playing against the hammer throwers in Scottish football.

7 minutes ago, GM80 said:

Also Hagi’s contribution may be to find the pass that allows a teammate to set up a goal and the stats of Goals and Assists won’t show that.

At the risk of infuriating the old crew even further you do actually get stat minded people who track “pre assists” so that would be covered in that :lol: