Davy Vandenbroucke 27,277 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 https://www.glasgowtimes.co.uk/news/18877494.rangers-get-permission-fan-zone-museum-edmiston-house/ Rangers get permission for fan zone and museum at Edmiston House RANGERS have been given the go-ahead for plans to build a fan zone and museum on the Edmiston House site. Glasgow councillors approved the club’s application for a two-storey multi-use venue at a meeting this afternoon. The development will include shops, a café and an events space, which will be used a fan zone as well as for dinners, conferences, weddings and exhibitions. It is set to open in 2022 and will be a “major milestone” in their 150th year, the club has said. A council report stated the development would “enhance the match day experience of supporters”, offering new uses which have “citywide benefits, such as conference use and live entertainment”. The design “acknowledges Govan’s industrial heritage” and will benefit the local area, the report adds. A council officer said the current Edmiston House is now at an “advanced stage of demolition”. The building will host dinners for up to 500 people, sit an audience of 750 and put on gigs and events for up to 1300. Permission has been granted for the venue to open until midnight. The fan zone is set to shut three hours after the final whistle at weekends, with no entry after kick-off during midweek games, when it would close at 10pm. The club’s application added: “The proposals to redevelop the site of the former Edmiston House fit into a broader ambition to expand the experiential offer at Ibrox Stadium, and to raise the quality of facilities on-site. “In bringing forward a bespoke fan focused development, Rangers FC seek to capitalise on an increasing trend for similar spaces across leading European football clubs, which offer pre and post-match destinations. “Fan zones in general can provide a venue where families, fans and the community can come together to experience pre and post-match events.” Nine objections to the plans were submitted to the council. Concerns included the impact on privacy for nearby residents, increased traffic congestion and a lack of car parking. But the council report stated the venue will be a similar size to the old building and the capacity of the local road network is considered “sufficient”. Consultation was carried out with community councils in the area, it adds. Councillor Ken Andrew registered his dissent due to the loss of daylight for nearby properties. He said the building “has been moved considerably closer to the tenements on Copland Road” and the back courts “will be significantly in shadow”. The move will create a larger concourse for the club which is “perfectly understandable”, he said, but added: “It’s taking away amenity for the residents of Copland Road.” The council officer said their evaluation found there would not be “such a dramatic” change to have an impact on amenity. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tiger Shaw 32,366 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 Ken Andrew, any bets on him being a tarrier bastard? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
eejay the dj 31,964 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 Happy to to hear this but IMO .One of the many reasons we turn the other cheek nowadays with our controlling enemies Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
plumbGER 24,518 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 1300 cunts bouncing at a sash bash to open the venue Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
British_Empire 9,648 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 No mention of a bar on match days though, or does that go without saying there will be one? Even if there isn't, it's a million times better than that previous ridneck of a fan zone with wee red, white and blue flags, face panting, Andy Cameron tunes ... was like a petting zoo for weans and adults with a mental age of 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bad Robot 21,513 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 Once built I wonder what excuses the council will give us not to use the venue for council run events as that will take cash away from them Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
British_Empire 9,648 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 8 minutes ago, Bad Robot said: Once built I wonder what excuses the council will give us not to use the venue for council run events as that will take cash away from them I'm thinking closer to home. Him across at that pub at the underground won't be too happy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bad Robot 21,513 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 6 minutes ago, British_Empire said: I'm thinking closer to home. Him across at that pub at the underground won't be too happy. I’m sure there’s enough to go round but fans now have another alternative and one that gives cash direct to the club. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
British_Empire 9,648 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 2 minutes ago, Bad Robot said: I’m sure there’s enough to go round but fans now have another alternative and one that gives cash direct to the club. Agreed. He's had a monopoly around Ibrox for the average punter (unless your a member of wee Rangers club, Corkerhill Masonic, Rolls Royce, Neptune) - so the club getting in on the action and getting some solid match day revenue into the club is the way to go. Should have been done years ago. Decades ago even. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
geneva_ger 9,775 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 Let's face it, any introduction of a suitable venue of entertainment around the area should be welcomed. This is a great announcement for the club. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BookWorm 4,805 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 Really great news. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leeds_Bear 8,332 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 Great to see and decent times on the license. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TamCoopz 20,314 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 Sack the board Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueshoff 13,273 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 3 hours ago, Tiger Shaw said: Ken Andrew, any bets on him being a tarrier bastard? Wonder if he suggested an alternative or just doesn't want the additional jobs or income to the local economy of the people he represents.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Amokachi 3,477 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 12 minutes ago, Blueshoff said: Wonder if he suggested an alternative or just doesn't want the additional jobs or income to the local economy of the people he represents.... Or maybe just going through the motions & being seen to try & represent some of his unhappy constituents ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blueshoff 13,273 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 7 minutes ago, Amokachi said: Or maybe just going through the motions & being seen to try & represent some of his unhappy constituents ? I just wondered what his suggestion was. I realise you might now find it difficult to dry your washing as it will be in the shade. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WATP-FOREVER 5,231 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 Not bad, especially when we're skint FTP Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LV 568 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 3 hours ago, British_Empire said: Agreed. He's had a monopoly around Ibrox for the average punter (unless your a member of wee Rangers club, Corkerhill Masonic, Rolls Royce, Neptune) - so the club getting in on the action and getting some solid match day revenue into the club is the way to go. Should have been done years ago. Decades ago even. Mate the club did what do you think Edmiston House was built for. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
British_Empire 9,648 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 1 minute ago, LV said: Mate the club did what do you think Edmiston House was built for. It's been shut for almost 30-years and now demolished. Hence me saying something like this should have been done even decades ago? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Malvern 11,329 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 4 hours ago, British_Empire said: No mention of a bar on match days though, or does that go without saying there will be one? Even if there isn't, it's a million times better than that previous ridneck of a fan zone with wee red, white and blue flags, face panting, Andy Cameron tunes ... was like a petting zoo for weans and adults with a mental age of 9 Did those fuckers ever get paid? Back on topic, who's dick did we have to suck to get permission for this? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
LV 568 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 9 minutes ago, British_Empire said: It's been shut for almost 30-years and now demolished. Hence me saying something like this should have been done even decades ago? As long as the fans support it out with match days and the club evolves the venue to suit the times it should be a success. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bears r us 31,563 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 4 hours ago, Tiger Shaw said: Ken Andrew, any bets on him being a tarrier bastard? In one is my guess. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dickie 12,906 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 2 hours ago, Blueshoff said: Wonder if he suggested an alternative or just doesn't want the additional jobs or income to the local economy of the people he represents.... maybe they could have done the same as the paedodome and knocked the fucking tenements down,not to mention a listed school building. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Virtuoso 27,180 Posted November 17, 2020 Share Posted November 17, 2020 There was quite a few objections so glad it was passed: Sharon Benzie isn't happy about it: Quote I stay across from Edmiston house (less than 50m away). I have stayed there for approx 20 years & during that time, the disturbance due to fans on match days has continually got worse. When I first moved to my current address, police officers stood just outside Edmiston House. However, there is very little police presence there now, which has resulted in numbers of fans gathering (particularly before a game) there, drinking alcohol, taking which i assume is cocaine & smoking cannabis before the game. Fans also urinate & leave feces in the street & in our closes, drink alcohol & take drugs. They also urinate against our cars & close doors. I have been verbally abused & threatened when I address these matters with them & have had the glass kicked in on my close door. I have reported my concerns to the police officers patrolling the stadium on numerous occasions. After every game I need to pick up & brush the rubbish left behind after football games. A section of very drunk fans regularly throw glass bottles, which has resulted in my dog needing medical treatment & my car getting punctured. When I bought my flat, I knew to expect some disturbance, which I was fine with, but as I said over the years the lack of police presence in our street & clean up from Rangers Football Club has made matters much worse. I feel very distressed during match days & at times unsafe in my own area and home. You can also hear music, people having cigarettes, chatting, shouting, fighting while waiting on taxis after events at Ibrox football stadium, which I accept as I knew that would be the case when I moved here all those years ago, but I think it's totally unacceptable to open up a new venue and subject residents to more noise and disruption. A number of these flats are rented out, so the landlords don't care, as long as they get their money - they are not having to put up with it, nor are the owners of RFC or Edmiston House. ...and breathe!!! Most of the objections were about the new building blocking the light from surrounding properties. https://publicaccess.glasgow.gov.uk/online-applications/applicationDetails.do?activeTab=documents&keyVal=QFRNUGEXM5I00 Fuck them 🙂 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
STEPPS BOY 78,599 Posted November 18, 2020 Share Posted November 18, 2020 17 hours ago, British_Empire said: No mention of a bar on match days though, or does that go without saying there will be one? Even if there isn't, it's a million times better than that previous ridneck of a fan zone with wee red, white and blue flags, face panting, Andy Cameron tunes ... was like a petting zoo for weans and adults with a mental age of 9 The talk was that the existing shop would be turned into a match day bar. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...