21 Wins, 3 Draws

J-Maestro

51 minutes ago, Brackley Bluenose said:

Job 1 - Got Fleetwood promoted. Job 2-  Took Scunthorpe to play-offs. Job 3 - Got Salford promoted and to a Wembley final and was then sacked when they were unbeaten and fifth in the league this season. More than qualified to manage Motherwell 

That's not what I asked though

• Replies 249
1 hour ago, Angus1965 said:

The Paedos are still 21 points behind us , no need to panic . 

This.

Nothing has changed from Saturday morning when we were all delighted with the situation. They dropped points, we dropped points. Both of us were shite. It happens.

Going forward, and our UNBEATEN form somehow evaporates, provided we match their results like for like, we win the league with at least 4 games to spare.

That’s  the first points dropped  in 17 league games. 49 from the 51 available secured.

Hardly a catastrophe.

2 minutes ago, beararse said:

This.

Nothing has changed from Saturday morning when we were all delighted with the situation. They dropped points, we dropped points. Both of us were shite. It happens.

Going forward, and our UNBEATEN form somehow evaporates, provided we match their results like for like, we win the league with at least 4 games to spare.

That’s  the first points dropped  in 17 league games. 49 from the 51 available secured.

Hardly a catastrophe.

1 game closer to the end too with no difference in the lead.

Doom and gloom at times on here from some, so let's have a look at the facts.

P. 24. W. 21  D. 3. L. 0  F.60  A. 7

Let's break it down to :-

1st 12 games and 2nd 12 games.

P. 12. W. 10  D. 2  L. 0  F. 28  A. 3

P. 12. W.  11  D. 1.  L. 0  F 32. A. 4

Or take it a bit further, 4 groups of six games :-

1) 5 - 1 - 0.   Goals 11/0

2) 5 - 1 - 0.              17/3

3) 6 - 0 - 0.              22/2

4) 5 - 1 - 0.               10/2

Make what you will with these stats, to me there's a very much likeness in both examples.

No one is annoyed at the dropped points as much, it was going to happen sometime, its football

What is annoying as fuck is the way it happened, we've been shite for weeks bar a wee spell against ten man aberdeen, we start slow and need to fight our way into the games, 

Our current setup with the available players isn't really working, grinding out results through opponents mistakes or moments of magic only go so far, we need to get the free flowing, fast paced team back that we got after the livi away draw earlier this season

To me gerrard needs to look at two things, the setup or the players, if he wants to keep the setup then the players need to change, if he hasn't the players to change then the setup needs to change to suit the players 

3 minutes ago, Jimbeamjunior said:

No one is annoyed at the dropped points as much, it was going to happen sometime, its football

What is annoying as fuck is the way it happened, we've been shite for weeks bar a wee spell against ten man aberdeen, we start slow and need to fight our way into the games, 

Our current setup with the available players isn't really working, grinding out results through opponents mistakes or moments of magic only go so far, we need to get the free flowing, fast paced team back that we got after the livi away draw earlier this season

To me gerrard needs to look at two things, the setup or the players, if he wants to keep the setup then the players need to change, if he hasn't the players to change then the setup needs to change to suit the players 

Spot on 

4 minutes ago, Jimbeamjunior said:

Not disagreeing but supposing he keep the same set up ,and he will, what player changes should he make you reckon

6 minutes ago, Jimbeamjunior said:

1 draw in last 16 games and people lose their shit, yeah let’s change the system that got us 15 wins in a row what a great idea 👍🏻

21 minutes ago, MurrayWilson said:

Not disagreeing but supposing he keep the same set up ,and he will, what player changes should he make you reckon

For me aribo cannot play deep, he needs to be one of the front 3 or benched, and tbh id bench him for county at home, give zungu the start at home, and id drop kent for itten, then play itten through the middle and tell morelos to play off him along with hagi, we put in 41 crosses today apparently, wonder how many of those crosses from open play were into a box where motherwell defenders outnumbered rangers attackers 2:1

20 minutes ago, Laudrup1690 said:

1 draw in last 16 games and people lose their shit, yeah let’s change the system that got us 15 wins in a row what a great idea 👍🏻

By new year last season we had dropped 7 points, parkhead aside the signs were there that we werent playing well and needed a change, post new year we all know what happened, the goals dried up and we struggled 

The system that got us 15 wins in a row is the same system that scored 5 at fir park last time we were there, today we struggled for a single goal 

You quote stats when they only paint half the picture, stats show that kent should be a first name on the teamsheet, yet he is woefully short of form the now, stats show we won the last OF game, yet we had no shots on goal at home in a game where our keeper kept us in it the first half hour

Performances have been poor since st johnstone away, nothing wrong with tweaking a winning system if its performing poorly

26 minutes ago, andyhrfc said:

Wonder what bheast fans would give for W 21 D 3 L 0? 

Tbf, outwith OF games, tarriers have only drew 3 more games than us, and 2 of them came with a covid ravaged team

We championed our first half season form this season when last season it was the same bar the tarrier loss at ibrox, we still won the same amount of points from the diddy teams

1 hour ago, bornabear said:

Doom and gloom at times on here from some, so let's have a look at the facts.

P. 24. W. 21  D. 3. L. 0  F.60  A. 7

Let's break it down to :-

1st 12 games and 2nd 12 games.

P. 12. W. 10  D. 2  L. 0  F. 28  A. 3

P. 12. W.  11  D. 1.  L. 0  F 32. A. 4

Or take it a bit further, 4 groups of six games :-

1) 5 - 1 - 0.   Goals 11/0

2) 5 - 1 - 0.              17/3

3) 6 - 0 - 0.              22/2

4) 5 - 1 - 0.               10/2

Make what you will with these stats, to me there's a very much likeness in both examples.

Good way to look at it mate. I always go 10-10-10-8 and think if we win at least 8 of the 10 and 7 of the 8 we'll win the league or be very unlucky to lose it. Keeps me calm after dropping points and keeps a bit of perspective.

10-8-2-0

10-10-0-0

4-3-1-0.

That second block is why we're so far ahead!

We've been fantastic so far this season, but there's no guarantee that it'll continue. Particularly when you take into consideration what happened in the later part of the last two campaigns.

We're nowhere near our best, poor in the old firm game, narrow win against 10 men at Aberdeen, then a draw against the bottom team in the league. 

Hopefully our main rival with continue to struggle but if they go on a winning run then the league is far from over.

We need to stay focused, there's a long way to go.

1 hour ago, Jimbeamjunior said:

For me aribo cannot play deep, he needs to be one of the front 3 or benched, and tbh id bench him for county at home, give zungu the start at home, and id drop kent for itten, then play itten through the middle and tell morelos to play off him along with hagi, we put in 41 crosses today apparently, wonder how many of those crosses from open play were into a box where motherwell defenders outnumbered Rangers attackers 2:1

By new year last season we had dropped 7 points, parkhead aside the signs were there that we werent playing well and needed a change, post new year we all know what happened, the goals dried up and we struggled 

The system that got us 15 wins in a row is the same system that scored 5 at fir park last time we were there, today we struggled for a single goal 

You quote stats when they only paint half the picture, stats show that kent should be a first name on the teamsheet, yet he is woefully short of form the now, stats show we won the last OF game, yet we had no shots on goal at home in a game where our keeper kept us in it the first half hour

Performances have been poor since st johnstone away, nothing wrong with tweaking a winning system if its performing poorly

This is all spot on. There is a wee hint of the same thing that happened last season with our style.

FWIW I'm no hearing many people grumble too much but I am hearing title celebrations, plans for a plane and "how 55 was won videos". That's mental to write the season off this soon when 2 or 3 bad games in a row could change the season still.

1 hour ago, Jimbeamjunior said:

So this far into a successful looking season you're actually suggesting he change the system which has served us well? Seriously? Its 3 league draws al season, its not a wonky or failing system man.

And on the whole the bench isn't full of better players than we're starting with. At home Defoe maybe. Itten and Helander could maybe come in but they'll not really add that dynamism we're lacking.

We need 3 starters in Roofe, Jack and Arfield back because when those who are meant to add the bit of quality are off form - Kent, Hagi, Aribo - then we've no one to drop them for.  We're still a work in progress and our strength in depth is still lacking.

We need those flair players to find form and injured players to come back in far more than we need to change the system or look to the back ups as the solution.

And we'll not be doing huge amounts of  business this window so that's not an answer either.

Is there any harm in trying a formation change for the next game if Roofe, Arfield and Jack are still out? Aribo isn't cutting it at all and isn't much use in midfield while playing like this and Zungu doesn't seem like the man to step in.  

3-4-3 or 3-5-2 for the Ross County game? All our width comes from the full backs anyway. Itten and Morelos up front today for longer than they were on would have benefitted us more for the 55,000 crosses Tav and Barisic put in today, one of which resulted in our goal.

2 hours ago, Jimbeamjunior said:

Best post I've ever read from you on here.

We've become too slack.