BlueThunder 5,358 Posted March 1 Share Posted March 1 8 hours ago, G.E.C. said: Am I right thinking Albertz first name is actually pronounced “Yorg”? Two schools; the “Yorg”ists and the “George”ites. I’ve called him both in my time, although I have a feeling Yorg was correct. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
Popular Post The Hammer 11 1,329 Posted March 1 Popular Post Share Posted March 1 Union Bears do a tribute to the brave men who fought against tyrrany for king and country in the Great War, Green Brigade do a tribute to a republican terrorist who spent his final days starving to death covered in his own shit WilliamMunny, RFCRobertson, AlbertzLoyalRSC and 26 others like this Quote Link to post Share on other sites
MisterC 8,673 Posted March 1 Author Share Posted March 1 10 minutes ago, BlueThunder said: Two schools; the “Yorg”ists and the “George”ites. I’ve called him both in my time, although I have a feeling Yorg was correct. Its Yorge BookWorm likes this Quote Link to post Share on other sites
Popular Post AlbertzLoyalRSC 13,625 Posted March 1 Popular Post Share Posted March 1 13 minutes ago, The Hammer 11 said: Union Bears do a tribute to the brave men who fought against tyrrany for king and country in the Great War, Green Brigade do a tribute to a republican terrorist who spent his final days starving to death covered in his own shit And for nothing. What a shame 😅 The Hammer 11, Paisley Blue Loyal, Geo17 and 2 others like this Quote Link to post Share on other sites
Popular Post theblueoysterbar 13,272 Posted March 1 Popular Post Share Posted March 1 45 minutes ago, BlueThunder said: Two schools; the “Yorg”ists and the “George”ites. I’ve called him both in my time, although I have a feeling Yorg was correct. 34 minutes ago, MisterC said: Its Yorge He used to drink in my local, talked to him quite often. He would call himself "Yoerg" but with an extra wee bit on the end because of his accent. It sounded to us like "Yoergke". The umlaut over the 'o' adds a missing 'e'. 'J' is always pronounced 'Y' in German no matter where you're from. Where Albertz is from it's a harsher accent you get off Germans there than you would in the North, hence the kind of harsh stop on the last bit. Fuck knows if this helps, it probably doesn't. born a blue nose, blaudrup, Tom0411 and 3 others like this Quote Link to post Share on other sites
Popular Post DBBTB 29,716 Posted March 1 Popular Post Share Posted March 1 The majority of them want Howe, but I don’t think they will get him. After their result tonight Southampton are now on a run of 9 without a win. I would think Hassenhuttl’s coat must be hanging on a shoggly peg and if he gets sacked in the next few weeks that’s where I think Eddie Howe will end up. Gives him the Premier League job he is apparently after and it allows him to stay on the South coast too. BridgeIsBlue, plymouthranger, scottyscott1963 and 2 others like this Quote Link to post Share on other sites
King Jela 13,023 Posted March 2 Share Posted March 2 3 hours ago, DBBTB said: The majority of them want Howe, but I don’t think they will get him. After their result tonight Southampton are now on a run of 9 without a win. I would think Hassenhuttl’s coat must be hanging on a shoggly peg and if he gets sacked in the next few weeks that’s where I think Eddie Howe will end up. Gives him the Premier League job he is apparently after and it allows him to stay on the South coast too. I honestly think it'll be Kennedy if he wins, say, even 5 out of his next 7 games. I don't think the alky will even take the job. Far too much work to be done before their CL qualifiers. magic8ball likes this Quote Link to post Share on other sites
Popular Post Colin Traive 11,480 Posted March 2 Popular Post Share Posted March 2 10 hours ago, theblueoysterbar said: He used to drink in my local, talked to him quite often. He would call himself "Yoerg" but with an extra wee bit on the end because of his accent. It sounded to us like "Yoergke". The umlaut over the 'o' adds a missing 'e'. 'J' is always pronounced 'Y' in German no matter where you're from. Where Albertz is from it's a harsher accent you get off Germans there than you would in the North, hence the kind of harsh stop on the last bit. Fuck knows if this helps, it probably doesn't. Whenever we discuss the German language, I always fear the wurst. theblueoysterbar, Malkster, G13 and 7 others like this Quote Link to post Share on other sites
Popular Post BlueHatBlueDay 335 Posted March 2 Popular Post Share Posted March 2 5 minutes ago, Colin Traive said: Whenever we discuss the German language, I always fear the wurst. Jokes like that will get you an autobahn... TheEyesHaveit, Unionblue, Geo17 and 12 others like this Quote Link to post Share on other sites
Popular Post born a blue nose 68,162 Posted March 2 Popular Post Share Posted March 2 It all ended at nein* in a row Colin Traive, Unionblue, G13 and 11 others like this Quote Link to post Share on other sites
chris182 4,410 Posted March 2 Share Posted March 2 7 hours ago, King Jela said: I honestly think it'll be Kennedy if he wins, say, even 5 out of his next 7 games. I don't think the alky will even take the job. Far too much work to be done before their CL qualifiers. That will have a real bearing on who the next boss is I reckon, the quals are crucial games and are tough enough when you have a settled squad and tactics. Quote Link to post Share on other sites
BlueHatBlueDay 335 Posted March 2 Share Posted March 2 10 minutes ago, born a blue nose said: It all ended at nein* in a row Aye, hanover the trophy to the rightful owners now Hadron Collider and Paisley Blue Loyal like this Quote Link to post Share on other sites
Steelydan1690 17,606 Posted March 2 Share Posted March 2 11 minutes ago, BlueHatBlueDay said: Aye, hanover the trophy to the rightful owners now fünf Sterne Colin Traive likes this Quote Link to post Share on other sites
TheFamousPigeon 5,821 Posted March 2 Share Posted March 2 "Shall we give ze douche the job in ze dusche?" Quote Link to post Share on other sites
born a blue nose 68,162 Posted March 2 Share Posted March 2 42 minutes ago, Steelydan1690 said: fünf Sterne 2/10 TheFamousPigeon likes this Quote Link to post Share on other sites
Steelydan1690 17,606 Posted March 2 Share Posted March 2 Just now, born a blue nose said: 2/10 Calm doon bud ,severe anger issues imo born a blue nose likes this Quote Link to post Share on other sites
Popular Post JamieD 12,704 Posted March 2 Popular Post Share Posted March 2 11 hours ago, theblueoysterbar said: He used to drink in my local, talked to him quite often. He would call himself "Yoerg" but with an extra wee bit on the end because of his accent. It sounded to us like "Yoergke". The umlaut over the 'o' adds a missing 'e'. 'J' is always pronounced 'Y' in German no matter where you're from. Where Albertz is from it's a harsher accent you get off Germans there than you would in the North, hence the kind of harsh stop on the last bit. Fuck knows if this helps, it probably doesn't. This is actually the only helpful post I have ever read on here. It's got it all. Facts. Nuance. Personal experience. Der Hammer. Everything. tm91, AljayBoy, Amokachi and 6 others like this Quote Link to post Share on other sites
Popular Post scottyscott1963 9,471 Posted March 2 Popular Post Share Posted March 2 3 hours ago, Colin Traive said: Whenever we discuss the German language, I always fear the wurst. Worked offshore mid 70's for a German Company...KCA Deutag,and the number of one of the tools we used was 55, which they pronounced it 'funfzig-funfzig' and i used to call it foomfty foomfty which used to crease the Germans. So if you hear some mad cunt heading up your street shouting foomfty foomfty...it will be me magic8ball, RFC55, BlueHatBlueDay and 9 others like this Quote Link to post Share on other sites
G.E.C. 11,398 Posted March 2 Share Posted March 2 99 red balloons BookWorm and ForeverAndEver like this Quote Link to post Share on other sites
magic8ball 19,307 Posted March 2 Share Posted March 2 11 hours ago, King Jela said: I honestly think it'll be Kennedy if he wins, say, even 5 out of his next 7 games. I don't think the alky will even take the job. Far too much work to be done before their CL qualifiers. Hope so ,Iv a free fiver with Skybet at 14s 😁 Quote Link to post Share on other sites
TamCoopz 9,250 Posted March 2 Share Posted March 2 2 minutes ago, magic8ball said: Hope so ,Iv a free fiver with Skybet at 14s 😁 Think if he takes charge of 10 games, they see that as him being permanent so they’ll pay out on that. If the Scottish cup resumes you’ve got a good chance (also a good chance they’ll get knocked out straightaway) magic8ball likes this Quote Link to post Share on other sites
magic8ball 19,307 Posted March 2 Share Posted March 2 18 minutes ago, TamCoopz said: Think if he takes charge of 10 games, they see that as him being permanent so they’ll pay out on that. If the Scottish cup resumes you’ve got a good chance (also a good chance they’ll get knocked out straightaway) I know ,I need the Scottish cup to restart.Slim chance of that though . TamCoopz likes this Quote Link to post Share on other sites
magic8ball 19,307 Posted March 2 Share Posted March 2 7 minutes ago, magic8ball said: I know ,I need the Scottish cup to restart.Slim chance of that though . That post did not age well at all . 😂😂😂😂 TamCoopz likes this Quote Link to post Share on other sites
Bad Robot 12,572 Posted March 2 Share Posted March 2 12 hours ago, King Jela said: I honestly think it'll be Kennedy if he wins, say, even 5 out of his next 7 games. I don't think the alky will even take the job. Far too much work to be done before their CL qualifiers. I don’t think him winning the last 5 of 7 will get him the job 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻 scottyscott1963 likes this Quote Link to post Share on other sites