Jack Simpson deal done

Dan Deacon

3 minutes ago, DBBTB said:

You’ve got to convince the player to agree to that though don’t you?

Ultimately the players agent doesn’t care about Rangers Football Club and what benefits us, he cares about what is best for his client.

I assume that if S.G. wants him to stay? Then a new deal will be on the table before the end of the season,  whether or not he signs an extension is of course up to him and his agent,  if he doesn't agree an extension then perhaps its best to let him go in the summer, & I concede that the fee we could achieve would be less . The axiom is it's in our best interests to extend his contract and as we are all aware every player is available if the offer is too good to turn down. 

• Replies 127
9 minutes ago, bluenoz said:

We have the best defensive record in Europe, maybe even the world and our 28 yr old defender (in his prime) plays every minute of every game. Of course he is worth 10m +++.

In normal circumstances he is, but his contract situation takes his value down. It happens with every player in the same situation whether they are playing in France, Scotland, England or Germany and it won’t be any different for us with Goldson this Summer if he doesn’t sign a new deal.

1 hour ago, the goal machine said:

As if clubs are gonna look at the forum and base their bids on what a few cunts on here say anyway. 

I know! 

"Hawd add wae that £20 million bid for Alfredo mate, few on Rangers Media don't think he's worth it." 

"Rangers Media ye say? Aye, better hawd aff. They know what they're talking aboot" 

On 28/01/2021 at 19:52, DBBTB said:

In normal circumstances he is, but his contract situation takes his value down. It happens with every player in the same situation whether they are playing in France, Scotland, England or Germany and it won’t be any different for us with Goldson this Summer if he doesn’t sign a new deal.

He was also not getting a game for Brighton not long ago. Don’t see us getting anything like 10m plus 

9 hours ago, STEPPS BOY said:

Thank fuck that will have absolutely no relevance then.

Correct, Duffy played way over 120 games as a stalward in the Brighton defence, a 2m pound loanee on daft wages who could not keep weans out the fridge, Goldson is a good solid centre half with starving children.

When i watch some of the EPL games the defences are horror shows, and this in the top half with players that have cost many millions making mistake after mistake.

11 hours ago, Ariel Ortega said:

Doesn’t fill me with much optimism, but we will see how it pans out.

A guy with hardly any first team games who can’t get a game for Bournemouth is unlikely going to be good enough for the CL next year 

Would you think a guy from Dundee who didn't look anything great would be the best midfielder in the country and strolling against very good European teams?

2 hours ago, Professor_Chang said:

Would you think a guy from Dundee who didn't look anything great would be the best midfielder in the country and strolling against very good European teams?

He can’t talk now.

He is banned.

On 30/01/2021 at 07:59, pcbear said:

Correct, Duffy played way over 120 games as a stalward in the Brighton defence, a 2m pound loanee on daft wages who could not keep weans out the fridge, Goldson is a good solid centre half with starving children.

When i watch some of the EPL games the defences are horror shows, and this in the top half with players that have cost many millions making mistake after mistake.

the most overrated league in the world 

On 28/01/2021 at 15:04, DBBTB said:

Katic doesn’t need a loan to help him develop, he needs a loan so he can get games.

With the injury he’s had getting proper games under his belt to rebuild his sharpness and confidence is going to be one of the most important elements of his recovery and the chances of him getting that with us next season are pretty slim.

We would be stupid to let him go now - probably for a reduced fee - when he’s coming off a major injury when we could send him out for a year and either get him back as a sharper and more up to speed player or have a more valuable asset, assuming all goes well with the loan, to sell on then.

Hopefully we can get Katic some game time this season.