McGregor Retiring? (Not Confirmed)

From a FB page,

It hasn't been announced by the Club officially as of yet so this could be nonsense but if it's true I wish him all the best for services rendered to the cause.

Michael Beale has confirmed Allan McGregor WILL retire at the end of the season after an illustrious long career and contribution as Rangers number 1! 

He’s seen it all from extreme highs to extreme lows and gave us a hell of a lot of memories on the way.

Allan came through the system at Rangers as a young boy before making his debut in the 2001/2002 season. He had 7 more appearances between 2003-2005 for Gers before going out on loan to Dunfermline in 05/06 season and making 26 apps. In the 06/07 season Allan got his proper first team opportunity with 34 apps for Rangers (8 UEFA CUP 26 LEAGUE)  which all but secured his position as he had an impressive 214 apps as number 1 between 2007-2012 before a move away to Besiktas during Rangers troubled years. 

Allan moved on from Besiktas after 2 seasons moving back to the UK and having a very successful spell with Hull City from 2013 to 2018 before making a sensational hero’s return “home” to Ibrox under Steven Gerrard on a free in July 2018. 

McGregor silenced all the naysayers who doubted if he still had the ability and endurance to perform at top level with some heroic displays in the SPFL and Europe and some sensational saves which seen him highly praised in reels all across UEFA social media. 

In his second spell Allan has had an amazing 236 appearances and in that time won back Rangers famous title, stopping 10 in a row and securing 55! He has also seen us to a historic Europa League final in 2022 and secured another Scottish Cup. 

• Clemdog changed the title to McGregor Retiring? (Not Confirmed)

Great keeper, probably just above Klos and better than Woods but not quite on the level of Andy Goram.

As a man though he seems to be a bit of a bell end.

Also be interesting to see what he does with the proceeds of his testimonial as I assume he is not short of a Bob or two.

6 minutes ago, Malkytfp1 said:

You just hate everything Rangers eh. If he played for Airdrie hed be a gentleman.

He has a box near a boy I know on the club deck and I've heard from staff up there that he and his missus are absolute ignoramuses. 

Nobody wants to work his box and they're tighter than cramp as well.

Heard from staff about a wee lassie about 8 years old standing outside his box with a ball and asking him to sign it and he just replied "naw" and pushed by her. I've also seen him with my own eyes him blank fans (also saw Morelos do it twice and Yilmaz once).

He's a tadger.

17 minutes ago, DiamondDan said:

Great keeper, probably just above Klos and better than Woods but not quite on the level of Andy Goram.

As a man though he seems to be a bit of a bell end.

Also be interesting to see what he does with the proceeds of his testimonial as I assume he is not short of a Bob or two.

You can't call McGregor a bell end when comparing him to Goram :lol:

McGregor for me, probably just my age. Goram was finished due to his lifestyle and in our 10 in a row season it was very evident, his decline was very instant. McGregor was a massive part of 55 and stopping their 10 and was arguably the best keeper in Scotland at 39 years old. 

3 minutes ago, KeyserSoze said:

What do you mean? 

See above.

I also don't like how he conducts himself with other players. Never appears to be any encouragement, just seems to berate them after any mistake. Always seems too keen to distance himself from any blame in the eyes of the fans by throwing his team mates under the bus.

3 minutes ago, KeyserSoze said:

You and your fucking pishy ITK shite again   Your use of dramatic language regarding an 8 yr old is fucked up   

Did you see him with your own eyes supporting Marie Curie or sneaking into the children’s hospital ? Or auctioning off his gloves on literally 100’s of occasions for various charities?

Naw? Well shut it 

Aye I did actually see him in the children's hospital a few Christmases ago when my nephew was in 👍

Hardly ITK reporting a story from service staff. And "the language" I used is verbatim from what they told me. And they've absolutely no motivation to lie, they're a Rangers fan.

13 minutes ago, DiamondDan said:

Aye I did actually see him in the children's hospital a few Christmases ago when my nephew was in 👍

Hardly ITK reporting a story from service staff. And "the language" I used is verbatim from what they told me. And they've absolutely no motivation to lie, they're a Rangers fan.

So why not give the other side of him like you said? Why not balance out your post with a positive?

55 minutes ago, KeyserSoze said:

So why not give the other side of him like you said? Why not balance out your post with a positive?

Because the full squad was there, he was most likely obligated to attend. Barisic was the best with the kids from what I remember. 

2 hours ago, Canabear said:

From a FB page,

It hasn't been announced by the Club officially as of yet so this could be nonsense but if it's true I wish him all the best for services rendered to the cause.

Michael Beale has confirmed Allan McGregor WILL retire at the end of the season after an illustrious long career and contribution as Rangers number 1! 

Ye mate I posted this yesterday in the generel transfer bit - Beale was talking after the game about McCrorie and losing one goalkeeper as his contract was running out.  No way was he talking about the kid no one knows anything about.