SPAREPARTS TO BRAVEHEARTS

kirkiebear

One cold february night in 2003 i sat in Hampden park, the rangers end. It was my first Scotland game, it was just me and my dad and disappointingly a couple thousand of others. The game was against the republic of ireland who had brought over quite alot for a friendly. To me this was excellent, i had always wanted to go to a scotland game and when my dad returned home one day from work with 2 tickets, i was ecstatic. Yes i know it was just a meaningless game but it was my first, and i couldnt wait. Walking into Hampden for the first time was a dream come true and as i took my seat i couldnt wait for the match to begin.

The game went by in a flash, and thank god for that. My opinion of that scotland team had changed dramatically, they turned in an extremely disappointing performance, no passion, no desire, no goals. I left hampden that night like a kid that had just seen his pet crushed by a truck. Disappointed, disheartened and frustrated, not by the result, but by the attitude of the players, most of them i had never heard of.

The following couple of years showed no change, during that time i had attended a couple of hampden friendlies, and again left annoyed by the attitude demonstarted by the players, i remembered thinking to myself that if i was wearing the dark blue of my country, i would of been giving my all to please the fans and give them something to shout about,not stroll through it like i was just running down the clock.

My point is that the turnaround of the scotland team has been nothing short of a fairytale, we now have players who WANT to play for scotland. Long gone are the days of your Paul develins, your robbie stockdales and Scott Dobies, we have people like Barry, Mcmanus, Miller and Mcfadden donning the bark blue, with hearts of lions, shedding their blood for the cause, we are now seeing players playing better for their countries rather than their clubs, and that for me tells us alot about their passion. I have never been as proud a scot as tonight, after being robbed we show our togetherness and coming out to applaud the fans at the end empitomised the new pride in our great nation.

Tonight was obviously a great disappointment and we are all understandably angry considering the circumstances of our exit, but, as i look back at that wet, miserable night at hampden in 2002 when i looked on in great embarrassment, i realise how thankful we should be that we found the right men, players and managers included, to restore our reputation as a football team, that no one wants to play.

They really have changed from Spareparts to bravehearts.

ALBA GU BRATH

One cold february night in 2003 i sat in Hampden park, the rangers end. It was my first Scotland game, it was just me and my dad and disappointingly a couple thousand of others. The game was against the republic of ireland who had brought over quite alot for a friendly. To me this was excellent, i had always wanted to go to a scotland game and when my dad returned home one day from work with 2 tickets, i was ecstatic. Yes i know it was just a meaningless game but it was my first, and i couldnt wait. Walking into Hampden for the first time was a dream come true and as i took my seat i couldnt wait for the match to begin.

The game went by in a flash, and thank god for that. My opinion of that scotland team had changed dramatically, they turned in an extremely disappointing performance, no passion, no desire, no goals. I left hampden that night like a kid that had just seen his pet crushed by a truck. Disappointed, disheartened and frustrated, not by the result, but by the attitude of the players, most of them i had never heard of.

The following couple of years showed no change, during that time i had attended a couple of hampden friendlies, and again left annoyed by the attitude demonstarted by the players, i remembered thinking to myself that if i was wearing the dark blue of my country, i would of been giving my all to please the fans and give them something to shout about,not stroll through it like i was just running down the clock.

My point is that the turnaround of the scotland team has been nothing short of a fairytale, we now have players who WANT to play for scotland. Long gone are the days of your Paul develins, your robbie stockdales and Scott Dobies, we have people like Barry, Mcmanus, Miller and Mcfadden donning the bark blue, with hearts of lions, shedding their blood for the cause, we are now seeing players playing better for their countries rather than their clubs, and that for me tells us alot about their passion. I have never been as proud a scot as tonight, after being robbed we show our togetherness and coming out to applaud the fans at the end empitomised the new pride in our great nation.

Tonight was obviously a great disappointment and we are all understandably angry considering the circumstances of our exit, but, as i look back at that wet, miserable night at hampden in 2002 when i looked on in great embarrassment, i realise how thankful we should be that we found the right men, players and managers included, to restore our reputation as a football team, that no one wants to play.

ALBA GU BRATH

Tha fior ann, mo charaid. These lads will see us back to the world stage yet, of that I have no doubts. Tonight was a bitter pill to swallow, but in spite of this setback our National team is definitely moving in the right direction (as are our Gers).

ALBA GU BRATH

Tha fior ann, mo charaid. These lads will see us back to the world stage yet, of that I have no doubts. Tonight was a bitter pill to swallow, but in spite of this setback our National team is definitely moving in the right direction (as are our Gers).

(tu) fantastic post. Something similar to this could be said for the Northern Ireland team as well.

ALBA GU BRATH

And this is a lot of heart rendering pish as well, it's football we are talking about and we were cheated by latin amigoes and thats why we are out ! :sherlock:

ALBA GU BRATH

And this is a lot of heart rendering pish as well, it's football we are talking about and we were cheated by latin amigoes and thats why we are out ! :sherlock:

GTF bluedignity thats a great post

ALBA GU BRATH

Good post, my 1st scotland game was in 1997, against wales at rugby park and we lost 1-0, i felt exactly the same mate, I watched tonight and feel proud to say i support them.

The first part you said is how England fans should be feeling, because they don't deserve to qualify.

Rangers end at Hampden? I am an American, but do you have Ibrox confused? Or do you mean when Rangers are visiting?

Anyhow, match showed today that the Scots have heart but Italy just knows how to win this type of match. Shame the ref had to blow the call.

New York Tartan Army are proud of our boys across the pond....

Good post (tu)

well said.

Long gone are the days of Bertie Vogts - well done to Walter and Coisty for getting the turnaround under way, and Big Eck for a tremendous effort this time.

Does anyone now if the success of this qualifying campaign will count towards Scotland getting an easier group for World Cup 2010 qualifying?

Brilliant post, I'm struggling for positive words actually.

Wonderful.

I wouldn't take much notice of bluedignity! (tu)

Yet you mention him in quite alot of your posts, getting under your skin is he? :pipe:

Wonderful.

Naw it wisnae bad KB, bit emotional a tad and I don't do emotional for faddy and his likes ! But strugglin for positive words comes naturally for Boab so don't take him to seriously ! He's the resident sweaty sock ! ;):sherlock:

Wonderful.

Naw it wisnae bad KB, bit emotional a tad and I don't do emotional for faddy and his likes ! But strugglin for positive words comes naturally for Boab so don't take him to seriously ! He's the resident sweaty sock ! ;):sherlock:

I have too many positive words in my vocabulary, don't you worry (tu) It was a compliment.

And 'faddy and his likes' :rolleyes:

If his likes are like this and as kind hearted as this:

McFadden was left raging after the steward prevented him from giving a young fan his shirt after the victory that sent Scotland into the Euro 2004 play-offs.
Then I'll take them all too often (tu)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/3191764.stm

Wonderful.

I have too many positive words in my vocabulary, don't you worry (tu) It was a compliment.

And 'faddy and his likes' :rolleyes:

If his likes are like this and as kind hearted as this:

McFadden was left raging after the steward prevented him from giving a young fan his shirt after the victory that sent Scotland into the Euro 2004 play-offs.
Then I'll take them all too often (tu)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/3191764.stm

I love you Boab ! Your what Scotland should be like ! Don't you ever change ! :sherlock:

iam an emotional person, but i tend to channel it into creativity like my post, im not one to burst into tears about something or go completely mental when iam really angry.

Good on ye (tu)

Good post (tu)

well said.

Long gone are the days of Bertie Vogts - well done to Walter and Coisty for getting the turnaround under way, and Big Eck for a tremendous effort this time.

Does anyone now if the success of this qualifying campaign will count towards Scotland getting an easier group for World Cup 2010 qualifying?

Yes this will help, the draw is this weekend I think, and scotland will be in POT 2 so we will not have to face two teams of such high standing as France and Italy, although we will get 1, who will dread drawing us now :)

Good post (tu)

well said.

Yes this will help, the draw is this weekend I think, and scotland will be in POT 2 so we will not have to face two teams of such high standing as France and Italy, although we will get 1, who will dread drawing us now :)

I actually hope we get England

Good post (tu)

well said.

I actually hope we get England

We'd destroy them atm

easily

Rangers end at Hampden? I am an American, but do you have Ibrox confused? Or do you mean when Rangers are visiting?

Anyhow, match showed today that the Scots have heart but Italy just knows how to win this type of match. Shame the ref had to blow the call.

New York Tartan Army are proud of our boys across the pond....

Frog, its been referred to as the Rangers end at Hampden for a long, long time. The reason is cup finals (which are held at Hampden) have generally featured Rangers v Celtic and we have traditionally occupied the same end of the ground for years. My brother was at the game and used exactly the same phrase to describe where he was.