I would rather see an attacking team lose than a team set out not to lose

Posted

am in the mindset that i would rather see a rangers team attack and maybe get beat than a team set out to draw?

• Replies 50

Posted
am in the mindset that i would rather see a rangers team attack and maybe get beat than a team set out to draw?

Its a fair point and one which I largely agree on.

Posted

i would still be happy with the fact that we went for the "jugular" instead of absorbing pish from them

Posted

totally disagree its about winning the title not what individual fans want

i will take the point at our hardest away fixture and see how the dice rolls next week

Posted

ffs, loss of dignity blah blah fucking blah

we were a couple of results away from the quadruple last year by playing the 4-5-1

we have had a better old firm game today with this "defensive" formation yet we played a nice outgoing 4-4-2 at ibrox against them and we lost, and were worse in that game than today

Posted

bigger picture i agree with but i want to see rangers play like rangers and not play shite and absorb pish am just fussy

Posted
It's too easy to say that when you set up defensively.

I bet if we had gone for the jugular and lost today neither of you would be saying well done lads.

Obviously. But neither would I say I wish we'd gone 4-5-1.

Posted

we were a couple of results away from the quadruple last year by playing the 4-5-1

we have had a better old firm game today with this "defensive" formation yet we played a nice outgoing 4-4-2 at ibrox against them and we lost, and were worse in that game than today

did we win the quad no!! we are an attack minded team and we should play that way

Posted

did we win the quad no!! we are an attack minded team and we should play that way

did you go to manchester?

for the first time in my life and the first time in 36 YEARS we reached a euro final by playing "defensively"

bremen would ave wiped the floor with us if we played the nice wee 4-4-2 that everyone is so keen on gers playing

infact we wouldnt even have gotten near bremen as we would have been pumped out of europe altogether before xmas,

and as for us being a attack minded team, EVERY team is attack minded but if the needs be, that you have to play defensively then you do it

today we were the better team PLAYING DEFENSIVELY

but your right, being the better team isnt the point eh?

Posted

Whilst I generally agree with the sentiments of the OP, time will tell if today was a good result or a wasted opportunity.

My biggest issue is that we struggle to create chances from open play or set play, particularly when we play a 'defensive' formation like today.

To play 4-5-1 effectively you must have players who can play on the break and attack with pace with largely 1 or 2 touch football.

Unfortunately we don't have the players to play this way but 4-5-1 with such players would beat celtc every time.

Posted
Whilst I generally agree with the sentiments of the OP, time will tell if today was a good result or a wasted opportunity.

My biggest issue is that we struggle to create chances from open play or set play, particularly when we play a 'defensive' formation like today.

To play 4-5-1 effectively you must have players who can play on the break and attack with pace with largely 1 or 2 touch football.

Unfortunately we don't have the players to play this way but 4-5-1 with such players would beat celtc every time.

see if we had played them off the park at ibrox wih a 4-4-2 i would agree with you

but seeing as we were 2nd best at ibrox playing a 4-4-2 and we were the best team today with a 4-5-1 then surely smith should get plaudits for it

Posted

did you go to manchester?

for the first time in my life and the first time in 36 YEARS we reached a euro final by playing "defensively"

bremen would ave wiped the floor with us if we played the nice wee 4-4-2 that everyone is so keen on gers playing

infact we wouldnt even have gotten near bremen as we would have been pumped out of europe altogether before xmas,

and as for us being a attack minded team, EVERY team is attack minded but if the needs be, that you have to play defensively then you do it

today we were the better team PLAYING DEFENSIVELY

but your right, being the better team isnt the point eh?

i couldnt go to manchester because my job would be of been in doubt if i went ( another story ) the fact is i went to every game bar the final whitch ripped my heart out if i will be honest!!! so u u can stick that fact up ur arse, its my opinion that i would rather see 442 than 451 i would never knock the uefa cup run but i still didnt like the the defensive minded football that we played

Posted

so you preferred it when celtic walked over us everytime we went to the piggery, because we actually put out an attacking formation

i used to dread us going to their pigsty, because i knew our midfield couldnt cope with theirs and we always got overran

now though we can go to the piggery and actually feel like we can be the better team

Posted
so you preferred it when celtic walked over us everytime we went to the piggery, because we actually put out an attacking formation

i used to dread us going to their pigsty, because i knew our midfield couldnt cope with theirs and we always got overran

now though we can go to the piggery and actually feel like we can be the better team

dont be ridiculos!!!! ( wrong spelling maybe the drink) i think if we went out and attacked that we would walk all over them truthfully i do we have a better midfield bar ferguson!!!! if we played to our full capacity we would of fucked them today

Posted

dont be ridiculos!!!! ( wrong spelling maybe the drink) i think if we went out and attacked that we would walk all over them truthfully i do we have a better midfield bar ferguson!!!! if we played to our full capacity we would of fucked them today

but thats you saying that after the game

tbh i thought robson would have played before the jap boy, and their midfield has shown in the past to be stronger than ours

smith wanted to make sure that celtics midfield couldnt do anything on the ball, and it worked cause their defence resorted to high ball which weir and big boughie easily handled

Posted

yes majid did well but am not exactly happy with going there to deal with there attacks and just lump it forward what was what happend in the 1st half given the 2nd half was a more attacking was a bit better. and am sorry but u can ram that right up ur farter ( no offence) that their midfield is stronger than ours cos is it fuck!!!!!!! no offence!!!

Posted
I'd rather get a point playing solidly then lose three by playing into Celtic's hands.

was that playing solidly?

Posted
I'd rather get a point playing solidly then lose three by playing into Celtic's hands.

of course it was

the quietest old firm game for a keeper for fucking ages, shagger only got dirty in the 89th min

Posted

Aye.

Celtic had one shot on target.