Jim Traynor

Guest greengrass

Jim Traynor on the Spanish Police....

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

THEY THINK IT'S ALL OSA ..IT IS NOW

UEFA CUP SPECIAL... OSASUNA 1 RANGERS 0 Badly-beaten Gers slip out of Europe with a whimper

By James Traynor

RANGERS were soundly beaten on and off the pitch in Pamplona last night when the SPL side's UEFA Cup hopes were dismantled.

Just as they had done at Ibrox, Osasuna ran Rangers ragged and exposed the frailties of the team Walter Smith has inherited.

Although his side had more possession in the second half the ball was a stranger throughout the first when Osasuna created chance after chance.

Had the Spaniards been respectable finishers, this tie would have been over long before the riot police launched their first attack on a pocket of Rangers fans who took an awful beating.

Many had arrived with full tanks after having spent the day in this sleepy town's bars but the noise as the players emerged made sure no one in Pamplona was dozing off.

As usual, there were the offensive sounds decent people have come to abhor. Unfortunately there was no evidence to suggest these chants are belted out by only a handful as some Rangers people would have you believe.

Fortunately for Scotland, they won't be back in Europe for a while after Pierre Webo's second-half goal gave Osasuna a 2-1 aggregate win but it must be said the cops were more than heavy handed. In fact, they seemed to be spoiling for a fight, which was more than could be said for Smith's team.

They went out of Europe with a whimper. They were hopeless for most of the game although it was tough to watch what was happening on the pitch and at the same time keep an eye on the riot cops.

They surged in several times clubbing everyone within reach. Although the fans who were spewing their sectarian bile probably deserve a good hiding, innocents would also have been taken out.

This was the second time Rangers had lost to Osasuna in the UEFA Cup - they were beaten 2-0 here after having won the first leg 1-0 22 years ago - and it means the Ibrox side still haven't won on Spanish soil.

Smith opted for virtually the same team that started Sunday's Old Firm match with Gavin Rae the only change. He stepped into the space created by Barry Ferguson's suspension but there were many who thought the manager would make at least one other change with Dado Prso starting instead of Filip Sebo.

That was Smith's main dilemma because Prso has the subtlety to open defences and the touch and balance to confuse would-be markers but his fitness is suspect. The idea was to hold him in reserve until his time came.

So all Rae, captain for the night, and the rest had to do was keep themselves in the game until half-time when Smith would have to consider going for broke but that would be no simple matter with Osasuna sensing their opponents were on the ropes. After all, Rangers had done nothing right in the first leg and were fortunate to be on level terms.

Also, Osasuna's small but perfectly formed Reyno de Navarra Stadium was just below it's 20,000 capacity but it was alive and vibrating with expectation. The locals were out in healthy numbers to see their heroes, playing in the UEFA Cup for only the fourth time, impose themselves from the start.

But manager Jose Angel Ziganda made drastic alterations to the team which had performed so well at Ibrox. Only four, keeper Ricardo, Webo, Gomez Jaunlu and Javad Nekounam, survived. Not even Raul Garcia, who scored at Ibrox, started last night but Azpilicueta did and he's only 17.

Apparently Ziganda was keeping his best on hold for this weekend's Basque derby against Atletico Bilbao but within a minute Allan McGregor, who had his two-match UEFA ban reduced to one game, was under pressure.

Rae gave the ball away to Webo who slipped a perfect pass to Romeo running between Alan Hutton and Ugo Ehiogu. Fortunately for Rangers the Osasuna player's touch was poor and he could only hit the ball wide.

A minute later Jaunlu's free-kick from just outside the box zipped over McGregor's bar. Two minutes in and it was already clear this was not going well for Rangers but it would get much worse if they persisted in giving the ball to Osasuna.

Hutton did what Rae had done at the start and gifted possession to Corrales who was then fouled by the Rangers defender just as he released Jaunlu. His low, angled drive fizzed narrowly past McGregor's left-hand post and before the by-kick could be taken Hutton was booked for his challenge.

Jaunlu was through again a few minutes later and even though his delivery across the face of goal was easily gathered by McGregor his midfield and defence were putting him under enormous pressure because they couldn't find their opponents never mind a rhythm.

McGregor must have felt as though he had wandered into the middle of a motorway. The traffic just kept coming at him and all he could do was dive, leap and jump. A better side than Osasuna would have been comfortably in front and cruising to the quarters but the truth was the Spanish side were actually only mediocre.

Yet they were taking Rangers apart and Punal should have put them in front when he met a cutback on the penalty spot but leaning back, his shot took flight and landed in the second tier behind McGregor.

Azpilicueta tried a couple from 22 yards and Webo's flick drifted wide as Rangers reeled under the pressure but Ziganda must have been furious with his players for squandering so many chances to put this tie to bed so that they could start relaxing ahead of their derby.

Rangers had no idea how to reverse the flow and every time a blue-shirted player got the ball he found none of his team-mates running into space or making themselves available.

Too many were hiding and unwilling to take responsibility although just before half-time they did win a corner. Predictably, it ended with Weir heading tamely into Ricardo's arms and then Charlie Adam nodding the ball wide as the referee called a halt to what had been a dreadful 45 minutes.

Rangers needed something different if they were to make Osasuna think about piling forward but Prso was still a spectator at the start of the second half although, remarkably, the first chance fell to Rangers. Adam, however, blasted a 25-yard free-kick over Ricardo's bar.

Then, two minutes into the half, Ian Murray's left hand stopped Nekounam's cross from reaching the middle and although it looked apenalty, the Danish referee waved play on but he booked Ehiogu for tripping Romeo just before Rangers took off Kevin Thomson, who was carrying an injury.

Chris Burke took over as Smith decided that somehow Osasuna had to be subdued.

Unfortunately, Rangers couldn't do what the riot cops were doing almost at regular intervals to silence Rangers fans and when you witness these seemingly random and unprovoked attacks you have to wonder why decent supporters would want to follow their teams to Spain. Sitting or standing in the wrong place at the wrong time can get you a broken head

Prso was released from the touchline bunker in 63 minutes when he took over from Sebo, who had been a man alone up front for most of his shift, but it was time for Rangers to go for broke. They had to score but had never looked likely to do so and now an awful lot was resting on Prso conjuring up one piece of magic.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

( Is that what they calling a spade a spade? ) :rolleyes:

SPON ON Jim with this One. (tu)

lets take into context...

Imagine you're the mayor of a nice city.

Your local team draws Celtic . (clap)

Your local team draws Rangers. (sgtg)

And so it will continue.........

Don't know why we let people post these articles on here in such a snidey and provocative manner

Well, its easily solved, I just edit the end out.

Nothing wrong with posting that if its in the press....shows just how terrible newsmen can be.

Guest greengrass

not at all ... shame about the innocent ones however ,

as always said theres no smoke without fire.

and as jim traynor says , the ones spewing thier secterian bile , no doubt deserved a few clubs round the heid.

Guest TheQueensXI

"beaten ON and OFF the pitch"

Traynor is simply a fud. He doesnt hide his allegiances and spouts the biggest amount of shite this side of timbuktoo.

I wouldnt even wipe my arse with the paper his articles are printed on.

and as jim traynor says , the ones spewing thier secterian bile , no doubt deserved a few clubs round the heid.

Like fans singing:

'Cheer up Alex McLeish/Paul Le Guen. Oh What Can it Be? You're a Sad Orange B*st*rd with a Sh*te Football Team'

You reckon that lot should be clubbed round the head too?

Guest TheQueensXI
taking the piss out of fans that got assaulted by the police in spain??

you call that spot on?

sick man GG

i agree, traynor is quite happy to laugh at the innocents who got their heads caved in by men with batons, telling them to go to their seats when they are penned in like sheep.

id love to get him in a room and give him the same treatment.

Guest greengrass

Like fans singing:

'Cheer up Alex McLeish/Paul Le Guen. Oh What Can it Be? You're a Sad Orange B*st*rd with a Sh*te Football Team'

You reckon that lot should be clubbed round the head too?

im not saying some" of our fans are whiter than white either, BUT its always been the same with your travelling support , ESPECIALLY in europe.

lets take into context here , last week MILAN Police , roaring applaude the celtic fans leaving the stadia.

fast forward a week later , the Osasuna Police , belt 9 shades of shite out of rangers fans out the stadia..

AYE theres no smoke without FIRE .

Guest TheQueensXI

gg, when people applaud celtic fans leaving the stadia, its generally because they are glad to see the back of you lot and they can finally disinfect the seats ;)

Guest greengrass

they should just ban you from europe altogether( again) ,

hopefully UEFA possible ban next year at least in the uefa cup. :ph34r:

Guest TheQueensXI
they should just ban you from europe altogether , thats what i would do ..

hopefully UEFA do something , possible ban next year at least.

okay, doubt it when the uefa delegate saw nothing wrong and was criticising osasuna...

look at the bigger picture, if you can. security was crap.

bluenoses, taken from their seats, surrounded and cornered by riot police being told to go to the seats on their tickets - which they have just been ushered away from, and cant get to because they are surrounded.

aye, like they could do anything.

look at the facts and stop getting so excited at the fact innocent people had been dealt with extremely heavy handedly by the police.

osasuna cannot handle an away team coming to their ground. simple. they should be charged, not us.

Guest greengrass

aye the innocents i feel sorry for , but NOT FOR THE BRAINDEAD Ones., and lets face it there must have been a right few in your crowd last night , for that to escalate so much , spewing thier secterian bile , and taunting the police wich was audible and clearly visible on TV.

Guest TheQueensXI
aye the innocents i feel sorry for , but NOT FOR THE BRAINDEAD Ones., and lets face it there must have been a right few in your crowd last night , for that to escalate so much , spewing thier secterian bile , and taunting the police wich was audible and clearly visible on TV.

taunting police? did you not SEE THEY WERE CORNERED by the police. you would be taunting them too if you

1. were removed from your seat

2. taken away from it, and surrounded by riot cops

3. told to sit on the seat in your ticket which

4. is not accesible because the police have you cornered.

accept it, youre just here on the windup gg, you know its osasuna who are to blame yet you come on here saying were the ones at fault.

sectarian bile?? i had to laugh at that. couldnt hear rangers fans for the osasuna fans singing!

Guest greengrass

taunting police? did you not SEE THEY WERE CORNERED by the police. you would be taunting them too if you

accept it, youre just here on the windup gg, you know its osasuna who are to blame yet you come on here saying were the ones at fault.

sectarian bile?? i had to laugh at that. couldnt hear rangers fans for the osasuna fans singing!

no wind up , the osasuna police , perhaphs WERE heavy handed ,

BUT as they say theres no smoke without FIRE.

it takes 2 to tango.

go figure. MR INNOCENTS.

it takes 2 to tango.

go figure. MR INNOCENTS.

Even Rangers admit there was probably a small element which was parading as genuine Rangers fans and causing trouble, but it is becoming more and more clear, with the evidence, such as on a well-known Celtic forum, that the police were guilty of brutality above and beyond acceptable limits upon the good fans who travelled.

It's been all over the media - bar Mr Traynor's quite poisonous tirade, it's pretty much reported as the Spanish police making an absolute hash of things and being violent.

And Martin Bain has said Osasuna themselves simply couldn't handle the tie, and organised it dreadfully.

Am sorry but that is bang out of order, the 1s that i have spoke to and seen other posts on other boards have said all the trouble happened when they came off the buses, anybody moved in the queue to get in2 the ground was hit with a baton they were then moved on and caged until it was there time to go in2 the ground any1 who moved suffered the same treatment!! 2 supporters whos tickets didnt scan were then told to go round 2 a gate which they would open up for them 2get in2 the ground but then riot police then proceeded in hitting them with batons!! People who were in the corner where trouble happened said they moved because a guy needed medical treatment the police thought something was going to happen and came in heavy handed yet again while a supporter lies in the ground waiting on medical attention there is kids, woman and innocent people getting hit and abused by the police, the police then continued after the game laying in2 people for absolutely no reason and people like u and the Scottish press are all SCUMBAGS, there is people who have came back from the game with broken arms, broken ribs etc etc and ur just a typical tim putting 2 and 2 together

it takes 2 to tango.

go figure. MR INNOCENTS.

how can you slag rangers fans with your clubs disgusting history

Greengrass has just proved himself to be the little boulder on the shoulder paranoid unemployable little bigot we all know him to be - remember the airport in Celta Vigo ???? presume all the dims deserved the kicking they got that night including the guy in the wheelchair ??? no smoke without fire though eh ?? so what were the greatest fans in the world up to that night that caused the Spanish Police to give them a clubbing then ??

I await you answer with baited breath , but i won't be holding it............

Guest greengrass
Greengrass has just proved himself to be the little boulder on the shoulder paranoid unemployable little bigot we all know him to be - remember the airport in Celta Vigo ???? presume all the dims deserved the kicking they got that night including the guy in the wheelchair ??? no smoke without fire though eh ?? so what were the greatest fans in the world up to that night that caused the Spanish Police to give them a clubbing then ??

I await you answer with baited breath , but i won't be holding it............

you been listening to real radio again. :lol:

and unemployed ?? nah self - employed ... work in construction. (incase you wondered) .. some of us tims actually do work for a living..for all the shit u try and talk . :rolleyes:

as i said previous , the innocents i feel sorry for... but some of your support probably deserved it aswell.

and also .

Bain goes on about segregation being the cause of the problems - how many Osasuna fans did we see at the trouble points? It was all rangers fans and no Spanish guys anywhere near them.

Bain and McIntyre admit that there were sizeable numbers of banned fans there. Known trouble makers and total scumbags intent on causing major bother and then running away like weans. So the Spanish polis should just let these cretins get away with their pish? Should they send in stewards to deal with it? Surely only the riot polis are up to the job. If these daft members of your support are so dangerous that they are banned from snake moan then your ordinary Senor Plod won't be doing the dirty work.

Rangers couldn't handle being pumped by a second rate team full of taigs. Webo blessing himself after he scored would no doubt have fed the Midnless numer of your support frenzy to even greater levels. But as great uncle walter said to chic dung after the game "they provided great vocal support".

Answer the fecking question , are you saying the greatest fans in the world deserved a beating at Celta Vigo ??????

Self employed ??? well done , Navvying has gone up in the world , good on you , glad to see that seem more offended by me calling you unemployed more than me calling you a bigot !!!!!!

Now answer the question and don't step around it.

Guest greengrass

in celta vigo , the innocent ones no obviously not and they never deserved it , but any that caused any trouble then yes they did.

Bain goes on about segregation being the cause of the problems - how many Osasuna fans did we see at the trouble points? It was all rangers fans and no Spanish guys anywhere near them.

Bain and McIntyre admit that there were sizeable numbers of banned fans there. Known trouble makers and total scumbags intent on causing major bother and then running away like weans. So the Spanish polis should just let these cretins get away with their pish? Should they send in stewards to deal with it? Surely only the riot polis are up to the job. If these daft members of your support are so dangerous that they are banned from snake moan then your ordinary Senor Plod won't be doing the dirty work.

Rangers couldn't handle being pumped by a second rate team full of taigs. Webo blessing himself after he scored would no doubt have fed the Mindless numer of your support frenzy to even greater levels. But as great uncle walter said to chic dung after the game "they provided great vocal support".

navvying nah , quantity surveyor , u peice of excrement.