Disposing of old PC

blueben_d

Make sur and format your hard drive before you give it away. It would surprise you who could be peeking into your files once you get rid off it. <RMTIME> <sesm>

most charities have to wipe the hard drive anyway theres some WEEEE standard or something.

Obvioulsy I would do this anyway, don't want any personal details on there to be discoverable.

I'll tryin ringing a couple of charity shops and see if i can just dump it there.

Make sur and format your hard drive before you give it away. It would surprise you who could be peeking into your files once you get rid off it. <RMTIME>  <sesm>

most charities have to wipe the hard drive anyway theres some WEEEE standard or something.

Obvioulsy I would do this anyway, don't want any personal details on there to be discoverable.

I'll tryin ringing a couple of charity shops and see if i can just dump it there.

Dependin where you live there should be someone that specialises in disposing of electrical equipment. Have a look in the Yellow Pages under Waste Disposal. They might charge you but if they do it will probably be a nominal fee. Let me know what area you are in and I'll see if I can get a number for you.

Make sur and format your hard drive before you give it away. It would surprise you who could be peeking into your files once you get rid off it. <RMTIME>? <sesm>

Dependin where you live there should be someone that specialises in disposing of electrical equipment. Have a look in the Yellow Pages under Waste Disposal. They might charge you but if they do it will probably be a nominal fee. Let me know what area you are in and I'll see if I can get a number for you.

live in Bath mate.

I'd rather give it to charity than get it scrapped, but i just want it oot of the hoose!

Make sur and format your hard drive before you give it away. It would surprise you who could be peeking into your files once you get rid off it. <RMTIME>? <sesm>

live in Bath mate.

I'd rather give it to charity than get it scrapped, but i just want it oot of the hoose!

I doubt many charities will take it due to the legislation involved in recycling them. They may also not want to handle them incase they contain anything dodgy and they become implicated somehow. Baths a bit outwith knowledge base but if I come across anything I'll let you know.

live in Bath mate.

I doubt many charities will take it due to the legislation involved in recycling them. They may also not want to handle them incase they contain anything dodgy and they become implicated somehow. Baths a bit outwith knowledge base but if I come across anything I'll let you know.

what are you implying <sesm>

live in Bath mate.

what are you implying <sesm>

Nothing mate its just that somebody else could have been looking at something on your pC when you had your back turned ;):lol: