£700m Ibrox, Blue Heaven.

• Replies 58

Does anyone know whatever happened to all those plans years ago about adding another tier to the Govan stand, and the Hotels and Casino's that were to be built around Ibrox, that would be owned by Rangers to draw in more money to the club, and people were predicting that such renovations would bank £700m for Rangers, what actually happened to those plans, or was it all bullshit?

All I ever seen from those plans was this:

zlf19u.jpg

Absolutely disgusting. I can't believe we ever considered knocking down our historic stadium to erect this space-station monstrosity. Where are the fans supposed to stand, anyway? Around the pitch? Madness.

Yes. GCC bheasts & scottish labour tims said "Feck that, we're ploughing millions into our teams surrondings. Yous are getting nae planning permission fae us papes"

Without defending the Westminster-led numpties in the Labour Councils, this post is fabricated bullshit.

I think you will find that the idea of a Super-Casino was vetoed by the House of Lords... And anyway, the English UK government was giving it to Manchester, despite many casino companies decidedly favouring Glasgow.

Without defending the Westminster-led numpties in the Labour Councils, this post is fabricated bullshit.

I think you will find that the idea of a Super-Casino was vetoed by the House of Lords... And anyway, the English UK government was giving it to Manchester, despite many casino companies decidedly favouring Glasgow.

Lol. Rattled your cage eh?

Which part of the post is fabricated? Seeing as you are in the know.

I may be wrong, but at the time wasn't there only one license available for all of the UK an it went to someone else?

Correct. Think Manchester got the one licence for the Super casino. So end of. Think it was Vegas Sands who where the Casino partners.

Remember listening to a debate on this on Radio shortbread at the time. Idiot they had on was trying to debunk the plans going on about how this would be bad for Glasgow and would create gambling addicts etc. Final question to the guy was what team do you support? No prizes for guessing what he said in reply, it`s nice we have such an unbiased media in this country isn`t it?

in the city they now do but not overall in Scotland, that's according to latest census results

Latest census says out of 593 000 people in Glasgow, 161 000 are Catholic. 136 000 CoS. 183 000 are no religion. 42 000 not stated. So by 'us' you mean protestants, then yes. However there are still far more people from the traditional protestant community, as most of the 'no religions' and 'not stated' will be from that community (like me). So if you're talking about 'us' as Rangers they don't. Whatever, Catholics are a minority, just not necessarily in where it matters (council etc).

Absolutely disgusting. I can't believe we ever considered knocking down our historic stadium to erect this space-station monstrosity. Where are the fans supposed to stand, anyway? Around the pitch? Madness.

We never considered knocking down our historic stadium... that isn't the stadium in the picture. It's the Ibrox entertainment complex, would of been build opposite Ibrox stadium.