Spending power

The Artist

As long as we bring the correct players in rather than players who won't settle etc.

Who knows if these guys will be good. Look at last season there big names were Jarosik & Gravesen.

Splashing money doesn't guarantee they will be good.

52 next year!!!

aye i second that Craigy!! auld 52 next year nae bawhair!!!! and am still expecting a shock signing from somewhere maybe 2 near the end of the transfer window if we haven't flashed much cash, like the franny jeffers incident dare i say it :lol: :lol:, obviously needs to be good though jeez, now he wuz a DONKEY.

You sound scared and i for one don't know why as there 3 signings so far dont scare me.

Should forget about the scum and concentrate on your own team.

Well said (tu) .

The way some people are carrying on, you would think that Strachan is building a team of world beaters. I repeat, not one signing he has made convinces me that the overall level of Celtic's performance will be dramatically raised (BTW I include the unproven Scott Brown in this) or that our re-building plans have been seriously damaged. Let me put it this way, barring Brown, not one recent Celtic arrival exceeds £1m+ (most have arrived on frees or Bosmans).

We have now been linked with a variety of players, so there is some activity going on (if we take the papers at face value, which I do not). If some of us can stop obsessing about 'Big Price=Rangers Class' then we can actually see that Walter is first and foremost trying to strengthen and deepen the playing pool, just like Strachan is doing. Just like Strachan, Walter is using Bosmans.

I admit we need at least two quality players, esp in the forward line and in attacking midfield, but I'd far rather see a stronger team that can withstand the impact of injury, fixture congestion and suspension, that can play in as a coherant

unit, with a clear gameplan, and an acceptable level of fitness, rather than blow our budget on a couple of players who might or might not deliver. I believe that such a unit can built with carefull planning and spending.

And that includes Naismith :D !

Well said (tu) .

The way some people are carrying on, you would think that Strachan is building a team of world beaters. I repeat, not one signing he has made convinces me that the overall level of Celtic's performance will be dramatically raised (BTW I include the unproven Scott Brown in this) or that our re-building plans have been seriously damaged. Let me put it this way, barring Brown, not one recent Celtic arrival exceeds £1m+ (most have arrived on frees or Bosmans).

We have now been linked with a variety of players, so there is some activity going on (if we take the papers at face value, which I do not). If some of us can stop obsessing about 'Big Price=Rangers Class' then we can actually see that Walter is first and foremost trying to strengthen and deepen the playing pool, just like Strachan is doing. Just like Strachan, Walter is using Bosmans.

I admit we need at least two quality players, esp in the forward line and in attacking midfield, but I'd far rather see a stronger team that can withstand the impact of injury, fixture congestion and suspension, that can play in as a coherant

unit, with a clear gameplan, and an acceptable level of fitness, rather than blow our budget on a couple of players who might or might not deliver. I believe that such a unit can built with carefull planning and spending.

Very much agree with this, but still think Naismith would do wonderfully well at Ibrox.

I am quietly confident WS will see us ok and will not panic or believe the newspapers until August 1.

If THEY go and get these 2 italians ........

wait and see.

when the transfer window has closed is the time for comparisons, although as others have pointed out it's about what we do, not what they do.

Well said (tu) .

Fantastic post (tu) I wouldn't disagree with one word of it!

As long as we bring the correct players in rather than players who won't settle etc.

Who knows if these guys will be good. Look at last season there big names were Jarosik & Gravesen.

Splashing money doesn't guarantee they will be good.

52 next year!!!

Good post :pipegreen: