Urgent Food Bank Appeal - Motherwell game

Watched a program on tv a few weeks ago where an unemployed guy from Paisley blew all his money on a roullette machine so had to go to the foodbank. He said "I'm entitled to it". :crywank:

Although there are no doubt genuine cases there are a lot of people like him out there and fat cunts who just want an extra few meals for free.

• Replies 105

3 minutes ago, Drunk and disorderly. said:

Watched a program on tv a few weeks ago where an unemployed guy from Paisley blew all his money on a roullette machine so had to go to the foodbank. He said "I'm entitled to it". :crywank:

Although there are no doubt genuine cases there are a lot of people like him out there and fat cunts who just want an extra few meals for free.

And yet nobody here chooses to highlight any.  

Lazy journalism if you ask me.

https://www.trusselltrust.org/what-we-do/real-stories/

14 minutes ago, K.A.I said:

What would be the point in them attacking Iceland, for example? we are a super-power/super-state and an absolute sitting duck if we couldn't defend ourselves.

Your wee table is good and well, imagine we had nothing never mind them having more.

Russia was only an example anyway. Trident is for deterrend and peace of mind. I'm delighted we renewed it. It keeps people in jobs and keeps billions in the British economy too. I don't expect the hypocritical socialists to understand that, though.

I disagree with your assessment on 8 points, but can't be arsed pointing them all out.  I guess most people can guess the points I'd disagee with, and can make their own minds up as to what they want to believe. 

39 minutes ago, Bluepeter9 said:

To all the political commentators on here - imagine how many people could be helped if we didn't renew trident?

So anyway, all you good Christian Protestants out there will obviously be donating! If a good athiest like myself will donate surely all those good Christians in our midst will be remembering the parable of the loaves and fishes and will do their bit? 

I presume you don't have house or car insurance ?

7 minutes ago, govanblue said:

I disagree with your assessment on 8 points, but can't be arsed pointing them all out.  I guess most people can guess the points I'd disagee with, and can make their own minds up as to what they want to believe. 

I'm glad you can't be arsed listing 8 points because I can't be bothered with 8-points part bullshit.

2 minutes ago, ritchieshearercaldow said:

I presume you don't have house or car insurance ?

He doesn't need them - his house and car are both wired up to explode if anyone tries to break in.

That's mutually assured destruction in action for you. ;)

8 hours ago, 50ShadesofBlue said:

For the cost of a couple pints you could help out. The reality is there will be a lot of single parent families using the food bank as well as people who've fallen on hard times and maybe even older retired people struggling with bills etc. 

My mother was a single parent. We never had to use food banks because she a) had a job b) didn't drink or smoke c) had some self respect and didn't think "society" owed us a favour. 

Just now, gsa said:

My mother was a single parent. We never had to use food banks because she a) had a job b) didn't drink or smoke c) had some self respect and didn't think "society" owed us a favour. 

They didn't exist when you were a wean. (tu)

1 hour ago, Bluepeter9 said:

To all the political commentators on here - imagine how many people could be helped if we didn't renew trident?

So anyway, all you good Christian Protestants out there will obviously be donating! If a good athiest like myself will donate surely all those good Christians in our midst will be remembering the parable of the loaves and fishes and will do their bit? 

Maybe we'd prefer to remember Paul and "he who shall not work, neither shall eat".

China, Russia and North Korea all have nuclear deterrents but we'l disarm so neds can get more tinned ravioli.

Imagine how many people could be helped if we didn't have to feed that repulsive fat cretin Salmond?

Interesting topic and had I not had the experience of having no food I most likely would have agreed with some of the posters who have little sympathy.My own personal experience involved me losing my job(through no fault of my own) this was not long after being evicted from my home because my mum was not paying bills even though I more than paid my way.To compound this I had taken a loan to pay the outstanding bills and worked lots of overtime to pay off the loan quickly on top of costs finding a new home.When I lost my job I applied for lots of jobs and got a new one in weeks,however it was to be fulltime but the employer moved the goal posts and only gave half the hours.I still had bills that required fulltime wages and gradually was losing the little money I had maxing out my overdraft(paying lots of bank charges) and struggling to pay rent on time.One time when my brother visited me he seen I had no food in the house and that I had being buying Tesco value everything from my shopping lists and receipts.My brother who did not let on to what he had seen went out and bought me 2 bags of shopping and not cheap own brand stuff and I would not have cared if it was.It sounds funny to say as it was possibly £10-£15 worth of shopping but it was an amazing kindness to me.I could go to work and apply for new jobs not worrying where next meal is coming from, my performance at work increased as I was not so stressed.In about a month after this I proved myself at work and got made permanent staff and full time hours.I also became a lot better at managing my finances and was able to save for mortgage.This bad experience for me had been turned around and really changed my outlook on life.I was not a drinker or smoker or gambler as even if I wanted to be I could not have afforded it.The point I am trying to make is although there are scroungers and those that work the system there are also genuine people and it really will make a difference to them.I have never used a foodbank personally but I am more than happy to donate.It is good to be cynical but it is not the full picture.We should not have to have foodbanks but please give if you can.

Just now, gsa said:

Is the salient point invalid because foodbanks didn't exist? "Charity" has always existed.

yes mate.

I'll wager there are few on here who experienced poverty to the degree that I did as a child.  Foodbanks would have been a lifesaver for many in the malnourished seventies.

1 minute ago, govanblue said:

yes mate.

I'll wager there are few on here who experienced poverty to the degree that I did as a child.  Foodbanks would have been a lifesaver for many in the malnourished seventies.

We are talking about the validity of foodbanks now. Not in the 70's. 

1 minute ago, gsa said:

We are talking about the validity of foodbanks now. Not in the 70's. 

necessity is surely the validitor?

My point is that because we didn't have them in the seventies, kids starved.  I don't want to see that again in my lifetime.

Just now, govanblue said:

necessity is surely the validitor?

My point is that because we didn't have them in the seventies, kids starved.  I don't want to see that again in my lifetime.

I agree but there mere existence doesn't prove they are necessary. I genuinely do not believe children would starve without foodbanks.

5 minutes ago, TheBoyDave said:

Interesting topic and had I not had the experience of having no food I most likely would have agreed with some of the posters who have little sympathy.My own personal experience involved me losing my job(through no fault of my own) this was not long after being evicted from my home because my mum was not paying bills even though I more than paid my way.To compound this I had taken a loan to pay the outstanding bills and worked lots of overtime to pay off the loan quickly on top of costs finding a new home.When I lost my job I applied for lots of jobs and got a new one in weeks,however it was to be fulltime but the employer moved the goal posts and only gave half the hours.I still had bills that required fulltime wages and gradually was losing the little money I had maxing out my overdraft(paying lots of bank charges) and struggling to pay rent on time.One time when my brother visited me he seen I had no food in the house and that I had being buying Tesco value everything from my shopping lists and receipts.My brother who did not let on to what he had seen went out and bought me 2 bags of shopping and not cheap own brand stuff and I would not have cared if it was.It sounds funny to say as it was possibly £10-£15 worth of shopping but it was an amazing kindness to me.I could go to work and apply for new jobs not worrying where next meal is coming from, my performance at work increased as I was not so stressed.In about a month after this I proved myself at work and got made permanent staff and full time hours.I also became a lot better at managing my finances and was able to save for mortgage.This bad experience for me had been turned around and really changed my outlook on life.I was not a drinker or smoker or gambler as even if I wanted to be I could not have afforded it.The point I am trying to make is although there are scroungers and those that work the system there are also genuine people and it really will make a difference to them.I have never used a foodbank personally but I am more than happy to donate.It is good to be cynical but it is not the full picture.We should not have to have foodbanks but please give if you can.

Thanks for sharing that mate. (tu)

Direct experience usually results in empathy - and ignorance of the truth usually suppresses it

2 minutes ago, ritchieshearercaldow said:

Aye, he probably thinks the armed forces are a waste of money too, I don't think he understands the concept of defence.

Those of us who served in them are free to hold any opinion of them we choose. :P

4 minutes ago, gsa said:

I agree but there mere existence doesn't prove they are necessary. I genuinely do not believe children would starve without foodbanks.

That's because you don't get to see inside deprived households. Children are still starving even with foodbanks - and yes, it's often the parent's fault, but that's not the kids fault.  

Bad parents don't blow all their money because there are foodbanks - they blow the money regardless.  At least with the foodbanks, some kids will still get some beans.

4 minutes ago, govanblue said:

Thanks for sharing that mate. (tu)

Direct experience usually results in empathy - and ignorance of the truth usually suppresses it

Cheers govanblue come to think about it I feel a Erskine donation coming on,my gran helped them a lot and got Mbe for her charity work.