Urgent Food Bank Appeal - Motherwell game

RANGERS Charity Foundation is making an urgent appeal to fans to help support our local food banks by bringing some non-perishable food items to the match against Motherwell at Ibrox on Saturday 20 August...

Read more here: http://rangers.co.uk/news/club/urgent-food-bank-appeal-2/

C'mon bears, get behind this and help the local community. 

• Replies 105

Maybe they should send a wee letter to Nicola and ask why in 2016 there are food banks in scotland and that people are having to have appeals for this kind of things.  You know when those horrible horrible tories (not) wee in power and all the power they hold in London etc and we don't want to be ruled by London pish pish pish. Maybe reflect on why when I was being brought up under the thatcher  years our country did.not need food banks. Then she can perhaps look inwardly at her shitty wee party and see how she has hurt this country.  

Apart from that. Am no going to the came carry a tin of baked beans in my pocket for.no cunt. 

Will drop somwthing off in tesco so the rich Cunts from Bearsden can come down and park their car a mile away put on old gear and go and get a few days worth of shopping. Thats what was happening in Maryhill food bank which i think has now hit the ground. Like international foreign aid. It rarely gets to the people who need it most .

Got a food bank near me.......unbelievable that in this day and age families need to rely on others for food, how embarassing for them its a sad state of affairs. All the while you cant help but notice all the no gooders on facebook with their good gear on and free house. Makes me fucking sick.

52 minutes ago, deco19761 said:

Maybe they should send a wee letter to Nicola and ask why in 2016 there are food banks in scotland and that people are having to have appeals for this kind of things.  You know when those horrible horrible tories (not) wee in power and all the power they hold in London etc and we don't want to be ruled by London pish pish pish. Maybe reflect on why when I was being brought up under the thatcher  years our country did.not need food banks. Then she can perhaps look inwardly at her shitty wee party and see how she has hurt this country.  

Apart from that. Am no going to the came carry a tin of baked beans in my pocket for.no cunt. 

Will drop somwthing off in tesco so the rich Cunts from Bearsden can come down and park their car a mile away put on old gear and go and get a few days worth of shopping. Thats what was happening in Maryhill food bank which i think has now hit the ground. Like international foreign aid. It rarely gets to the people who need it most .

We can slate her and her party in the politics and current affairs forum. However, there are clearly people in need and there was a great response from the fans last season when there was a collection. Hopefully, there will be a similar response this weekend.

Food banks are a necessary evil, one which we shouldn't need but do.

I WILL be bringing a bag of shopping with me to the game and I urge anyone who can, does the same.

If you're coming by car, then its a little difficult 10-15min walk, if you're coming by supporter bus you could still bring a bag each.

It is not just immigrants who use this, in fact it's mostly local folk who use this ... folk who struggle, even while in full time employment to put a full meal on the table EVERY day. Buying a bag of "own brand" non-perishable goods can cost as little as £5 .. that's a pint (or 2).

Be more than a cynical old fuck & feel good about yourself as you go & have the privilege of watching the Rangers, something folk who avail themselves of food banks are unable to do.

3 minutes ago, left winger said:

We can slate her and her party in the politics and current affairs forum. However, there are clearly people in need and there was a great response from the fans last season when there was a collection. Hopefully, there will be a similar response this weekend.

She could have wiped out food banks last year ,but no chose to spend 30 million on Gaelic road signs,we know

where her priorities lie,sooner she gtf the better and take that smarmy dick of a husband with her

The Fund made a wee donation a while back...

selection_boxes_zpsc7b8d548.jpg

I don't see the harm in giving a few kids a selection box at Christmas - no matter what their parents are like. :P

I hope it gets a good response again this Season.

But for those who don't approve of Food Banks, for whatever reasons,  that's fine - here's something you can support fully instead...

Simply donate using the PayPal link below, PM me, and together we'll make the world a better place. :21:

http://www.rangersmedia.co.uk/paypal.html

13 minutes ago, Ace said:

I WILL be bringing a bag of shopping with me to the game and I urge anyone who can, does the same.

If you're coming by car, then its a little difficult 10-15min walk, if you're coming by supporter bus you could still bring a bag each.

It is not just immigrants who use this, in fact it's mostly local folk who use this ... folk who struggle, even while in full time employment to put a full meal on the table EVERY day. Buying a bag of "own brand" non-perishable goods can cost as little as £5 .. that's a pint (or 2).

Be more than a cynical old fuck & feel good about yourself as you go & have the privilege of watching the Rangers, something folk who avail themselves of food banks are unable to do.

Me and my missus work full lime have three kids and yes there is a poor week when we just eat what's there. I do not believe for one minute that people cannot afford to put down a hot meal for their family. I call it bullshit.  You can get bag of pasta and sauce for.2 quid. That will feed a whole family. People back in my day had less back in my day and you just got on with it. I just dont buy it that peolle are that poor.  Even if you are on benefits. 

Call me cynical but I tend to think if it is people on benefits that use it, then they know its there for them .they shoukd stay out of betting and drinking establishment and maybe they woukd be a to afford to feed themselves and their families. I see it every day in and out people's houses.  Place is s shit hole but you see them in the bookies or coming out the pubs. So aye cynical maybe and i dont try to tar everyone with the same brush but it is clear to me on a daily basis. As someone says.  What about all the millions spent on signage...

How about re introducing prescription charges and ring fence the money to get people out of poverty instead of talking about it a the time.  Its a joke. Its weak politics and it plays on people's emotions.  Fs there are times in our house when all the bills have been paid etc and its few days before pay day. You need to eat what's there..

Poverty will always be here to a degree butt ffs it's not like living in the old tenements when u got a bitnof bread for. Your lunch if ypur lucky. 

43 minutes ago, Ace said:

Text my mates about this. We are gonna get off the train and grab some stuff at the sainsbury at the station. We normally get a taxi to WRC but will either get taxi or jump subway to ibrox and drop the stuff off before the match. 

Are Rangers and politics only to be kept apart when it suits some folk? the Charity Foundation appear to be like a socialist party these days - buses for immigrants, food bank appeals. No thanks.

Why not put money in a pot and buy tickets for people who use food banks but want to see Rangers but afford it instead.

40 minutes ago, deco19761 said:

Me and my missus work full lime have three kids and yes there is a poor week when we just eat what's there. I do not believe for one minute that people cannot afford to put down a hot meal for their family. I call it bullshit.  You can get bag of pasta and sauce for.2 quid. That will feed a whole family. People back in my day had less back in my day and you just got on with it. I just dont buy it that peolle are that poor.  Even if you are on benefits. 

Call me cynical but I tend to think if it is people on benefits that use it, then they know its there for them .they shoukd stay out of betting and drinking establishment and maybe they woukd be a to afford to feed themselves and their families. I see it every day in and out people's houses.  Place is s shit hole but you see them in the bookies or coming out the pubs. So aye cynical maybe and i dont try to tar everyone with the same brush but it is clear to me on a daily basis. As someone says.  What about all the millions spent on signage...

How about re introducing prescription charges and ring fence the money to get people out of poverty instead of talking about it a the time.  Its a joke. Its weak politics and it plays on people's emotions.  Fs there are times in our house when all the bills have been paid etc and its few days before pay day. You need to eat what's there..

Poverty will always be here to a degree butt ffs it's not like living in the old tenements when u got a bitnof bread for. Your lunch if ypur lucky. 

About 6 months ago I remember reading a front-pager from the Record. Something about Tory cuts sending a poor man to a food bank.

After reading the story, he got referred to a food bank AFTER he paid a mobile phone bill, his Virgin, gave his Mum back money he owed her and paid for a mates stag do. It was something along they lines.

4 minutes ago, K.A.I said:

Are Rangers and politics only to be kept apart when it suits some folk? the Charity Foundation appear to be like a socialist party these days - buses for immigrants, food bank appeals. No thanks.

Why not put money in a pot and buy tickets for people who use food banks but want to see Rangers but afford it instead.

Food banks aren't politics ... they are apolitical & just about helping folk.

Can't see the issue but if you don't like them there's little I can do, I just hope you're never in a position to need one yourself 

I'm going to go a nick a few gaelic road signs. They cost a right few million quid to put up so there has to be some scrap value in them and nobody really uses them anyway.

Once i've sold them for scrap I will donate all the money I make to the foodbanks because I think that would be proper use of the money.

In fact I'm gonna donate £10 from every road sign to the.........................hold on where have I heard that shite before?

Just now, Ace said:

Food banks aren't politics ... they are apolitical & just about helping folk.

Can't see the issue but if you don't like them there's little I can do, I just hope you're never in a position to need one yourself 

Well that's not true. It's been a political issue for a couple of years now. Hijacked by the left and the nationalists and the anti establishment nutters.

The rest of your comment is fair enough though.

1 minute ago, K.A.I said:

Well that's not true. It's been a political issue for a couple of years now. Hijacked by the left and the nationalists and the anti establishment nutters.

The rest of your comment is fair enough though.

You should ask if you can do your community service at the Ibrox food bank:lol:

14 minutes ago, K.A.I said:

Bus (actually an ambulance) singular.

If we didn't do food banks, we'd be rightly criticised for it.

Find me a club that doesn't do food banks.

Hamilton Academical Football Festival in Aid of Hamilton Foodbank

We are delighted to be yet again be hosting our Charity Football Festival in aid of charity partner, the Hamilton & District Foodbank. Just five months ago around 700 children from teams across Scotland registered for our event which brought in a staggering 873.50kg of bags filled with non-perishable food items. The Club were overwhelmed by the generosity and support of the local and wider community. 

Dundee Foodbank are pleased to announce a partnership with the sporting community!

On 21st September, there will be the first Dundee derby of the 2014/15 season. Dundee Foodbank will be in attendance to hold a food collection prior to kickoff, in order to continue our work with those in greatest need in the city.

Aberdeen's first food bank has been swamped with starving people since it opened its doors for the first time six weeks ago.

St Mirren's Fans Council have asked us to publicise that they are holding a collection for the Food Bank at our match on Saturday. They would be delighted if any QoS supporters would wish to contribute too.

The Community Trust and Inverclyde Foodbank are teaming up again to host a Football Foodbank collection ahead of Morton FC’s last home match of the season on Saturday 2nd May at Cappielow Park against Peterhead FC.

In November last year we led a collection that raised a significant amount of food to support those in greatest need, and we hope supporters will again rally round for a good cause.

The club are pleased to announce we are working with ASDA Stenhousemuir to collect Easter Eggs to donate to the local food bank and children's hospital ward.

It's such a difficult one to call and we're all entitled to our opinions, I remember my mum telling me (when I was older) that there was times when she didn't even have a meal for a few days to ensure that me and my sisters had food on the table and yeah people talk about how back then we just got on with it, but I'm also sure back then there wasn't any food banks to go to, there was also the pride issue of admitting that you needed help.

And as someone who had spent a few years actually homeless I was grateful at times when someone helped me out (I never did that begging thing you see on the streets, being homeless myself I know a lot of them are in organised groups and a lot of it is a con) most of the time I'd walk into the country and basically lived of the land scavenging and hunting, Army training finally came in useful!

I also detest those parents who complain at not having enough money to feed their families properly, to those I say stop fucking smoking, drinking, gambling and producing more fucking children!

BUT there are genuine families out there who really need the help and even if one genuine family benefits from a food bank then it is a success, small success yes but still a success, and yeah also agree that in this day and age we shouldn't need them at all, instead of sending all this money to places like Africa concentrate on the problems at home first.

1 minute ago, govanblue said:

Bus singular.

If we didn't do food banks, we'd be rightly criticised for it.

Find me a club that doesn't do food banks.

Hamilton Academical Football Festival in Aid of Hamilton Foodbank

We are delighted to be yet again be hosting our Charity Football Festival in aid of charity partner, the Hamilton & District Foodbank. Just five months ago around 700 children from teams across Scotland registered for our event which brought in a staggering 873.50kg of bags filled with non-perishable food items. The Club were overwhelmed by the generosity and support of the local and wider community. 

Dundee Foodbank are pleased to announce a partnership with the sporting community!

On 21st September, there will be the first Dundee derby of the 2014/15 season. Dundee Foodbank will be in attendance to hold a food collection prior to kickoff, in order to continue our work with those in greatest need in the city.

ABERDEEN’S first food bank has been swamped with starving people since it opened its doors for the first time six weeks ago.

The Community Trust and Inverclyde Foodbank are teaming up again to host a Football Foodbank collection ahead of Morton FC’s last home match of the season on Saturday 2nd May at Cappielow Park against Peterhead FC.

In November last year we led a collection that raised a significant amount of food to support those in greatest need, and we hope supporters will again rally round for a good cause.

We are using other Scottish football top flight clubs as a lesson in morality :lol: nice one.

I don't care what other clubs do - Scotland is a socialist, left wing cesspit so it's no surprise a lot of the Scottish footballing community are doing it too. Leave them to it the only charity Rangers should be involved with outwith projects for Erskine, Help For Hereos, Soldiers Off The Street etc is ourselves

1 hour ago, Ivybank said:

She could have wiped out food banks last year ,but no chose to spend 30 million on Gaelic road signs,we know

where her priorities lie,sooner she gtf the better and take that smarmy dick of a husband with her

Fairly sure nobody's spending £30million pounds on road signs :lol:.

My understanding of it is that road signs get replaced every so often anyway, and they're replaced with bilingual ones when that time comes.

3 minutes ago, Ace said:

Food banks aren't politics ...

Oh yes they are.

They are used by the SNP as a political weapon at every opportunity possible to highlight how bad Westminster and the Tories (red or blue) are and how they caused the austerity and they caused the poor people to be starving blah blah blah and as such the SNP want them to continue for as long as possible as a shining example of all they despise.

They are used by opponents of the SNP, myself included, to highlight how utterly reprehensible the SNP and their policies are and how they are damaging Scotland and Scottish society.

Your sentiments, however,  are laudable.