Walter Smith praises the Rangers support

Walter Smith thanked the Rangers’ support for taking heed of his warning over offensive and sectarian singing.

The Scottish champions could face disciplinary action from UEFA following alleged discriminatory chanting by their supporters during last month's Europa League game against PSV Eindhoven.

Smith made a plea to fans on Friday, warning them the club could suffer "drastic consequences" if they persisted with these songs.

Those who made the trip to New Douglas Park for the clash with Accies - which saw Nikica Jelavic grab the only goal of the game - pleased the Ibrox boss who didn't hear any secterian offensive songs.

Smith said: "There seemed to be a good reaction to that so hopefully that will be a continuing aspect and, if it is, then all to the good."

Of the match itself Rangers made hard work of their win over Hamilton, who should have gone ahead when Dougie Imrie was denied by Allan McGregor from the penalty spot when the match was level.

Smith has not had his injury problems to seek this season and admits he needs some of those currently on the casualty list back in action for the remaining games to add a boost to the side.

He said: "It will certainly help us, there is no doubt about that.

"The counter-side of that is that some of them have been out for a while and it will take a bit for them to come back in and get up to speed but that's just the situation we are in at the moment. I would hope we would get a little bit of freshness.

"The players are giving a great deal so it's not a complaint about my team today and I'm sure they will show a good reaction in Wednesday's game at Aberdeen."

One of those players sidelined at the moment is Vladimir Weiss, who was quoted in a Sunday newspaper saying he was out of the title run-in after revealing he has a broken bone in his foot.

But Smith has refused to give up hope of the on-loan Manchester City winger playing again this season.

He said: "I don't know whether he will be out for the rest of the season or not.

"He has to see a specialist on Tuesday and it will depend on the result of the scan how long he will be out. I don't think he will be out for the rest of the season.

"The indications earlier on were that once the bruising on the bone starts to improve, he will have an opportunity to get back. We will just have to wait and see. We've got a few in that position that we need to try and get back before the end of the season."

Also out of action is Madjid Bougherra, with reports today claiming he has reluctantly rejected a two-year extension.

Smith said: "Martin [bain, chief executive] has been in discussion with his agent. I couldn't tell you if that is the case but Martin hasn't mentioned that aspect to me."

Accies are 12 points adrift at the bottom of the SPL and facing the prospect of relegation this season.

Boss Billy Reid said: "We got the penalty and I thought it was a stone-wall penalty but we've got to score that penalty in a game like this against Rangers.

"We missed it and I think that just sums up our season. We were on top but we didn't take our chances and the goal we lost also sums up our season."

He added: "How this group of players have only won two games this season is quite remarkable. We are Hamilton Accies, we have had three seasons in the SPL and it's been a great success story. We are not there yet but sometimes you need to take a step back to go forward again."

http://sport.stv.tv/football/scottish-premier/rangers/242890-walter-smith-praises-the-rangers-support/

• Replies 71

Also out of action is Madjid Bougherra, with reports today claiming he has reluctantly rejected a two-year extension.

Smith said: "Martin [bain, chief executive] has been in discussion with his agent. I couldn't tell you if that is the case but Martin hasn't mentioned that aspect to me."

How long is left on his deal?

If it finishes next summer then he's being a tad ungrateful. Fair enough if he wants to leave but a new contract would at least guarantee a reasonable fee for his departure.

most bears i have spoken too have all said the same thing, then i come on here. It aint the end of the world to keep schtum for the time being although this suggestion will fly in the face of somes beliefs that they can do as they wish no matter what consequenses will follow and at the end of the day any presedent set will have to be adhered to by more than just us, sad really but true

If boogie wants to go then fine , you can't blame him

He's served us well so if he leaves with another winners medal and a sale of ÂŁ5m then great

Remember we got him and everyone was like WTF , charlatan reserves...... It has been a good buy for him and us

most bears i have spoken too have all said the same thing, then i come on here. It aint the end of the world to keep schtum for the time being although this suggestion will fly in the face of somes beliefs that they can do as they wish no matter what consequenses will follow and at the end of the day any presedent set will have to be adhered to by more than just us, sad really but true

You must move in very different circles to me and everyone I know ... and everyone they know.

Regarding Bougherra. I like him. I want him to stay, but I've had enough antics from him and on/off speculation. If he wants to go, he can.

This.

He's been far from his best this season, he was far better last season and we kept him then.

Agreed. Bougie has fell far short of his previous standards this season.

it says he "reluctantly" rejected a 2year extension. to me that says he wants to stay, but there terms offered werent

good enough. hopefully when whyte buys us, we can offer slightly better wages. though i wouldnt go mad with the wages.

but i would say big bougie is worth about 15-18k a week and was prob only offered 10k.

and anyway, since when was Hamilton a high atmosphere game? I heard a few wee ditties.

I take it Walter Smith must have had his fingers in his ears during parts of the game because his eyes weren't on the game (witnessing that shite) that's for sure.

You must move in very different circles to me and everyone I know ... and everyone they know.

Regarding Bougherra. I like him. I want him to stay, but I've had enough antics from him and on/off speculation. If he wants to go, he can.

well im guessing my friends and yours may not know each other, but everyone your friends know, really?

Boogie - i dont get the get him gone if he wants etc, its all paper talk in the past unless it was his interviews on the telly and for any footballer with ambiion i guess the top is the place to get too, so we cant have players thinking away from us, not the way the world of football works im affraid

well im guessing my friends and yours may not know each other, but everyone your friends know, really?

Boogie - i dont get the get him gone if he wants etc, its all paper talk in the past unless it was his interviews on the telly and for any footballer with ambiion i guess the top is the place to get too, so we cant have players thinking away from us, not the way the world of football works im affraid

Yes mate, really.

People that sit on the other side of the fence (such as yourself) take great delight in expressing everyone they know feeling the same.

I'm not going to sit here and call you a liar or anything, but being from the other side of the fence, I find it amazing all your mates think this.

Do they go to most games? do they make up the heart beat of the club in any way, shape or form? don't lie to me. I'm being honest with you.

Yes mate, really.

People that sit on the other side of the fence (such as yourself) take great delight in expressing everyone they know feeling the same.

I'm not going to sit here and call you a liar or anything, but being from the other side of the fence, I find it amazing all your mates think this.

Do they go to most games? do they make up the heart beat of the club in any way, shape or form? don't lie to me. I'm being honest with you.

other side of the fence? i think it would be crazy to do anything other than refrain from it for the time being and i hardly take delight expressing it, now thats funny, i would call it common sense considering.

I have many friend who go too the games, i also go when i can if you are getting at that, but i get your point, anyone who thinks as you say on the other side of the fence must no go to the games or have that feeling in there hearts?

I have rarely made lies up regarding anything on here, the odd wind up and slightly wrong with a couple off things but just cause what i said doesnt bode with you or your friends and ALL they know donrt make me a liar.

you think i take delight in expressing the views that i would rather for the time being keep schtum for the beneit of the club or i take delight in saying other bears agree with me, do you mean im right and you dont wanna admit it?

other side of the fence? i think it would be crazy to do anything other than refrain from it for the time being and i hardly take delight expressing it, now thats funny, i would call it common sense considering.

I have many friend who go too the games, i also go when i can if you are getting at that, but i get your point, anyone who thinks as you say on the other side of the fence must no go to the games or have that feeling in there hearts?

I have rarely made lies up regarding anything on here, the odd wind up and slightly wrong with a couple off things but just cause what i said doesnt bode with you or your friends and ALL they know donrt make me a liar.

you think i take delight in expressing the views that i would rather for the time being keep schtum for the beneit of the club or i take delight in saying other bears agree with me, do you mean im right and you dont wanna admit it?

Who called you a liar?

I asked you a simple question ... do all these people that you know that want us to "keep schtum" go to many games, especially aways - do they put their money into the team? are they the heart beat?

Were any of them even in Eindhoven instead of sat on their fannys on the PC, pub or hoose? ... nah, thought not.

That's not a super fan attitude, it's because I think you'll find we got a clean bill of health off the UEFA officials and your wee set of pals want to believe the rags when they don't have a fucking clue.

Who called you a liar?

I asked you a simple question ... do all these people that you know that want us to "keep schtum" go to many games, especially aways - do they put their money into the team? are they the heart beat?

Were any of them even in Eindhoven instead of sat on their fannys on the PC, pub or hoose? ... nah, thought not.

That's not a super fan attitude, it's because I think you'll find we got a clean bill of health off the UEFA officials and your wee set of pals want to believe the rags when they don't have a fucking clue.

the majority are on the mallard bus if it matters, your asking questions then answering for me, and you thought not but thought wrong.

And yes you super fan you, if you aint met a single bear that shared my view then mate you need to get out a bit more

sat on there fannies, i giggled

the majority are on the mallard bus if it matters, your asking questions then answering for me, and you thought not but thought wrong.

And yes you super fan you, if you aint met a single bear that shared my view then mate you need to get out a bit more

Mallard bus? who are they? do they run a bus to Ibrox every other week with weans and families on it or something?

I can honestly say I've never met a single fan with your view and I don't want to .. they would get chased if they tried to impose the same shite people you spout to us on forums. That's if they even had the balls. Can picture them only piping up amongst fellow handwringers or on forums when they feel safe outwith their wee cowardly bubble.

Mallard bus? who are they? do they run a bus to Ibrox every other week with weans and families on it or something?

I can honestly say I've never met a single fan with your view and I don't want to .. they would get chased if they tried to impose the same shite people you spout to us on forums. That's if they even had the balls. Can picture them only piping up amongst fellow handwringers or on forums when they feel safe outwith their wee cowardly bubble.

1st jan, it the bus i occasionally get, it runs every week, we board at the mallard, north muirton and have done many times (all bears) but all that aside, and you are going way off line with all of this, so my view is refrain from the singing thats under scrutiny and you can say what songs, we all know. i have HONESTLY heard many bears saying the same, if this makes me a liar, my friends silly wee pals with fannies or just an opinion that you think aint right then be it at that.

Uberfan with the only opinion thats right

1st jan, it the bus i occasionally get, it runs every week, we board at the mallard, north muirton and have done many times (all bears) but all that aside, and you are going way off line with all of this, so my view is refrain from the singing thats under scrutiny and you can say what songs, we all know. i have HONESTLY heard many bears saying the same, if this makes me a liar, my friends silly wee pals with fannies or just an opinion that you think aint right then be it at that.

Uberfan with the only opinion thats right

Not at all. Big difference between thinking I have the only opinion that's right and thinking some fans (like your wee pals) are acting like fucking tarriers.

but the terriers dont have rangers best interests at heart, i do