A story from my youth

Colinstein72

Sometimes it really is difficult to gauge the real hatred that Celtic supporters have for us, especially when in the public arena, we Rangers supporters are depicted as the bigots and aggressors. It never ceases to amaze me the depths to which they will descend in their attempts to blacken our name.

My first experience with their poison came at a tender age. I had just finished sixth year and before matriculating for University, like countless young students in the seventies, I took the opportunity to earn some extra cash working during the summer holidays. Being an idealist and somewhat altruistic, I decided to try and get a job in the NHS. Back in the seventies that was seen as a noble thing to do.

Having no medical training and an aversion to blood and guts, I got a job as a hospital porter. The lowest of the low, so to speak. I didn’t mind the job if I am honest. I had frequent opportunities to nip out for a fag, and some of the young nurses were gorgeous. I worked with the older males and my job consisted of pushing them around the hospital in a wheelchair and when the weather was clement taking them outside for a wee birl on those few occasions when the sun shone.

I got attached to one old geezer in particular as he reminded me of my granddad.

He was a fly old bugger and was always trying to slip me lines for the bookies. He also smoked like a chimney and always reeked of tobacco. His lungs were fecked and he was clearly on the way out so I felt for him. Back in those days, smoking was the norm. Obviously you couldn’t smoke in the wards, but you could in many public places and in public transportation.

As I say, we got on really well until one day I had to lift him out of bed and put him in his wheelchair. Innocently, I rolled up my sleeves revealing a proud Dutch monarch astride a white steed. He saw the tattoo and went into an apoplectic rage. “Get your f*****ing hands off me, you dirty Orange B***ard!”

His once gentle features were now twisted and contorted with hatred, a portent of the horrible death mask that would shroud him shortly afterwards. A pulsating vein seemed to take control of his forehead, his eyes narrow and hooded like those of a cobra poised to strike

It was at that point that I realized he was a Catholic, though to be honest his religion was not a matter of any importance to me. I was simply there to serve the sick and infirm. “Aye Ready’ being my motto, deeds not just words.

I tried to calm him, but he was having none of it. Demonic forces seemed to have entered his whole body and he could no longer speak, such was the anger of this geriatric Gerard.

Later that day I was asked to report to my supervisor’s office. It had been brought to his attention that I had caused great distress to an elderly patient by displaying an emblem of a religious nature. He asked me to show him the tattoo, I refused. I was sacked on the spot. As I made my way through the hospital doors and down the long driveway, I rolled up my sleeve to take a long admiring look at dear old King Billy. Maybe it was the declining sun or perhaps a tear in my eye, but I could have sworn that he winked at me. Suddenly a smile returned to my face and tomorrow was just another day.

Sometimes it really is difficult to gauge the real hatred that Celtic supporters have for us, especially when in the public arena, we Rangers supporters are depicted as the bigots and aggressors. It never ceases to amaze me the depths to which they will descend in their attempts to blacken our name.

My first experience with their poison came at a tender age. I had just finished sixth year and before matriculating for University, like countless young students in the seventies, I took the opportunity to earn some extra cash working during the summer holidays. Being an idealist and somewhat altruistic, I decided to try and get a job in the NHS. Back in the seventies that was seen as a noble thing to do.

Having no medical training and an aversion to blood and guts, I got a job as a hospital porter. The lowest of the low, so to speak. I didn’t mind the job if I am honest. I had frequent opportunities to nip out for a fag, and some of the young nurses were gorgeous. I worked with the older males and my job consisted of pushing them around the hospital in a wheelchair and when the weather was clement taking them outside for a wee birl on those few occasions when the sun shone.

I got attached to one old geezer in particular as he reminded me of my granddad.

He was a fly old bugger and was always trying to slip me lines for the bookies. He also smoked like a chimney and always reeked of tobacco. His lungs were fecked and he was clearly on the way out so I felt for him. Back in those days, smoking was the norm. Obviously you couldn’t smoke in the wards, but you could in many public places and in public transportation.

As I say, we got on really well until one day I had to lift him out of bed and put him in his wheelchair. Innocently, I rolled up my sleeves revealing a proud Dutch monarch astride a white steed. He saw the tattoo and went into an apoplectic rage. “Get your f*****ing hands off me, you dirty Orange B***ard!”

His once gentle features were now twisted and contorted with hatred, a portent of the horrible death mask that would shroud him shortly afterwards. A pulsating vein seemed to take control of his forehead, his eyes narrow and hooded like those of a cobra poised to strike

It was at that point that I realized he was a Catholic, though to be honest his religion was not a matter of any importance to me. I was simply there to serve the sick and infirm. “Aye Ready’ being my motto, deeds not just words.

I tried to calm him, but he was having none of it. Demonic forces seemed to have entered his whole body and he could no longer speak, such was the anger of this geriatric Gerard.

Later that day I was asked to report to my supervisor’s office. It had been brought to his attention that I had caused great distress to an elderly patient by displaying an emblem of a religious nature. He asked me to show him the tattoo, I refused. I was sacked on the spot. As I made my way through the hospital doors and down the long driveway, I rolled up my sleeve to take a long admiring look at dear old King Billy. Maybe it was the declining sun or perhaps a tear in my eye, but I could have sworn that he winked at me. Suddenly a smile returned to my face and tomorrow was just another day.

You should be a novelist, very good read and just shows how ridiculous some of them are.

A very good friend of my family just before he died of cancer became a very angry person. He had been one of the nicest guys you could ever meet. The doctor assured us its not unusual for people to become angry leading up to death.

Having said this he the old fella you knew was probably just a bigoted old bastard. Plenty of them from both sides. Although some would have you believe otherwise ;)

I am not surprised to hear this story

I know exactly what they are capable of and their views on us

There is only 1 celtic fan I have met who isnt a complete backstabbing wank stain but there is still time for him yet

I grew up thinking "this is all stupid and immature", when I got to 18 I quickly learned what is what

I have now turned into the thing I hated before, A bitter bastard through experiences with dealing wi those cunts

My best mate for 22 years was a tim, thought I could trust him with my life, now I couldnt give a fuck if he catches fire (tu)

This outcome all because I am Rangers fan

I can relate to this as well.

The family across the road from where I used to live where staunch catholics, or in my naivety, just celt*c fans. There was mum, dad, 2 brothers and a daughter (who was absolutely stunning and I got to know really well lol). One day after an old firm game (in which we won), the two brothers were being attacked by a gang of people in Rangers scarves (I wont call them fans because I don't know them, or their motives for the attack). Anyway, I stepped in and broke up the fight, myself wearing my colours, and helped the two guys into their house where I was greeted with "dirty orange bastard" or something to that effect from the dad.

That's gratitude eh? Much less guilty about what I got up to with his daughter now lol

I can relate to this as well.

The family across the road from where I used to live where staunch catholics, or in my naivety, just celt*c fans. There was mum, dad, 2 brothers and a daughter (who was absolutely stunning and I got to know really well lol). One day after an old firm game (in which we won), the two brothers were being attacked by a gang of people in Rangers scarves (I wont call them fans because I don't know them, or their motives for the attack). Anyway, I stepped in and broke up the fight, myself wearing my colours, and helped the two guys into their house where I was greeted with "dirty orange bastard" or something to that effect from the dad.

That's gratitude eh? Much less guilty about what I got up to with his daughter now lol

Hope ye kicked her back doors in

This thread reads like it was written by a taig doing a "humorous"impression of a rangers fan.

The part where you went to university is the least believable part of it, and that's saying something.

Add that the rest of the rubbish you have spouted since you joined here and it only means one thing......

This thread reads like it was written by a taig doing a "humorous"impression of a rangers fan.

The part where you went to university is the least believable part of it, and that's saying something.

Add that the rest of the rubbish you have spouted since you joined here and it only means one thing......

Oh you old cynic, nicely scribed though!

Innocently, I rolled up my sleeves revealing a proud Dutch monarch astride a white steed. It was at that point that I realized he was a Catholic, though to be honest his religion was not a matter of any importance to me. I was simply there to serve the sick and infirm.

Really? :lol:

Your writing is crap, by the way. Your fairy-tale is stinking.

Rubbish? Supporting Ally and the team when others on here were slagging them rotten!

These are indeed taxing times but we will prevail. For your information, I can trace my Scottish antecedents back to the seventeenth century. You'll find no Timmy traces in my DNA. As for university, I was capped and gowned. McEwan Hall, Edinburgh University (Alumnus 1977). I was touched on the head by John Knox's bonnet (check out the significance of John Knox's bonnet on Wikipedia if you think I am at the wind up).

My story is the truth though to be fair I did embellish it with humorous language. "Gerard' was not his real name, but the scene I described was factual. Yes, I was sacked (in those days, you were shown the door). More importantly I still have a great British Monarch not under my skin, but on my skin. And yes, he is still smiling. Lighten up brother!!

It couldnt be more obvious....

Rubbish? Supporting Ally and the team when others on here were slagging them rotten!

These are indeed taxing times but we will prevail. For your information, I can trace my Scottish antecedents back to the seventeenth century. You'll find no Timmy traces in my DNA. As for university, I was capped and gowned. McEwan Hall, Edinburgh University (Alumnus 1977). I was touched on the head by John Knox's bonnet (check out the significance of John Knox's bonnet on Wikipedia if you think I am at the wind up).

My story is the truth though to be fair I did embellish it with humorous language. "Gerard' was not his real name, but the scene I described was factual. Yes, I was sacked (in those days, you were shown the door). More importantly I still have a great British Monarch not under my skin, but on my skin. And yes, he is still smiling. Lighten up brother!!

Aye