Crawford released by Rovers

Smile

But but but 4 years ago Ally was supposed to build a team around Perry, Aird, Crawford, Gasparotto 

In short, we dont make many good players in this country anymore. If you get 2-3 first teamers every 5 years youre doing well.

Stenhousemuir 3 Rangers U21 0 and Livingston 5 Celtic U21 1 this season reinforces that. 

4 minutes ago, Deanzmeanzheinz said:

But but but 4 years ago Ally was supposed to build a team around Perry, Aird, Crawford, Gasparotto 

In short, we dont make many good players in this country anymore. If you get 2-3 first teamers every 5 years youre doing well.

Stenhousemuir 3 Rangers U21 0 and Livingston 5 Celtic U21 1 this season reinforces that. 

Do you think the youth system worth the money when it produces so little. ?

Just now, Smile said:

Do you think the youth system worth the money when it produces so little. ?

In a word - no!

Unless we recreate a culture of 'informal football' whers our kids play football 3-4 hours a day 6-7 days a week we will never develop Baxters or Coopers again. Like any sport 10-18 yr olds have to obsessive. Read andy murray or colin montogemerie's books to see what it takes to be world class  - its certainly not training 2-3 times a week thats for sure 

1 minute ago, Deanzmeanzheinz said:

In a word - no!

Unless we recreate a culture of 'informal football' whers our kids play football 3-4 hours a day 6-7 days a week we will never develop Baxters or Coopers again. Like any sport 10-18 yr olds have to obsessive. Read andy murray or colin montogemerie's books to see what it takes to be world class  - its certainly not training 2-3 times a week thats for sure 

It's hard now as there is so many different things kids prefer than Football, i sometimes think youth football at big clubs is fucked as only the smaller clubs blood their young players that's how we end up buying off Hibs and Hearts.

3 minutes ago, Smile said:

It's hard now as there is so many different things kids prefer than Football, i sometimes think youth football at big clubs is fucked as only the smaller clubs blood their young players that's how we end up buying off Hibs and Hearts.

True, read some of the vitriolic posts about Barrie McKay in here 4-6 weeks ago and it illustrates how tough it is to improve at a young age at Rangers. Young developing talent is notoriously inconsistent. 

I do my best to take my boys to football training at Broadwood stadium, Its quite hard to take them twice a week due to work commitments, So usually only once  a week and a kick about at local pitches for a few hours a week, If i dont take them its all playstation and tv.  Kids where I stay barely venture outside, they just sit and chat on web,facetime to socialise.

5 minutes ago, Deanzmeanzheinz said:

True, read some of the vitriolic posts about Barrie McKay in here 4-6 weeks ago and it illustrates how tough it is to improve at a young age at Rangers. Young developing talent is notoriously inconsistent. 

It's always going to be that way at Rangers and we are always going to buy of Hibs-Hearts or smaller clubs it say's to me that youth football at Rangers cant really be sustainable even though that sounds bad/mad.

Will remember how these youngsters stood up to be counted when we needed them. The highlight of which was probably when the acne riddled upstarts ripped Motherwell a new arsehole so soon after we lost nearly all our first team players.

Hope the lad finds another club  

50 minutes ago, Theulstervolunteer said:

Good luck to the wee man hope he can continue his career in the game he is a local boy from the same area as myself. He's done what many of have only dreamed of and pulled that blue jersey on.

From that area myself.

While he was in and around the first team i wanted him to succeed, he certainly wasn't the worst.

Annoyed me when i seen him at the battery park and my boy and his pal ran over to talk to him and he pretended not to be who they thought he was.

15 minutes ago, plumbGER said:

From that area myself.

While he was in and around the first team i wanted him to succeed, he certainly wasn't the worst.

Annoyed me when i seen him at the battery park and my boy and his pal ran over to talk to him and he pretended not to be who they thought he was.

That's disappointing to hear. Not many young lads from this area make it that far so you always root for them to do well. If that was his attitude then that's poor show especially as it was youngsters who were asking him.

29 minutes ago, plumbGER said:

From that area myself.

He was in the year above me in school and I was speaking to him briefly at one of my coaching sessions and he always seemed brand new.

11 hours ago, Deanzmeanzheinz said:

In a word - no!

Great post, coaching is overrated, PRACTICE makes PERFECT. 

The talent and dedication aint there. Basically we produce average journeymen. The system itself is rotten to the core with nepotism and just a big hurt game full of disappointment. We wouldn't know talent if we fell over it and neither do we care. As long as Walter's 23rd removed nephew get's in at the expense of talented wee Wully no mark, all is good.

55 minutes ago, Theulstervolunteer said:

That's disappointing to hear. Not many young lads from this area make it that far so you always root for them to do well. If that was his attitude then that's poor show especially as it was youngsters who were asking him.

My boy was about 8 or 9 at the time, pish poor from him tbh.

48 minutes ago, JukeBoxJohn said:

He was in the year above me in school and I was speaking to him briefly at one of my coaching sessions and he always seemed brand new.

Aye by all other accounts i have heard he is a nice lad.

38 minutes ago, Blue Avenger said:

The talent and dedication aint there. Basically we produce average journeymen. The system itself is rotten to the core with nepotism and just a big hurt game full of disappointment. We wouldn't know talent if we fell over it and neither do we care. As long as Walter's 23rd removed nephew get's in at the expense of talented wee Wully no mark, all is good.

Seen you mention the Walter link a few times.

Who are these boys who are related to Walter?

Is the lad Gilmour related to Walter?

Some family Walter has, Serge Atakayi and Ursene Mouande, were they pioneers like?

(Walters family, not the players)