Rangers Picture Thread

Don54, you mentioned a short time ago, your surprise that there were no archive Rangers team photos between certain years in our history.

Could you please reiterate the years pertaining to that gap?

Not that we're likely to find anything related, if you most certainly can't of all People...

59 minutes ago, Callum_Doon said:

Don54, you mentioned a short time ago, your surprise that there were no archive Rangers team photos between certain years in our history.

Could you please reiterate the years pertaining to that gap?

Not that we're likely to find anything related, if you most certainly can't of all People...

Earliest one I have is 1876 - 77  then nothing til 1887 - 88, 1888 - 89 then 1893 - 94, 1895,   1896 - 97,  1898 - 99  are all I have pre 1900 also a few gaps from 1900 to present 

no 1903 - 04, 1908-09 and 1909-10 

31 minutes ago, Don54 said:

Earliest one I have is 1876 - 77  then nothing til 1887 - 88, 1888 - 89 then 1893 - 94, 1895,   1896 - 97,  1898 - 99  are all I have pre 1900 also a few gaps from 1900 to present 

no 1903 - 04, 1908-09 and 1909-10 

On behalf... thanks once again for taking the time. As you note, somewhat peculiar gaps there?

Comprehensively doubt if we can find anything you haven't, however, least we know precisely now what's 'missing'.

There's a surprising amount...!

12 minutes ago, Callum_Doon said:

Revisiting this, it would be fascinating to know what the teams/substitutes were. Anyone?

The Glasgow FA team was: Rough (Partick), McGrain (celtic), Whittaker (Partick), Jardine (Rangers), McDonald (celtic), Forsyth (Rangers), McLean (Rangers) - sub McNaughton (Queen's Park), Dalglish (celtic), Craig (celtic), MacDonald (Rangers), Johnstone (Rangers) - sub Somner (Partick) 

Football League side was: Corrigan (Man City), Clements (Man City), Peach (Southampton), Stanley (Chelsea), Watson (Man City), Wilkins (Chelsea), Francis (Birmingham), Channon (Southampton), Royle (Man City), -sub Barnes (Man City), Owen (Man City), Tueart (Man City) 

The reason for the preponderance of Man City players was that they had completed their league programme and many other English sides hadn't. Players from Liverpool and Man Utd couldn't be considered anyway as these clubs still had to play in the FA Cup Final and Liverpool also had the European Cup Final coming up. 

By contrast the Scottish domestic season was over. In any case Man City were a strong side at the time and had finished runners-up to Liverpool by just one point. 

Dennis Tueart put the FL ahead in the first half. Sandy Jardine equalised from the spot after the break and Kenny Dalglish scored to make the final result 2-1 for the home team. The attendance was 28,380.

9 minutes ago, Callum_Doon said:

On behalf... thanks once again for taking the time. As you note, somewhat peculiar gaps there?

Comprehensively doubt if we can find anything you haven't, however, least we know precisely now what's 'missing'.

There's a surprising amount...!

Have one for every season from 1946 to 2000

18 minutes ago, Don54 said:

3272787350_e9fffe199c.jpg.c496bed060752243cf1d19078f86e81fb.jpg.16574569fce5a4001604d19e8ed4fb97.jpg

The hellish shirt... from that match.

Love the wee, token, red&yellow Thistle collar.

In hindsight, do I maybe remember this? - was there not, understandably, some conflict about the design of that strip - with ourselves and celtic eventually having to reach a comprise?

Personally, I couldn't express criticism - what else would you come up with!?

Surely had to be stripes - no way 'hoops'!

10 minutes ago, Callum_Doon said:

Love the wee, token, red&yellow Thistle collar.

In hindsight, do I maybe remember this? - was there not, understandably, some conflict about the design of that strip - with ourselves and celtic eventually having to reach a comprise?

Personally, I couldn't express criticism - what else would you come up with!?

Surely had to be stripes - no way 'hoops'!

326f3552f00b2fea8120699f42b20e3a.thumb.jpg.4ff2810a8cbe4a4b00b66521cdb5ef9fb.jpg.60daf9fe68b2b772a6082d7af7460629.jpg

1 hour ago, Don54 said:

The Glasgow FA team was: Rough (Partick), McGrain (celtic), Whittaker (Partick), Jardine (Rangers), McDonald (celtic), Forsyth (Rangers), McLean (Rangers) - sub McNaughton (Queen's Park), Dalglish (celtic), Craig (celtic), MacDonald (Rangers), Johnstone (Rangers) - sub Somner (Partick) 

Football League side was: Corrigan (Man City), Clements (Man City), Peach (Southampton), Stanley (Chelsea), Watson (Man City), Wilkins (Chelsea), Francis (Birmingham), Channon (Southampton), Royle (Man City), -sub Barnes (Man City), Owen (Man City), Tueart (Man City) 

The reason for the preponderance of Man City players was that they had completed their league programme and many other English sides hadn't. Players from Liverpool and Man Utd couldn't be considered anyway as these clubs still had to play in the FA Cup Final and Liverpool also had the European Cup Final coming up. 

By contrast the Scottish domestic season was over. In any case Man City were a strong side at the time and had finished runners-up to Liverpool by just one point. 

Dennis Tueart put the FL ahead in the first half. Sandy Jardine equalised from the spot after the break and Kenny Dalglish scored to make the final result 2-1 for the home team. The attendance was 28,380.

That is simply fantastic... [END OF].

Perhaps we maybe need to take a moment to contemplate both squads. Therein are poignantly Rangers legends...

8 hours ago, Callum_Doon said:

Any insight on this (appreciated it's difficult to read).?

20181030_22036939.jpg

It's a letter from Ken Crawford the then Stadium manager in 2001 to  David Kiltie  ( Mr Maybole ) giving info on a Scottish cup tie between The Rangers and Maybole on  27th Jan.1900. score 12 - 0,  Gibson, Neil, Robertson, Wilkie (3), Hamilton (4), Hyslop and Smith

307025441_MayboleJuniorsvsRangers1900.thumb.jpg.5e207d3056f87f511ce1b77d67a5d67a.jpg