Barry says Walter Smith should be MOTY

J_RFC87

As much as I hate Strachan there's no way Walter can be considered to have a better season than him.

If Ferguson did make these nonsensical comments then it's just more ammuniation for those of us who don't consider him a good enough captain.

Well, in fairness it depends on the context of his comments....

If it is in reference to the footballing year then any manager that takes Scotland to the top of a group containing the world cup finalists and the world champions, beating the Champions in the process, is worthy of a manager of the year award, IMO...

However if Barry purely meant that Walter should be manager of the year for entirely SPL performance, (thus comparing a 4 month period to a 8 month period) then yes its a ridiculous statement...

Wattie has done hee haw except he got the praise for the win at Porkheed against them when they were pesh

Oh and the new saying we have nowadays.....steadied the ship ! :lol:

As much as I hate Strachan there's no way Walter can be considered to have a better season than him.

If Ferguson did make these nonsensical comments then it's just more ammuniation for those of us who don't consider him a good enough captain.

Frankie, What is wrong with having a bit of loyalty to the manager -- who has done a great job. Strachan's team, yes, always seemed to earn a 2-1 victory at the death. But hardly imposing now is it? CL? last 16... but so was ECK.

I'm surprised at your statement. Get behind our team AND our Captain. I'll side with Barry 110% on this one...

Wattie has done hee haw except he got the praise for the win at Porkheed against them when they were pesh

We were outplayed in the 1st half at Parkhead and then the 2nd half we dominated it played really well and in the end we deserved our win should of scored a couple of more goals after the 1 we did!!

Thats exactly what he has done and thats why he was brought back in the 1st place to steady the ship and make sure we got into 2nd place and in 11 games in the SPL he hasnt lost a game!! We all know you want Billy Davies as the manager but there is a management team in place who need our support but i agree with Davies he will be a future Rangers manager but for know most of the Rangers support is happy with Walter in charge

Better than the saying we had at the beginning of the season..

"now turned a corner"

We were outplayed in the 1st half at Parkhead and then the 2nd half we dominated it played really well and in the end we deserved our win should of scored a couple of more goals after the 1 we did!!

Thats exactly what he has done and thats why he was brought back in the 1st place to steady the ship and make sure we got into 2nd place and in 11 games in the SPL he hasnt lost a game!! We all know you want Billy Davies as the manager but there is a management team in place who need our support but i agree with Davies he will be a future Rangers manager but for know most of the Rangers support is happy with Walter in charge

Who told you I wanted Billy Davies ??? :Animation44:

would you rather he said strachan deserves it more that wattie?

he is sticking up for his manager - and getting pelters for it

when he doesnt stick up for his manager - he gets pelters for it and accused of all sorts.

he could have been a bit smarter with his words, but he's a footballer not a politician.

i would have gone with something like "If walter had been here all season it could have been a different story and he has done a terrific job in the short time he has been back at Rangers and we have outperformed Celtic in that time"

He said it in the context of what Walter has did for Scotland, by bringing them to the top of a very difficult qualifying group, getting one over on France. He also said it in the context of Walter steadying the ship at Ibrox, and because over this period of time Rangers have won more points, clean sheets etc than Celtic.

BARRY FERGUSON believes Walter Smith should have been named Manager of the Year for leading Scotland to a brilliant start in our Euro 2008 qualification campaign AND revitalising Rangers.

The Scottish Managers and Coaches Association presented Celtic boss Gordon Strachan with the honour at the SPFA awards ceremony on Sunday night.

Strachan has guided the Hoops to the SPL title for the second season running and his club will also contest next month's Scottish Cup Final with Dunfermline.

However, Ferguson, who has played under Smith with club and country in the 2006/07 campaign, reckons his own gaffer's accomplishments are greater.

advertisementHe said: "As far as I'm concerned, Walter is the manager of the year. People might say I'm biased, but I think the facts speak for themselves.

"You just have to look at the job he did with Scotland in the first half of the season - including that fantastic win over France.

"And then look at what he has done at Rangers by coming in, steadying the ship and vastly improving our fortunes.

"Domestically, we have had great results and we were very close to getting past Osasuna in Europe. So, in my eyes, he should be named manager of the year."

Ferguson added: "No doubt some people will think this is a blinkered view, but I think his achievements are there for all to see.

"He came in here and provoked reactions from a lot of players. He has got the team playing better and we are more organised.

"Players are on their toes because they know they have to fight for their place and that's the way it should be.

"I'm excited about the future under Walter Smith. He will no doubt go out and sign some players in the summer and new faces, coupled with the talent we already have, is good news for Rangers."

Ferguson netted a superb winner in the 2-1 triumph over Hearts at Ibrox last weekend to edge the Gers two points further ahead of Aberdeen.

The Dons drew 2-2 with Hibernian up at Pittodrie and are now 10 points adrift of second place with just four matches left.

And Barry is determined to help his boyhood heroes secure second place in the table and ensure their qualification for the Champions League.

He said: "Our main goal at the moment is to clinch second place. We want to do that as quickly as possible. We have a good advantage over Aberdeen so it is in our own hands.

"The Champions League is where we want to play our football, so the sooner we gain qualification to it the better, as far as I am concerned."

Ferguson believes veteran defender Davie Weir agreeing a one-year extension to his current deal is a huge boost to Rangers.

Speaking in the Rangers News, he said: "We haven't lost a game since Walter and the boys came in and we have had a number of clean sheets, which have largely been down to Davie.

"He has been brilliant since he came here and has undoubtedly been a big influence on those around him.

"I'm delighted he'll be staying. He will be a really important man for us next season. Some people thought he was too old, but I never had any worries."

From tonight's Evening Times

He said it in the context of what Walter has did for Scotland, by bringing them to the top of a very difficult qualifying group, getting one over on France. He also said it in the context of Walter steadying the ship at Ibrox, and because over this period of time Rangers have won more points, clean sheets etc than Celtic.
BARRY FERGUSON believes Walter Smith should have been named Manager of the Year for leading Scotland to a brilliant start in our Euro 2008 qualification campaign AND revitalising Rangers.

The Scottish Managers and Coaches Association presented Celtic boss Gordon Strachan with the honour at the SPFA awards ceremony on Sunday night.

Strachan has guided the Hoops to the SPL title for the second season running and his club will also contest next month's Scottish Cup Final with Dunfermline.

However, Ferguson, who has played under Smith with club and country in the 2006/07 campaign, reckons his own gaffer's accomplishments are greater.

advertisementHe said: "As far as I'm concerned, Walter is the manager of the year. People might say I'm biased, but I think the facts speak for themselves.

"You just have to look at the job he did with Scotland in the first half of the season - including that fantastic win over France.

"And then look at what he has done at Rangers by coming in, steadying the ship and vastly improving our fortunes.

"Domestically, we have had great results and we were very close to getting past Osasuna in Europe. So, in my eyes, he should be named manager of the year."

Ferguson added: "No doubt some people will think this is a blinkered view, but I think his achievements are there for all to see.

"He came in here and provoked reactions from a lot of players. He has got the team playing better and we are more organised.

"Players are on their toes because they know they have to fight for their place and that's the way it should be.

"I'm excited about the future under Walter Smith. He will no doubt go out and sign some players in the summer and new faces, coupled with the talent we already have, is good news for Rangers."

Ferguson netted a superb winner in the 2-1 triumph over Hearts at Ibrox last weekend to edge the Gers two points further ahead of Aberdeen.

The Dons drew 2-2 with Hibernian up at Pittodrie and are now 10 points adrift of second place with just four matches left.

And Barry is determined to help his boyhood heroes secure second place in the table and ensure their qualification for the Champions League.

He said: "Our main goal at the moment is to clinch second place. We want to do that as quickly as possible. We have a good advantage over Aberdeen so it is in our own hands.

"The Champions League is where we want to play our football, so the sooner we gain qualification to it the better, as far as I am concerned."

Ferguson believes veteran defender Davie Weir agreeing a one-year extension to his current deal is a huge boost to Rangers.

Speaking in the Rangers News, he said: "We haven't lost a game since Walter and the boys came in and we have had a number of clean sheets, which have largely been down to Davie.

"He has been brilliant since he came here and has undoubtedly been a big influence on those around him.

"I'm delighted he'll be staying. He will be a really important man for us next season. Some people thought he was too old, but I never had any worries."

From tonight's Evening Times

Putting it in context, well done (tu)

Typical reactionary start to the thread without being told the full details, when you see his comments in full it's hard to argue with them.

you have said it since day 1 when Walter took over and you usually post about Davies every week

He makes a fine point for Walter's contributions to Scotland and the erm... slight.. turnaround for Rangers. Even if he doesn't believe it, publically he's showing his blue face and I commend him for it. I'd say he's being a Captain off the pitch as well as on, and (Frank)ly I still can't see why he gets so much schtick for being Captain.

Getting Scotland to the top of the Group of Death, and so far outperforming Strachan in the league.

Don't think Barry's far off to be honest.

National games has absolutely nothing to do with the MOTY award.

And Strachan had the League won in November and it was only a matter of time before they wrapped it up.

Walter has done well since he came (Picking up 29 out of 33 points) But we have went back to basics and have played some dull, Uninteresting, Boring football to achieve this.

Noone knows whether Celitc could have kicked on if needed, When you are so far ahead in the league it is hard to get motivated, Ask Lyon and PSV.

Strachan will probably lead Celtic to the Double and he got Celtic to the Last 16 of the Champions league. He deserves MOTY, Despite what Barry Ferguson says.

you have said it since day 1 when Walter took over and you usually post about Davies every week

Who me ? :craphead:

He makes a fine point for Walter's contributions to Scotland and the erm... slight.. turnaround for Rangers. Even if he doesn't believe it, publically he's showing his blue face and I commend him for it. I'd say he's being a Captain off the pitch as well as on, and (Frank)ly I still can't see why he gets so much schtick for being Captain.

With you there, m8. Taken in context, Barry's comments about Wattie are spot on. I just can't see some of the abuse he gets either. Bazza bleeds Blue and I will support the guy 'til the end of his days as a Ger. Aye he's got his faults, but who doesn't? He would go through a brick wall for this club, knows the mistake he made by leaving for the EPL, and is back where he belongs. 'Nuff said.

Frankie, What is wrong with having a bit of loyalty to the manager

Nearly choked when I read that one !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

With you there, m8. Taken in context, Barry's comments about Wattie are spot on. I just can't see some of the abuse he gets either. Bazza bleeds Blue and I will support the guy 'til the end of his days as a Ger. Aye he's got his faults, but who doesn't? He would go through a brick wall for this club, knows the mistake he made by leaving for the EPL, and is back where he belongs. 'Nuff said.

Whit shade of blue wiz it when he fecked off tae Blackburn...by the way I dont have anything against Barry just thought I would ask

Wee bit of a reptile actually just like his older brother :craphead: