The Mckay Problem

BrizOz

Indeed but none of them achieved the success that McKay did last year.

We've seen first hand (Caldwell over Cuellar a few years ago, Ryan Giggs & Bale winning PFA player of the year in event years) how pointless and obscure the decisions can be when it comes to these awards and that's why I'm not using it as a measuring stick for anything.

I'm not writing McKay off completely. He's obviously a decent player. I just don't think he deserves the amount of praise that he seems to get on here yet.

I don't think it's praise to be honest. We haven't seen enough of him to praise him but I think people are just genuinely keen to see what he can offer after nearly 4 years of Davis being the sole midfield creator in our team and limited holding players like Lee McCulloch stiffling our team.

If he is obviously a "decent player", why didn't he make the bench on saturday? McCulloch and Ortiz made it despite been given decent game time season and have continually coming up short

• Replies 89

I personally think there's a fair bit of complacency at Rangers with certain players, dropping them is a good boot up the arse.

There shouldn't be room for passengers at Rangers but there is. The 'old boys club' mentality provides a close dressing room and a real team ethic, but it also means moving on/dropping certain players is much harder than it should be.

in Scotland that close knit mentality is vital. if jig and broadfoot were first picks I would agree with you but the other 3 have earned there place. edu intact has been one of our best players this season.

if you want a look at what happens when you drop players every time they have a bad game look across the city.

I could make a case for dropping goian and jela BTW.

At the end of the day 99% of the posters here can only judge what he has done in games in our strip; his lack of touches of the ball, running about getting nowhere near ball or opponent, generally looking out of his depth has so far outweighed his two meaningful contributions.

The other factor is the confusing suggestions from posters down under where it has been suggested he should play --- left back,left midfield,right midfield,central midfield,supporting striker.

I know it is wrong to judge him for various reasons,new country,league, travel,tiredness,lack of opportunity etc but we all say what we see or think we see and so far from what I have seen of him in COMPETITIVE games he just does not look as if he can handle spl football.

Perhaps next spring when he has settled into the squad my quick gut judgement will have proved embarrassingly foolish and humble pie will be on the menu.We can only wait and see how he adapts.

At the end of the day 99% of the posters here can only judge what he has done in games in our strip; his lack of touches of the ball, running about getting nowhere near ball or opponent, generally looking out of his depth has so far outweighed his two meaningful contributions.

The other factor is the confusing suggestions from posters down under where it has been suggested he should play --- left back,left midfield,right midfield,central midfield,supporting striker.

I know it is wrong to judge him for various reasons,new country,league, travel,tiredness,lack of opportunity etc but we all say what we see or think we see and so far from what I have seen of him in COMPETITIVE games he just does not look as if he can handle spl football.

Perhaps next spring when he has settled into the squad my quick gut judgement will have proved embarrassingly foolish and humble pie will be on the menu.We can only wait and see how he adapts.

How many of the games has he played? 2? If these games where the barrometer then the whole side looked as if they couldn't handle the SPL as we've been truly dreadful of late.

Despite his size he did well in the rather robust A league from what we are told so I'm not that fussed about the rough and tumble of the SPL. Once again, I''m not saying he's a world beater but after 4/5 years of plodding midfielders in our side, I'm keen to see what he can bring to the side over a run of games in the middle of the park and not cameo appearances in vacant positions

Not a criticism of McKay , but who was his competition for Australian player of the year?

Cahill was injured a lot of that year, Lucas Neill is playing in UAE, and the rest of the team is hardly spectacular.

Certainly is!!

Australia must be shit eh!! top 20 world ranked team, must be crap eh!! players must be shite eh! pull your head in mate, are you aware that there are currently something like 200 Aussie players plying there trade through Europe, must be doing something right

wee question for you, who is the only british team Australia has failed to beat in the last 10 years, i'll give you a hint

Beat England

Beat Wales

Beat Scotland

Beat Republic of Potatoes

let me see who does that leave, oh Northern Ireland as we have not played and beat them yet in the last ten years!! Oh and another few facts for you, tell me who was the last team to beat Germany In germany, oh that's right the aussies,

Feck Australia must be a backwater and shit eh, same as McKay, peoples ignorance on here is bewildering, really is

To say Mckay is shite cause he comes from Oz just shows your ignorance mate, i'm looking forward to the next world cup in Brazil, will you.....

Certainly is!!

Australia must be shit eh!! top 20 world ranked team, must be crap eh!! players must be shite eh! pull your head in mate, are you aware that there are currently something like 200 Aussie players plying there trade through Europe, must be doing something right

wee question for you, who is the only british team Australia has failed to beat in the last 10 years, i'll give you a hint

Beat England

Beat Wales

Beat Scotland

let me see who does that leave, oh Northern Ireland as we have not played and beat them yet in the last ten years!! Oh and another few facts for you, tell me who was the last team to beat Germany In germany, oh that's right the aussies,

Feck Australia must be a backwater and shit eh, same as McKay, peoples ignorance on here is bewildering, really is

To say Mckay is shite cause he comes from Oz just shows your ignorance mate, i'm looking forward to the next world cup in Brazil, will you.....

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Talk about waving a red rag to a bull.

Certainly is!!

Beat England

Beat Wales

Beat Scotland

Simmer doon.

1) I never said Australia were shite. I simply said that in terms of individual names that could have won the player of the year, there's hardly more than a handful worth mentioning.

2) I never said that McKay was shit because he comes from Australia.

3) Calling me ignorant for things I didn't say is fairly ignorant, mate.

Reel your head in and stop trying to get offended.

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Talk about waving a red rag to a bull.

:praise::clap::lol:

very good mate!! just shits me when people run down aussie football, so i will admit i get a bit pissed off, anyhow on another note here is a current list of overseas aussies if anyone is interested

SURNAMEFIRSTD.O.B.AGECLUBCOUNTRYDIVISIONPOSITIONMOST RECENT STATUSGriffithsJoel21/08/7932Beijing Guoan (ACL)ChinaSuper League (1) Striker29/10/11 StartedGriffithsAdam21/08/7932Hangzhou GreentownChinaSuper League (1) Defender29/10/11 Used sub.HeffernanDean19/05/8031Liaoning HongyunChinaSuper League (1) Defender29/10/11 StartedSalleyJonas16/03/8229Chengdu BladesChinaSuper League (1) Midfielder29/10/11 StartedSantalabBrendon9/09/8229Chengdu BladesChinaSuper League (1) Striker16/10/11 Started, SCOREDDjulbicDino16/02/8328Shaanxi ChanbaChinaSuper League (1) Defender29/10/11 Used sub., SCOREDMilicevicLjubo13/02/8130Hajduk Split (Europa)Croatia1. HNL (1)Defender2/10/11 Started (Injury)LusticaSteven12/04/9120Hajduk Split (Europa)Croatia1. HNL (1)Midfielder21/10/11 Used sub.JuricTomi22/07/9120NK Lokomotiva ZagrebCroatia1. HNL (1)Striker28/10/11 Used sub., SCOREDInvincibileDanny31/03/7932Ermis AraippouCyprus1. Division (1)Midfielder30/10/11 Used sub.AndricopoulosCosta30/03/9120Anorthosis (Youth)Cyprus1. Division (1)Defender25/9/11 U21'sConwaySam1/01/9219FK Banik MostCzech Repub.2. Liga (2)Midfielder29/10/11 UsedBulutKerem2/03/9219FK Mlada Boleslav (Europa)Czech Repub.Czech Liga (1)Striker23/10/11 StartedCoeNathan1/06/8427SonderjyskeDenmarkSuperliga (1)Goalkeeper31/10/11 StartedMcGrathBrent18/06/9120Brondby IF (Europa)DenmarkSuperliga (1)Striker30/10/11 Unused sub.NixKyle21/01/8625GatesheadEnglandBlue Square (5)Midfielder22/10/11 StartedNemesMatthew2/04/8724SouthportEnglandBlue Square (5)Goalkeeper22/10/11 Unused sub.LindbergDoug27/03/8823Lincoln CityEnglandBlue Square (5)Goalkeeper29/8/11 Unused sub.MeredithJames5/04/8823York CityEnglandBlue Square (5)Midfielder22/10/11 StartedAustinMitchell3/04/9120Stalybridge CelticEnglandBlue Square Nth (6)Striker29/10/11 Used sub.BurnsLee17/07/8229DartfordEnglandBlue Square Sth (6)Striker25/10/11 StartedHukeShane2/10/8526Dover AthleticEnglandBlue Square Sth (6)Midfielder25/10/11 StartedTsolovosBilly11/01/9318EastleighEnglandBlue Square Sth (6)Defender29/10/11 Unused sub.KisnorboPatrick24/03/8130LeedsEnglandChampionship (2)Defender30/10/11 Used sub.GarciaRichard9/04/8130Hull CityEnglandChampionship (2)Striker (Injury - Knee)McDonaldScott21/08/8328MiddlesbroughEnglandChampionship (2)Striker29/10/11 Started JedinakMile3/08/8427Crystal PalaceEnglandChampionship (2)Midfielder29/10/11 Started FedericiAdam31/01/8526ReadingEnglandChampionship (2)Goalkeeper29/10/11 Started KilkennyNeil19/12/8525Bristol CityEnglandChampionship (2)Midfielder29/10/11 Started WilliamsRhys14/07/8823MiddlesbroughEnglandChampionship (2)Defender29/10/11 Started IrelandDaniel15/12/9020Coventry CityEnglandChampionship (2)Goalkeeper(Injury - Thigh)EdwardsCameron27/03/9219ReadingEnglandChampionship (2)Midfielder19/9/11 ReservesHigginsAndrew21/09/9318Portsmouth (Youth)EnglandChampionship (2)Midfielder30/10/11 YouthWilliamsAryn28/10/9318Burnley (Youth)EnglandChampionship (2)Defender28/10/11 YouthWilliamsRyan28/10/9318Portsmouth (Youth)EnglandChampionship (2)Striker30/10/11 YouthEdwardsRyan18/11/9317ReadingEnglandChampionship (2)Midfielder18/10/11 ReservesGrantAlex23/01/9417Portsmouth (Youth)EnglandChampionship (2)Defender30/10/11 YouthTombidesDylan8/03/9417West Ham (Youth)EnglandChampionship (2)Striker(Injury - Cancer treatment)AntelmiPatrick15/03/9417Portsmouth (Youth)EnglandChampionship (2)Striker30/10/11 YouthFitzharrisJordan15/04/9417Portsmouth (Youth)EnglandChampionship (2)Midfielder30/10/11 YouthGardikiotisDean9/09/9417Blackpool (Youth)EnglandChampionship (2)Goalkeeper1/10/11 YouthGardikiotisAlex9/09/9417Blackpool (Youth)EnglandChampionship (2)Midfielder1/10/11 YouthDownesAaron15/05/8526ChesterfieldEnglandLeague One (3)Defender29/10/11 Started WesolowskiJames25/08/8724Oldham AthleticEnglandLeague One (3)Midfielder29/10/11 Started CisakAlex19/05/8922Oldham AthleticEnglandLeague One (3)Goalkeeper29/10/11 Started WarrenMarc11/02/9219Sheffield UnitedEnglandLeague One (3)Defender11/10/11 ReservesWrightBailey28/07/9219Preston North End EnglandLeague One (3)Defender24/10/11 ReservesCansdell-SherriffShane10/11/8229Shrewsbury TownEnglandLeague Two (4)Defender29/10/11 Started YoungJamie25/08/8526AldershotEnglandLeague Two (4)Goalkeeper25/10/11 Unused sub. (Cup)LeachDaniel1/05/8625BarnetEnglandLeague Two (4)Defender29/10/11 Started SchwarzerMark6/10/7239Fulham (Europa)EnglandPremier League (1)Goalkeeper29/10/11 Started GrellaVince5/10/7932BlackburnEnglandPremier League (1)Midfielder24/9/11 Used sub.CahillTim6/12/7931EvertonEnglandPremier League (1)Midfielder26/10/11 Started (Cup)JonesBrad19/03/8229LiverpoolEnglandPremier League (1)GoalkeeperLoan returned June 2011HerdChris4/04/8922Aston Villa EnglandPremier League (1)Midfielder29/10/11 Started LowryShane12/06/8922Aston Villa EnglandPremier League (1)Defender11/10/11 ReservesUsaiSebastian28/02/9021BlackburnEnglandPremier League (1)GoalkeeperTransferred September 2011 (Injury - Ankle)InmanBradden10/12/9119Newcastle UnitedEnglandPremier League (1)Midfielder26/10/11 Reserves LuongoMassimo25/09/9219Tottenham (Spurs XI)EnglandPremier League (1)Midfielder19/10/11 Started (NextGen)CairaReece7/01/9318Aston Villa EnglandPremier League (1)Defender26/10/11 Used sub. (NextGen)GameiroCorey7/02/9318Fulham (Youth)EnglandPremier League (1)StrikerJuly 2011 - U20 World CupMaclarenJamie29/07/9318Blackburn (Youth)EnglandPremier League (1)Striker26/9/11 ReservesBairdAlex14/01/9417Newcastle United (Youth)EnglandPremier League (1)Goalkeeper15/10/11 YouthSmithBrad9/04/9417Liverpool (Youth)EnglandPremier League (1)Defender26/10/11 Reserves KingTom 20/07/9417Liverpool (Youth)EnglandPremier League (1)Defender14/10/11 YouthJacobLiam18/08/9417Manchester United (Yth)EnglandPremier League (1)Goalkeeper19/10/11 YouthBaccusKearyn5/09/9120Le Mans IIFranceCFA D (4)Midfielder9/10/11 Used sub.KruseRobbie5/10/8823Fortuna DusseldorfGermany2. Bundesliga (2)Striker30/10/11 StartedRukavytsyaNikita22/06/8724Hertha BerlinGermanyBundesliga (1)Striker29/10/11 Started LangerakMitchell22/08/8823Borussia Dortmund (ECL)GermanyBundesliga (1)Goalkeeper29/10/11 Unused sub.LeckieMatthew4/02/9120Borussia MonchengladbachGermanyBundesliga (1)Striker28/10/11 Reserves AminiMustafa20/04/9318Borussia Dortmund (ECL)GermanyBundesliga (1)MidfielderLoan to CC Mariners - 2011/12DaviesJulius Doe4/09/9417TSG 1899 Hoffenheim (Youth)GermanyBundesliga (1)Midfielder2/10/11 U19'sGeorgeffJames23/05/8328FC NeubrandenburgGermanyOberliga NOFV Nord (5)Striker23/10/11 Used sub.UrwinMike16/04/9021TuS Koblenz IIGermanyRegionalliga West (4)Striker30/10/11 StartedKonstantinidisBilly21/04/8625Pierikos FCGreeceFootball League (2)Midfielder*15/5/11 StartedTomarasChristos14/01/8922Eordiakos 2007GreeceFootball League 2 Sth (3)Striker*Released July 2011StambolzievRobert26/10/9021AO Proodeftiki NikeaGreeceFootball League 2 Sth (3)Striker*Transferred August 2011BurnsNathan7/05/8823AEK Athens (Europa)GreeceSuper League (1) Striker23/10/11 Unused sub.GovasAndreas21/07/8922AO KavalaGreeceSuper League (1) MidfielderClub relegation charges pending GiannouApostolis25/01/9021PAOKGreeceSuper League (1) Midfielder30/10/11 Used sub.DoddKarl13/11/8030TSW PegasusHong KongHKFA 1st Division (1)Defender23/10/11 StartedMilovanovicDane2/12/8921Sun Hei SCHong KongHKFA 1st Division (1)Defender22/10/11 StartedVekicNenad14/04/9021Tuen Mun SAHong KongHKFA 1st Division (1)Goalkeeper23/10/11 StartedMacuraSasa28/11/9119MTK Budapest HungaryNB II West (2)Midfielder12/10/11 Started (Cup)TanselKerim14/03/9318Ferencvarosi IIHungaryNB II West (2)DefenderTransferred July 2011BanicMarko29/07/9021Kaposvari Rakoczi IIHungaryNB III Drava (3)Defender23/10/11 Used sub. BrooksOscar6/09/9021Kaposvari Rakoczi IIHungaryNB III Drava (3)Defender16/10/11 Used sub.TurnerJack 3/03/9219Kaposvari Rakoczi IIHungaryNB III Drava (3)Midfielder16/10/11 Started KovacicAntun10/07/8130Churchill BrothersIndiaI League (1)Defender29/10/11 StartedStoreySimon5/06/8229Mohun Bagan IndiaI League (1)DefenderTransferred August 2011MatriccianiMichael15/03/8625Chirag UnitedIndiaI League (1)Midfielder28/10/11 Started, SCOREDOzbeyTolgey12/04/8625East Bengal (AFC Cup)IndiaI League (1)Striker29/10/11 StartedMayoraMatthew10/03/8625Southern SamityIndiaI-League 2nd division (2)Striker*Transferred July 2011MaguireJosh22/09/8031Semarang UnitedIndonesiaLiga Prima Indonesia (1)Midfielder*22/5/11 StartedGasparRobbie7/02/8130Persema MalangIndonesiaLiga Prima Indonesia (1)Striker*19/3/11 StartedAgiusFred2/02/8427Cendrawasih FCIndonesiaLiga Prima Indonesia (1)Striker*21/5/11 Started, SCOREDMitrovicSrecko19/02/8427PSM MakassarIndonesiaLiga Prima Indonesia (1)Midfielder*27/5/11 Started KarlovicMario29/05/8427Minangkabau FCIndonesiaLiga Prima Indonesia (1)Midfielder*21/5/11 Started, SCOREDWilkinsonDaniel1/01/8526Cendrawasih FCIndonesiaLiga Prima Indonesia (1)Defender*12/3/11 StartedMicevskiDavid25/02/8625Solo FCIndonesiaLiga Prima Indonesia (1)Midfielder*21/5/11 StartedBarisicAndrew22/03/8625Persebaya Surabaya 1927IndonesiaLiga Prima Indonesia (1)Striker*22/5/11 StartedVrteskiAleks 28/09/8823Solo FCIndonesiaLiga Prima Indonesia (1)Goalkeeper*21/5/11 StartedHeskethSteve15/12/8822Delta Putra SidoarjoIndonesiaLiga Prima Indonesia (1)Defender*7/5/11 Started (Injury)ModaffariNick25/11/9119A.C. Pisa 1909 Calcio ItalyLega Pro 1A (3)DefenderTransferred August 2011VieriMax1/09/7833A.C. PratoItalyLega Pro 1B (3)Striker23/10/11 StartedUcchinoAdrian4/10/9120FrosinoneItalyLega Pro 1B (3)Midfielder13/8/11 Started (Cup) (Injury - Gland. fever)StellaFrancesco25/07/9120USD Borgo A Buggiano 1920ItalyLega Pro 2A (4)Midfielder30/10/11 StartedEspositoChristian23/07/9021FC CatanzaroItalyLega Pro 2B (4)Striker30/10/11 Started, SCOREDValeriCarl14/08/8427SassuoloItalySerie B (2)Midfielder29/10/11 StartedCaccamoDaniel20/07/9120Vicenza Calcio (Youth)ItalySerie B (2)DefenderTransferred July 2011MarkelisTheo24/06/9219Vicenza Calcio (Youth)ItalySerie B (2)Midfielder(Injury - Knee)PoscolieroJacob11/04/9021Sandona Jessolo CalcioItalySerie D © (5)Midfielder30/4/11 Started (Last season)VillascusaMarc21/08/9120Cittanova InterpianaItalySerie D (I) (5)Goalkeeper(Injury - Shoulder)BosnarEddy29/04/8031Shimizu S-PulseJapanJ League (1)Defender23/10/11 StartedKennedyJoshua20/08/8229Nagoya Grampus (ACL)JapanJ League (1)Striker22/10/11 Started, SCOREDBrosqueAlex12/10/8328Shimizu S-PulseJapanJ League (1)Striker23/10/11 StartedSpiranovicMatthew27/06/8823Urawa RedsJapanJ League (1)Defender29/10/11 Unused sub. (Cup)NorthJade7/01/8229FC TokyoJapanJ2 League (2)Defender26/10/11 Unused sub.MilliganMark4/08/8526JEF UnitedJapanJ2 League (2)Midfielder30/10/11 StartedOgnenovskiSasa3/04/7932Seongham Ilhwa (ACL)Korea Rep.K-League (1)Defender30/10/11 Started, SCOREDFyfeIain3/04/8229Busan I'ParkKorea Rep.K-League (1)Defender30/10/11 Unused sub.CornthwaiteRobert25/10/8526Chunnan DragonsKorea Rep.K-League (1)Defender22/10/11 Started, REDDeVereLuke5/11/8922Gyeongham FCKorea Rep.K-League (1)Defender30/10/11 StartedRakicAndy1/12/8030FC Victoria RosportLuxembourgProm de Honneur (2)Midfielder21/9/11 Used sub.MarveggioRyan6/04/8823SC TelstarNetherlandsEerste Divisie (2)StrikerTransferred July 2011MarveggioAndrew22/04/9219SC TelstarNetherlandsEerste Divisie (2)MidfielderTransferred July 2011HolmanBrett27/03/8427AZ Alkmaar (Europa)NetherlandsEredivisie (1)Striker15/10/11 Started, SCORED (Injury - Groin)ZulloMichael11/09/8823FC UtrechtNetherlandsEredivisie (1)Striker30/10/11 StartedSarotaAdam28/12/8822FC UtrechtNetherlandsEredivisie (1)Midfielder30/10/11 Unused sub.HollandJames15/05/8922AZ Alkmaar (Europa)NetherlandsEredivisie (1)Midfielder31/10/11 YouthOarTommy10/12/9119FC UtrechtNetherlandsEredivisie (1)Striker30/10/11 Unused sub.SlefendorfasGeorge7/01/8328Canterbury UnitedNew ZealandPremiership (1)Striker23/10/11 Started, SCORED TWICEHolmesTyson9/11/8724Team WellingtonNew ZealandPremiership (1)Striker23/10/11 StartedPatterson-SewellCaleb20/05/8724Atletico Clube PortgualPortugalLiga de Honra (2)Goalkeeper30/10/11 StartedLuzAden15/06/9318CD Nacional (Youth)PortugalPrimeira Division (1)Midfielder15/10/11 YouthWilkshireLuke2/10/8130Dinamo MoscowRussiaPremier League (1)Midfielder30/10/11 StartedMcKayMatthew11/01/8328Glasgow RangersScotlandPremier League (1)Midfielder29/10/11 Unused sub. McGowanRyan15/08/8922Hearts (Europa)ScotlandPremier League (1)Midfielder23/10/11 Unused sub.MooyAaron15/09/8922St.MirrenScotlandPremier League (1)Midfielder(Injury - Back)McGowanDylan6/08/9120Hearts (Europa)ScotlandPremier League (1)DefenderLoan to Gold Coast United - 2011/12FeelyNick9/05/9219Celtic FC (Youth)ScotlandPremier League (1)Goalkeeper17/10/11 Unused sub. (NextGen)IrvineJackson7/03/9318Celtic FC (Youth)ScotlandPremier League (1)Midfielder29/10/11 YouthStynesJonathan1/04/9318Kilmarnock (Youth)ScotlandPremier League (1)Midfielder29/10/11 YouthBuschBeau16/03/8427Arbroath FCScotlandSecond Division (3)Defender29/10/11 StartedParkMatthew22/04/8823East FifeScotlandSecond Division (3)Midfielder29/10/11 StartedArcabaTomislav25/03/8625FK BSK BorcaSerbiaSuper Liga (1)Goalkeeper21/9/11 Started (Cup)JovanovicAleksandar4/08/8922FK Hajduk KulaSerbiaSuper Liga (1)Midfielder30/10/11 StartedSubaraGoran4/04/8724Singapore Armed ForcesSingaporeS.League (1)Midfielder31/10/11 Started McGoughMark14/03/8823Balestier KhalsaSingaporeS.League (1)Striker31/10/11 StartedCarney David30/11/8327AS AlcorconSpainSegunda Division (2)MidfielderTransferred October 2011Chipperfield Scott30/12/7535FC Basel (ECL)SwitzerlandSuper League (1) Midfielder29/10/11 Used sub. GulumErsan17/05/8724BesiktasTurkeySuper Lig (1)Defender(Injury - Knee)TroisiJames3/07/8823KayserisporTurkeySuper Lig (1)Striker30/10/11 Used sub.NeillLucas9/03/7833Al JaziraU.A.E.UFL (1)Defender28/10/11 StartedBrescianoMark11/02/8031Al NasrU.A.E.UFL (1)Midfielder29/10/11 StartedPortaRichard1/08/8328Al WaslU.A.E.UFL (1)Striker28/10/11 Used sub. SharpeChris21/09/8130Colorado Rapids (NACL)USAMLS (1) (Pool)Goalkeeper*1/9/11 ReservesTheissenJoel12/12/8525MPS Portland PhoenixUSAPDL (4)Midfielder*26/7/11 StartedBraudeLaurence26/05/8922MPS Portland PhoenixUSAPDL (4)Midfielder*26/7/11 StartedPullmanMark3/03/9120Bala TownWalesPremier League (1)Goalkeeper8/10/11 Unused sub.

Seen nothing that special from McKay to suggest he deserves a place in the team over established midfielders like Edu and Davis.

Sure he is probably better than McCulloch but just because he has a few decent games in the A-league doesn't mean he's good enough for the Rangers (tu)

Don't really fancy him on the left (happy to stick with Wylde) so he'll just have to be patient. If he works hard he'll get his chance. Got a feeling he's going to go down the Alan Gow route though, getting better with every game he doesn't play (tu).

Seen nothing that special from McKay to suggest he deserves a place in the team over established midfielders like Edu and Davis.

How can you judge this on 2 games? 2 games in which the rest of our side were complete pish. Do they not deserve a place either? Unreal.

Give the guy a chance then start to comment on his ability!

A fair assessment. The only thing that I would add to that is the frustration (from those that have seen him play at least 50 times) is that our midfield is not performing well and dictating games at the moment. We believe he will make a big difference. Those that are saying he should not be in are people who have seen him play a couple of games, but that's fine; you can only have an opinion on what you know.

To be fair I think for him and the other non regular first team players, it's hard to keep up a competitive edge not getting to play regularly. They have to rely on bounce games to stay match fit, I actually think that was Alexander's problem when he played in Hamburg. Although, a lot of fans don't like friendlies at least fringe players get a competitive game.

How can you judge this on 2 games? 2 games in which the rest of our side were complete pish. Do they not deserve a place either? Unreal.

Give the guy a chance then start to comment on his ability!

He'll get his chance don't worry. All I'm saying is he has not done anything so far to suggest he deserves a regular midfield slot. I would be quite happy for him to get a game here and there, but a sustained run in the side must be earned.

Sure he is probably better than McCulloch but just because he has a few decent games in the A-league doesn't mean he's good enough for the Rangers

Then we shouldn't have bought him going by that logic NessFTW.

I happen to think the argument about players going stale is a very valid one. They train all week to sit on a bench or not even get there. So when called upon they have little or no game time to get up to speed with the style and tempo of the play.

It may well be that for whatever reason McKay is not producing the goods in training and doesn't deserve a place in the team. However the job of the coaches and the manager is to get his confidence up as well as his footballing level to the point he is making their jobs impossible to leave him out.

After all it was they who watched him and saw enough of him that convinced them he could do a job in the Rangers 1st team.

i think the problem is his style of play, he loves to pass n move, work in tirangles(barca tactic). he is high energy, closing down the opposition high up the park.

sadly at the moment most of our squad are not gifted enough to play that style. also our tactics dont suit his strengths.

i do believe however he will evenchaly get a starting spot and become a very good player for us.

The player himself said in an interview yesterday that hes struggled with the constant travelling back and forward and hasn't been able to train/play as he would have liked but hopes that he can get his Rangers career going now cause he has no internationals for a while.

He will come good. Hasn't had a chance to show what he can do at all yet, and the travelling back to play for the socceroos wont have done him any good at all.

He is a far better player than Bedoya and Ortiz and I still reckon he will fight his way in to partner Davis in the middle of the park.

The player himself said in an interview yesterday that hes struggled with the constant travelling back and forward and hasn't been able to train/play as he would have liked but hopes that he can get his Rangers career going now cause he has no internationals for a while.

Don't let facts get in the way here, it won't wash. There has to be summit amiss with the way the club are handling him let it be confidence or whatever reason, at the end of the day something aint right

Sure he is probably better than McCulloch but just because he has a few decent games in the A-league doesn't mean he's good enough for the Rangers

Then we shouldn't have bought him going by that logic NessFTW.

I happen to think the argument about players going stale is a very valid one. They train all week to sit on a bench or not even get there. So when called upon they have little or no game time to get up to speed with the style and tempo of the play.

It may well be that for whatever reason McKay is not producing the goods in training and doesn't deserve a place in the team. However the job of the coaches and the manager is to get his confidence up as well as his footballing level to the point he is making their jobs impossible to leave him out.

After all it was they who watched him and saw enough of him that convinced them he could do a job in the Rangers 1st team.

Ortiz, Bedoya and McKay have basically thickened out the squad a wee bit, which was necessary. Now at least we're not completely fucked should we pick up any injuries in this area.

Out of the three, I have a feeling that McKay will make the most impact, but unless Davis is dropped or gets injured I think he'll find it hard to nail down a place in the starting eleven.

Ortiz, Bedoya and McKay have basically thickened out the squad a wee bit, which was necessary. Now at least we're not completely fucked should we pick up any injuries in this area.

Out of the three, I have a feeling that McKay will make the most impact, but unless Davis is dropped or gets injured I think he'll find it hard to nail down a place in the starting eleven.

That's my take on it as i do not rate Ortiz or Bedoya one little bit. McKay is in a catch 22 situation though. He has been travelling a lot and his career at Rangers was very stop start. This has meant prolonged spells in the stand or the bench as he struggles to play catch up with his team mates.

The problem i have is that the coaches should have ensured someone like McKay was ready to take over from Davis and not keep playing him through this terrible loss of form he is facing.

Out of the three he has the best chance of succeeding but i doubt it will be as a regular central midfielder in place of Davis.

McKay and Bedoya must be given an opportunity in their preferred positions. I don't think McCoist has found a sustainable response to the loss of Naismith. He got closer on Saturday in terms of formation. 2 up front is a non-starter as we need someone to link midfield and attack. However, Bedoya or Fleck should be given the opportunity in this role before the likes of Bendiksen, regardless how decent he may have played.

Aluko Davis Edu McKay

---Bedoya / Fleck----

-------Jelavic-------