What's happening with the strip?

Bobthemod

2 hours ago, Bobthemod said:

Does anyone have any news on if we are getting new strips or does it look like we are stuck for now? Itching for a new Gers kit but will not be lining the fat mans pockets! 

We're all waiting on an announcement from Whitney, then we can line his pockets

What is this obsession with having an orange kit?

I'm in favour of retaining our traditions of being a historically Protestant club while remaining open to all but I feel Orangeism has mainly left the mainstream and using symbolism such as the Union Flag is fine in my opinion but creating a direct link to the Orange Order seems questionable.

I have no problem with the moderate Orange Order members but I think there are some OTT elements and my own church actually frowns on membership of the Order.

I don't think our club needs to stoop to the levels of bigotry that the other club does as they imported bigotry into Scottish football as we were a non denominational side originally, although with mainly indiginous Protestant players but it was not until after World War 1 that the club became entirely Protestant after the arrival of Northern Irish shipyard workers that gravitated to the club due to proximity and the fact the club was seen as having a Protestant ethos and was a clear rival to Celtic due to existing indiginous support at the club and the Northern Irish fans were able to assimilate more easily with the Scottish fans at Rangers instead of the hostile Irish at Celtic.

I can understand that some people want an orange away kit as a way of showing that if Celtic can use their religious and ethnic identity excessively yet complain when we show any signs of British or Protestant tradition then we should just go ahead and do the same but I believe we should be showing we are of a better class and higher morality than the opposition.

Maintaining our identity and ethos is vital but not at the expense of making us seem as petty and antagonistic as our rivals.

6 hours ago, weeto said:

I'm in favour of retaining our traditions of being a historically Protestant club while remaining open to all but I feel Orangeism has mainly left the mainstream and using symbolism such as the Union Flag is fine in my opinion but creating a direct link to the Orange Order seems questionable.

I have no problem with the moderate Orange Order members but I think there are some OTT elements and my own church actually frowns on membership of the Order.

I don't think our club needs to stoop to the levels of bigotry that the other club does as they imported bigotry into Scottish football as we were a non denominational side originally, although with mainly indiginous Protestant players but it was not until after World War 1 that the club became entirely Protestant after the arrival of Northern Irish shipyard workers that gravitated to the club due to proximity and the fact the club was seen as having a Protestant ethos and was a clear rival to Celtic due to existing indiginous support at the club and the Northern Irish fans were able to assimilate more easily with the Scottish fans at Rangers instead of the hostile Irish at Celtic.

I can understand that some people want an orange away kit as a way of showing that if Celtic can use their religious and ethnic identity excessively yet complain when we show any signs of British or Protestant tradition then we should just go ahead and do the same but I believe we should be showing we are of a better class and higher morality than the opposition.

Maintaining our identity and ethos is vital but not at the expense of making us seem as petty and antagonistic as our rivals.

".....stoop to the levels of bigotry...".  Aye right, now fuck off!

6 hours ago, weeto said:

Take your hand wringing and fuck away off, again on here everything is the fault of the northern Irish protestant, do you think there would be a rangers football club if it wasn't for the northern Irish protestant, after ww1 and recently when a wee diddy team from northern Ireland tried there best to help out when every fucker was on the clubs back