Steven Gerrard MBE - New Manager

Wullie72

• Replies 8.5k
1 minute ago, KingKirk said:

I dont see him coming for the budget Warburton or pedro had combined mate why would he get out his bed for that when liverpool can sign a 17/18 year old for 10million+ I think there might be something in the investment talk.

I think it’s beung hugely exaggerated 

3 minutes ago, KingKirk said:

He can't be judged on football management either way

Nope but I'd hardly be convinced that he got the gig by either being Kings pal or because an investor said so.

Here's another side you could think of....Mark Allen may still have a few contacts in England and in particular at academy level and has heard of the strengths of Gerrard as a coach or man manager and decide to investigate further. 

Now I'm not saying that is the case either but I'd like to think we've done a wee bit of homework here.

Regarding a decent sized budget for Gerrard to work with, could be true, could be shite - I don't know what to expect from these lying bastards.

But I'll say this one thing only - if it's not a decent sized budget to compete now, then it never will be.

I think it's that simple.

1 minute ago, KingKirk said:

I dont see him coming for the budget Warburton or pedro had combined mate why would he get out his bed for that when liverpool can sign a 17/18 year old for 10million+ I think there might be something in the investment talk.

My only concern with that is why then choose Gerrard? If you’re about to get a sizeable chunk of investment would you not go out and get a brenda-esk manager? Or do they think its more about the standard of player than the manager?

26 minutes ago, ForeverAndEver said:

Get Paul Scholes then, he's better, Lampard is as good and a Rangers fan, even Gascoigne.

Get Henry, the best player to play in that league and won virtually everything he could, and being touted for the Arsenal job.

I genuinely hope that he does do good and make me look an even bigger mongo than I already am but I just can't see mate, can't see it going any different to this season.

Until we're actually good again, I don't see the profile stuff etc. being a positive, the bigger/better players probably is tbf, but only if they don't end up flops like Alves etc 

Uck you joost fuck right up

5 minutes ago, K.A.I said:

Same. That's almost as important as who he get's in which is a monumental task in itself.

One major issue I've got is that a lot of these guys who have proved time and time again they can't be trusted when it comes to the crunch - the likes of Tav, Fod, Windass infact fuck it, them all (I'm not gonna single some out because they are all bad as each other) get that boost when Gerrard comes in, they are all buzzing, pre-season training goes well and Gerrard who is aware of our position but maybe doesn't quite know the level of these guys and their failures see's a good response and can get taken in by it and strengthen's the squad accordingly ... and then before you know their true colours come out again and we've missed the rebuild boat to do a proper job and it's another season that's been wrote off.

That can't happen.

If Mark Allen has anything about him and is calling the shots when it comes the football side/transfer policy then he will be working on getting them all gone in preperation for Gerrard arriving and creating a blank canvas for him. 

I know we will have about 6-weeks and then there's the European qualifiers - but buy wisely and there's no reason why we can't assemble a new team to see off some shite from Cyprus, Latvia or wherever. 

Can you see any circumstances in which we can get rid of our already existing squad and replace it with a brand new and better eleven players?  How much investment would that take?  I'm guessing tens of millions.

Just now, K.A.I said:

Regarding a decent sized budget for Gerrard to work with, could be true, could be shite - I don't know what to expect from these lying bastards.

But I'll say this one thing only - if it's not a decent sized budget to compete now, then it never will be.

I think it's that simple.

The reason why I dont see him coming unless its a budget he can compete against the scum with is this simple.. Our expectations are always to win the league doesn't matter if you've spent 500k or 15million as our manager you'll be judged v the scum

3 minutes ago, WWTC said:

My only concern with that is why then choose Gerrard? If you’re about to get a sizeable chunk of investment would you not go out and get a brenda-esk manager? Or do they think its more about the standard of player than the manager?

We see across the city the benefits of having an experienced manage in Brendan Rodgers.  If we had big money why wouldn't we follow suit and get an experienced manager like that.  With or without money Gerrard doesn't make sense.  

Just now, KingKirk said:

The reason why I dont see him coming unless its a budget he can compete against the scum with is this simple.. Our expectations are always to win the league doesn't matter if you've spent 500k or 15million as our manager you'll be judged v the scum

Someone posted a comparison the other day between Brenda this season and that Norwegian guy they had. BR has done significantly worse this season than that guy did.

We could have won the league this season without even having to bother beating them.

6 minutes ago, TMB said:

Can you see any circumstances in which we can get rid of our already existing squad and replace it with a brand new and better eleven players?  How much investment would that take?  I'm guessing tens of millions.

Yes tens of millions. Correct.

That's what we need and what we are (rumoured to be) getting.

That's what it will take. 

If it was upto me and it was 25-million then I'd honestly spend a couple million of that getting rid of the ones who we can't command any money for and reinvest any savings from the freed-up wages into the pot in January to supplement the squad with what we might need to see us through.

Maybe utopian aye, it certainly won't be easy but it's what we need regardless as this is the true cost of years of signing sub-standard shite and appointing the wrong people. Literally is. That's the reality we face now and I've seen it coming a mile off. I think others see it now too.

4 minutes ago, WWTC said:

Up the standards of player and add SG to the mix if it works out thats porn for any potential investors. Gamble 100% but usually the people that throw cash at football clubs aint wired up right.

For balance if it goes wrong we have spunked a load of money away again on a very expensive gamble 

1 minute ago, theblueoysterbar said:

Someone posted a comparison the other day between Brenda this season and that Norwegian guy they had. BR has done significantly worse this season than that guy did.

We could have won the league this season without even having to bother beating them.

Murty is oot a job cause he shat it twice v them tho

1 minute ago, K.A.I said:

If it was upto me and it was 25-million then I'd honestly spend a couple million of that getting rid of the ones who we can't command any money for and reinvest any savings from the freed-up wages into the pot in January to supplement the squad with what we might need to see us through.

Maybe utopian aye, it certainly won't be easy but it's what we need regardless.

The last time I seen something like that happen is when Roman Abramovich first took over Chelsea.  Paid off all the guys who weren't good enough and supplied the funding t go and build a league winning team.  It would probably take about £25m to achieve that here in Scotland but I can't see that level of investment coming in.  

Just now, TMB said:

The last time I seen something like that happen is when Roman Abramovich first took over Chelsea.  Paid off all the guys who weren't good enough and supplied the funding t go and build a league winning team.  It would probably take about £25m to achieve that here in Scotland but I can't see that level of investment coming in.  

Me neither if I'm being honest but it's what we need to succeed. Whether we get it or not is a different matter.

Just now, KingKirk said:

Murty is oot a job cause he shat it twice v them tho

It's all ifs and buts. Had he not fucked up against shitey teams the team would surely have gone into those OFs with a better attitude. But the guy was a fucking car crash. If we'd been within two or three points of them he might have got away with it.

I think if Gerrard can get these teams done he'll get a better performance in OFs without having to do too much. Am hoping he'll do a lot though. 

3 minutes ago, K.A.I said:

Maybe utopian aye, it certainly won't be easy but it's what we need regardless as this is the true cost of years of signing sub-standard shite and appointing the wrong people. Literally is. That's the reality we face now and I've seen it coming a mile off. I think others see it now too.

The thing is, it would only have taken somewhere in the region of £3/4million for a decent manager & we would have won the league this year. Without question. Next season will be different mind you, as i expect the bheasts to invest this summer. 

Just now, KingKirk said:

I was in the bristol this afternoon and heard 2 guy talking about 90million been the figure thats gonna be invested on the 1st of june :lol:

FFS. In our current state that would be last throw of the dice stuff. What about the season after that and the ones after that?

8 minutes ago, scottyc06 said:

The thing is, it would only have taken somewhere in the region of £3/4million for a decent manager & we would have won the league this year. Without question. Next season will be different mind you, as i expect the bheasts to invest this summer. 

Probably correct but the fact we didn't and have had the season that we had takes me back to my mindrot thread the other day in that we went from a position where if we spent the money wisely and had a capable manager we could have won the league, but going down the route we went down and the season we've had the pendulum has swung so far across that this squad of players can't be fixed.

celtic and their failures against them are in their heads. They will never know what it's like to beat them as mentally they can't deal with them. They have totally fucked it and now we need a complete clear out in my opinion.

Beyond repair. Blank canvass now needed.

6 minutes ago, KingKirk said:

I was in the bristol this afternoon and heard 2 guy talking about 90million been the figure thats gonna be invested on the 1st of june :lol:

The same way there was a major investment to be announced on Monday. 

Sadly, i think its all made up pish. We will end up with more soft loans resulting in a transfer fund of around £10m (which includes any sales & season ticket money)

4 minutes ago, theblueoysterbar said:

FFS. In our current state that would be last throw of the dice stuff. What about the season after that and the ones after that?

Naw I mean into the club in general no  given to SG ffs:lol:

2 minutes ago, K.A.I said:

Probably correct but the fact we didn't and have had the season that we had takes me back to my mindrot thread the other in that we went from a position where if we spent the money wisely and had a capable manager we could have won the league, but going the route we down and the season we've now had the pendulum has swing so far across that this squad of players can't be fixed. celtic and their failures are in their heads. They will never know what it's like to beat them as mentally they can't deal with them. They totally fucked it and now we need a complete clear out in my opinion.

Beyond repair. Blank canvass now needed.

Sadly I think you're right tbh, this lot have absolutely shat it against them every time this season. Even when we were dominating them at Ibrox against 10 men we still came away with fuck all. 

Clear out is needed but can it be done in the time we have? No manager is ever going to get the time needed to start again just now. Again another example of how we have been fucked over, this should have happened on a number of occasions over the last 6 years.