Banning order over 'Famine song'

Polo

completely unbelievable. they sing what they like and the minute we sing something it ends up in court. what makes this even worse is that it was Rangers stewards that reported him so we now find Rangers employing people to stitch us up. thanks a lot mr. murray amd mr. bain. maybe we should get someone to take you lot to court when you next stick up the ticket prices after all in some cases it is daylight robbery

no surrender

Guest Andypendek

Listening to my radio tonight, I hear:

Two terrorists convicted of attack on Glasgow Airport last year;

Scummy ned convicted of shooting 11 year old in Liverpool, and;

Man convicted for singing in Kilmarnock.

There's no need for any comment, is there?

http://www.kilmarnockstandard.co.uk/ayrshi...81430-22348515/

Rangers fan guilty over singing Famine Song at Rugby Park

Nov 26 2008

SINGING just two lines of the notorious "Famine Song" amounts to racism, a court has ruled in a landmark case.

At Kilmarnock Sheriff Court on Wednesday, a 20-year-old Rangers fan was found guilty of committing a breach of the peace - aggravated by religious and racial prejudice - during Rangers 4-0 victory over Killie on November 9.

And procurator fiscal Les Brown successfully argued that by singing the lines "The famine’s over, why don’t you go home?" William Walls, of Glasgow, had associated himself with other, more offensive elements of the song.

Walls, who had denied the offence, was remanded in custody until December 16 for social enquiry and community service reports.

During the trial, Sheriff Iona McDonald heard that Walls was seen singing the chorus of the song and other offensive remarks during the game by stewards employed by Rangers FC.

Nicola Tait, 24, said that one of her tasks was to monitor the Rangers support for sectarian behaviour, including the singing of the "Famine Song".

"The ‘Famine Song’ is one song that is not tolerated by Rangers," she told the court.

Miss Tait – a club steward for the last three years – said that her instructions were to take the seat numbers of those guilty of sectarian behaviour and report them to Rangers for further action.

Walls, she said, was seen on a number of occasions in the first and second halves standing up and singing.

He did this particularly when other fans had stopped singing the song, in an effort to get them to continue.

"He was up and down out his seat every two minutes," said Miss Tait. "He had been asked to sit down a few times by another steward."

She had reported his seat number at half-time and later saw him being escorted up the stairs by another steward and two police officers.

Fellow Rangers steward Michael Rennie, 38, also identified Walls as singing the two best-known lines of the "Famine Song".

He was also "constantly in the aisle", singing the song.

Two friends of Walls, who were at the game denied that their pal had sung the "Famine Song" or made any other sectarian comments.

Both claimed that the "Famine Song" had been sung by only a "small minority" of Rangers fans – in contrast to the evidence of stewards that as many as 90 per cent of the Rangers support in Rugby Park’s Moffat stand had taken part.

Under cross-examination by Mr Brown, one defence witness – David Hopkins, 25, of Glasgow – admitted that he had previously been banned from Ibrox, Hampden and Celtic Park.

Addressing Sheriff McDonald, Mr Brown argued that while it was accepted that, at most, Walls had sung only two lines of the "Famine Song", it would be clear to the majority of those there that it was "telling people from Ireland to go home".

"That, in itself, is a racist sentiment," he said.

By contrast, Bob McDowall, defending, argued that that would require a "quantum leap" by the court.

"Evidence is led that one or two lines are used and it is implied that the rest of the song is meant," he said. "Says who?"

Mr McDowall described the case as "novel" and "a very serious matter".

"Ireland and the Irish are not mentioned in that stanza," he pointed out.

Earlier Sheriff McDonald rejected a defence submission that there was no case to answer on the ground that the description of Walls’s conduct given in evidence could not amount to a breach of the peace.

Finding Walls guilty, Sheriff McDonald told him that "given the whole context" his conduct was "likely to be generally alarming and very disturbing to others".

After the verdict, Mr Brown revealed that the accused’s record included previous convictions for a breach of the peace with a football aggravation and for an offence with racial aggravations.

I'm not a fan of the song but for Mr Walls to be deemed to be guilty of prejudice based on stuff he didn't sing - and indeed the Rangers support don't sing at games - seems to me bizarre and even dangerous.

Precisely. It is completely ridiculous and a miscarriage of justice. I can't imagine that this conviction would be upheld on appeal if this is the rationale the Sheriff based his decision on:

had associated himself with other, more offensive elements of the song

Disgraceful. When it gets to the stage that Rangers fans are being punished for something they didn't sing, things have gone too far.

I am sure it came out when he was found guilty that this guy was already banned form Ibrox, I wonder if that is why the stewards picked him out

It was said he had previous convictions involving sectarianism/racism. Don't know if he was banned from Ibrox though.

He needs to take this to the Euro courts.

How the fuck can it associate itself with a more offensive version when he didnt utter a word of the said "offensive" version.

WELCOME to NEW LABOUR & their fucked up PC correctness shit.

If you VOTED FOR THEM-Fuckin stop moaning about it as THIS IS WHAT YOU ALL VOTED FOR along with immigrants pouring in to the UK then jumping in front of you in the council housing lists, private lets ect.

The worst Gov ever IMHO & all you younger ones in your teens & twentys are going to be paying for their mistakes the rest of your life.

Im fuckin off so they're getting feck all fae me.

Nova Scotia here I come.

Shut the door behind me.

his conduct was "likely to be generally alarming and very disturbing to others".

I can well imagine all the bears around being alarmed at one of our own singing a song. I mean, come on now, singing at a fitba match - there'll be riots next.

Is it still ok to say boo? Mibbe if it's quietly, almost imperceptibly under your breath?

"the full extent and impact of the accused's conduct was put before the court."

He was acting like a complete arse - refusing to sit down and making a prick of himself.

He was NOT - repeat NOT convicted of singing TFS alone.

Please read the articles as they are - not as they are spun by timmy journalists.

What a load of bull shite :lol:

Were exactly in that article does it mention "the famine song" <cr>

Apart from the sensationalist head line from BBC Scotchland :rolleyes:

Heres the same article from newnow and it doesnt mention any famine song ?

http://www.teamtalk.com/football/story/0,1...4654496,00.html

William Walls, 20, was was also convicted of shouting sectarian abuse at a match against Kilmarnock at Rugby Park on November 9.

The supporter from Glasgow's Craigend area received two years probation at Kilmarnock Sheriff Court after being found guilty of breaching the peace.

It was stewards employed by Rangers who brought Walls' conduct to the attention of police.

Assistant Chief Constable John Nielson of Strathclyde Police said: "The force works closely with football clubs to eradicate any racist and/or sectarian behaviour in football - it will not be tolerated.

"Where any singing, chanting or other behaviour is perceived as being racist or sectarian in nature, we will take positive action.

"Over recent years, Strathclyde Police has made a significant number of arrests for sectarianism and racist behaviour at football matches and will continue to do so."

Kilmarnock district procurator fiscal Les Brown said: "The Crown Office and Procurator Fiscal Service takes all instances of racism and bigotry very seriously.

"We will prosecute in court all offences which are aggravated by racial or religious prejudice.

"In this case, we worked closely with both police officers who were present at Rugby Park and senior officers to ensure that the full extent and impact of the accused's conduct was put before the court."

When did the famine song become sectarian :lol: :lol:

The guy couldve been done for anything e.g shouting fuck the pope or what not.

The sheriff or judge mentioned it in court. Those damned tims are everywhere, eh?