Is Aids McGayday The Greatest Player in Europe?

I just thought i'd add this here as it is a very good read. (tu)

http://www.vanguardbears.co.uk/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=275&Itemid=26

Is Aids McGayday The Greatest Player in Europe?

Written by John McCrae

Wednesday, 07 April 2010

Having just watched the Barca v Gooners game and a dazzling 4 goal performance from Argentinian Lionel Messi,

I got to thinking "Will this youngster ever replace wee Aids as the best player in Europe?"

Having read the reports in the Scottish press over the last few years, I thought that I would never live to see any

player scale the heights that Aids has. Every match report contains details of his amazing ball skills, his trickery

and his deadly eye for goal. I have watched with interest every television game where he and his team, 666 FC*,

feature. I confess I am stunned at the ineptitude of the editors of these football programmes because they seem

to edit out all the bits where Aids takes on the opposition and runs rings round them. In fact, I'm sure it is some

media bias against wee Aids because the only clips they show are the ones where he runs rings round himself.

The same mhedia, of course, awarded all the Player of the Year awards to Aids in season 2007 - 2008. He scored

a staggering 7 goals. He narrowly missed winning the Eurovision Song Contest that year too. For Ireland, of course.

This was the year that Kris Boyd of Rangers scored 25 goals, including 2 in the League Cup Final and the decisive

goal in the penalty shoot out and another 2 in the Scottish Cup Final. Football, as we know, is about entertainment.

Scoring goals is not considered entertaining by the Scottish mhedia.

If I were Harry Hill, I would have Aids and Leo in a tv studio going at each other as I declare "McGayday or Messi?

Who is the better? There's only one way to find out. Fiiigghhhttt!"

Better you examine their records and make up your own mind.

McGayday

Age 24

Position - winger

Seasons in team 7

Club games played in league 179 - club goals scored in league 30: goals per game 0.16

Club games played in cup 33 - club goals scored in cup 4: goals per game 0.12

Club games played in Europe 33 - club goals scored in Europe 2: goals per game 0.06

International games played 32 - international goals scored 0

Total games played 277 - total goals scored 36: total goals per game 0.13

Honours

666 FC

Scottish Premier League (3) 2006, 2007, 2008

Scottish League Cup (2) 2006, 2009

Scottish Cup (2) 2005, 2007

Individual

SPFA Players' Player of the Year (2008)

SPFA Young Player of the Year (2008)

BBC Sportsound Player of the Year (2008)

Clydesdale Bank Young Player of the Year (2008)

Eircom Republic of Ireland Young Player of the Year (2009)

Who realistically would buy? Birmingham City.

Probable transfer fee? £3 million maximum.

Can he influence the outcome of a game? No.

Has he reached his peak? Yes, if you call it a peak.

Marital status? Rumoured to be in a relationship with team-mate Artur Borat.

Messi

Age 22

Position - winger

Seasons in team 6

Club games played in league 136 - club goals scored in league 80: goals per game 0.59

Club games played in cup 22 - club goals scored in cup 12: goals per game 0.55

Club games played in Europe 44 - club goals scored in Europe 27: goals per game 0.61

International games played 43 - international goals scored 13: goals per game 0.3

Total games played 246 - total goals scored 132: total goals per game 0.54

Honours

Barcelona

Spanish League (3): 200405, 200506, 200809

Spanish Cup: (1) 200809

Spanish Supercup (3): 2005, 2006, 2009

UEFA Champions League (2): 2005-06, 200809

UEFA Super Cup (1): 2009

FIFA Club World Cup (1): 2009

International

FIFA U-20 World Cup: 2005

Olympic Gold Medal: 2008

Individual

FIFA U-20 World Cup Top Scorer: 2005

FIFA U-20 World Cup Player of the Tournament: 2005

Copa América Young Player of the Tournament: 2007

U-21 European Footballer of the Year: 2007

Player of the Year of Argentina: 2005, 2007, 2009

FIFPro Special Young Player of the Year: 20062007, 20072008

FIFPro World Young Player of the Year: 20052006, 20062007, 20072008

World Soccer Young Player of the Year: 20052006, 20062007, 20072008

Premio Don Balón (Best Foreign Player in La Liga): 20062007, 20082009

EFE Trophy (Best Ibero-American Player in La Liga): 20062007, 20082009

FIFPro World XI: 20062007, 20072008, 20082009

UEFA Team of the Year: 20072008, 20082009

FIFA Team of the Year: 2008, 2009

UEFA Champions League Top Scorer: 20082009

Trofeo Alfredo Di Stéfano: 20082009

UEFA Club Forward of the Year: 20082009

UEFA Club Footballer of the Year: 20082009

LFP Best Player: 20082009

LFP Best Striker: 20082009

Onze d'Or: 2009

Ballon d'Or: 2009

World Soccer Player of the Year: 2009

FIFA Club World Cup Golden Ball: 2009

Toyota Award: 2009

FIFA World Player of the Year: 2009

FIFPro World Player of the Year: 200809

Who realistically would buy? Any team on the planet.

Probable transfer fee? £100 million minimum.

Can he influence the outcome of a game? Yes.

Has he reached his peak? Not yet.

Marital status? After romancing the Argentine model, Luciana Salazar, he is engaged to local girl Antonella Roccuzzo.

Or will Paddy McCourt surpass them both?

by John McCrae

*666 FC is the new name for Sellik FC. I feel 666 FC

is an acceptable substitute, to paraphrase the Good Book " ... the number of the beast is 666."

That is the most senile, dumbest, no brainer question I have ever seen in my over 50 years of playing and Managing in Football.Lionel Messi better than magical Aids Mcgreedy????? What kind of drugs are you on

man?

Don't you know that is why ra Sellic get robbed every week in the SPL?

It's a FIFA/UEFA/Ballon d'Or conspiracy to keep ra Sellic out of the Champions league because all these organisations have crowned Messie the best in Europe and the World and they don't want to admit they have made a massive mistake, which would become very evident if wee Aids got to show his talent on the world stage instead of just the magnificent splendour of the Paranoia Palace.

There has never been a player like Aids in the history of football and he is so fast of foot that nobody really sees what miracles he can do.

Wee Aids is better than Messi, Christiano Ronaldo and Rooney all put together......and what a smashing singer he is an aw.

eh? the media have been pretty scathing about McGeady's performances this year

and as far as I can tell, so have the tims

Your fucking at it?

"so far Aiden has been ra shellicks best player"

"Aiden makes celtic play and we he dosent celtic dont"

Some of the shite banded about

Aids the best player in Europe? reality check!! he's no even the best player in the SPL,..NO Scrub that, he's no even the best at Rancid F.C.... Nope ditch that he's no even the best on their subs bench,...Naw no even the best player on the subs bench if it was just him and Su Boak talking about the merits between waxing or shaving. :hump:

Come back to me when mcgeady scores four, never mind four against the gooners. Thats no a fair comparison Messi is the best atm in the world never mind in spain . Mcgeady will be lucky to get shortlisted for the player of the year haha..

:D

McGeady is a joy to behold. the way he takes the ball down the wing, steadfastly refusing to pass to his own team, taking on the defender... and running it out for a throw in.

Oh yes, he has class alright.