***The Official Lyon v Rangers Thread***

Muff

Think we're gonna have to get Prozac for some of the punters on here, need some time in the trench's so ye dae ! Headlines on Wednesday 10-man Rangers victory in France ! Nae danger ! :sherlock:

:sherlock:

Who gets sent off though? :sherlock:

• Replies 565

McGregor

Hutton Weir Ceullar Papac

McCulloch Hemdani Thomson Adam

Ferguson

Cousin

I truly hope that isn't the line-up, it was very similiar against Zeta and it nearly drove me to sleep.

That game started off my dissullionment with 'McCulloch the midfielder' and indeed to have Adam and McCulloch = a very slow midfield.

So, but knowing Walter I'll get some fruit in the house to keep me awake cause I wouldn't put it past him playing that team.

I would play:

McGregor

Hutton Weir Ceullar Papac

Hemdani

Naismith Thomson Ferguson Adam

McCulloch

McGregor

Hutton Weir Cuellar Papac

Hemdani

McCulloch Fergie Thomson Adam

Cousin

However iv noticed that Wattie like 2 bring in an unexpected change 4 big games so i wudn't b suprised if Novo or even Buffel got a start. If we are 2 do anythin in this group we really need a point against the Frogs.

Walter's team;

McGregor

Hutton Cuellar Weir Papac

Hemdani

Whittaker Ferguson Thomson McCulloch

Cousin

my team;

McGregor

Hutton Cuellar Weir Papac

Hemdani

Naismith Ferguson Adam Beasley

McCulloch

Pretty much agree with all of this for the Lyons game. Boyd as a sub when we NEED goals though.

My team would be:

----------------AM

Hutton-----Cuellar---Weir--------Papac

---------Barry----Hemdani

--------------Tommy

Novo----------Cousin-----------DMB

I say GO for it.

(just as well I'm not the boss eh :))

Lyon's team yesterday, usually play 4-3-3. Fred, Cris, Gregory Coupet and Patrick Muller are all out

Vercoutre

Clerc

Squillaci

Grosso

Santos

Juninho

Bodmer

Källström

Toulalan

Keita

Baros

Subs :

Hartock

Belhadj

Paillot

Réveillère

Benzema

Mounier

Govou

I think we should give ourselves a chance of winning and be a wee bit more positive. Against Lyon and Barcelona our system will be broken down no matter how cautious we are, so lets be sensible but positive.

---------------------------------------M'gregor----------------------------------------

Hutton---------------------Cuellar--------------Weir----------------Papac--------------

---------------------------------------Hemdani-------------------------------------------

Novo--------------Ferguson--------------------------M'culloch------------Beasley-----

--------------------------------------Cousin------------------------------------------------

We will need pace and some trickery to give them some problems. - hence Novo, beasley.

Since were getting ever closer to the Lyon game though i'd make a wee post about the line-up for the game

If I was Walter I would play a 4-4-1-1 formation

----------------------Mcgregor-------------------------

Hutton---------Cuellar------Weir---------------Papac

Burke---------Ferguson---Hemdani--------McCulloch

-----------------------Naismith-------------------------

------------------------Novo---------------------------

I fear for Rangers on Tuesday in the left back position, i know the big guy is a center back but he just canne play football at left back

I was shocked by Whittaker's display against Motherwell, we should be playing alot better than he has been over the past couple of weeks and i think we should play wither Burke wide right because he is probably best in that position, or play wee Novo wide right and play Cousin/Boyd as a target man incase we decide to play in Raymond Domenech's words the good auld "Long ball game"

Any better idea's please feel free to add

I would have Burke nowhere near the squad, I don't think Naismith is up to this level and I don't think McCulloch is subtle enough to play in europe. I would play Novo on the right with Cousin up front but I think we all know the team Walter will play from the start with Whittaker/Adam, Thomson and Cousin replacing Burke Naismith and Novo in your selection.

This is how I'd line-up. Maybe McCulloch and Beasley could switch?

____________McGregor____________

Hutton____Cuellar____Weir____Papac

_____________Hemdani____________

McCulloch_____Ferguson_____Beasley

_____________Naismith____________

______________Cousin_____________

I have posted the crazy side I'd pick.

I reckon though, that Smith will go:

------------------SM

Hutton------Cuellar----Weir-----Papac

--------Hemdani---Barry---Thomson

LM-------------------------------------Adam

-----------------Cousin/Boyd

------------------SM

I sincerely hope not. It would make me very sad.

------------------SM

Is that 12 players were playing with boyd n cousin shadowing each other so the ref thinks there one player? haha .........ill get my coat

No-one expected Adam to start against Stuttgart, so to be honest I ain't got a clue what WS will pick, but as Lyon are a playing team I would go with this.

-------------------------McGregor------------------------------

Hutton--------Cuellar-------------Weir---------Papa---------

------------------------Hemdani------------------------------

Beasley-------Ferguson------------Adam--------McCulloch

--------------------------Novo-----------------------------

If JCD is fit to play, then replace Novo with JCD, on the bench would be Naismith, Boyd, Faye, Burke, Carrol, Webster (if now fit) can't think of who else, I'm not even sure if Cousin is fit (I thought he was also carrying an injury).

It sure is, PIB, its on Sky Sports 2

Cheers, I guess I'll be listening to it on the radio then as I don't have sky!! :craphead:

It's also on stv

Why don't you rub it in, why don't you! :D

I'm in the South East of England and don't get STV, get BBC Scotland, Setanta, Rangers TV and those other Eurosport channels but no STV. :(

Can you not go to a boozer and watch it mate?

I was thinking that, but the boozers down here will be showing the English teams. :(

I know one thing though, Buffel, Webster and Burke won't be involved in the game as they've been named in the reserve squad against Aberdeen.