responsilities of our 'coaching staff'

bluesbro1976

Just a wee sub topic, moving on from GOAT's thread on barrie mckay.

Having watch rangers trainn in the west of scotland cricket ground, jordanhill school etc, I often go on about how poor and inadequate our coaching staff are.

I was younger then, but saw then, as I see now that our coaching staff have very little input into the training methods, technical drills, or overall development of a player to improve his technique on the ballm )eah we have nutrionists, fitness coaches, all doing probably a good job. My real question is, what do they actually do (durrant and mcdowell)??

I have said preeviously, that signing mcdowell from across the city was seen as a bit of a coup, a bit of two fingrers up at you septic. But after what threee/four years, can anyone identify a player that he has either taken or been given credit for developing?

Now, as a coach myself, you have to work on technical skills, skills that seem to be 'brushed' over in scottish football. For me there seems a point, probably from under 12's to u18'sn that coaches help develop any raw talent. It seems that after this, we, nort jus rangers, but scotland as a footballing nation, generally, and I mean generally, do nort seem to have the coaches to pick up from where any good work was done on the kids coming through.

As part of rtheir coaching badges, I still believe it is the case thatunder eufa pro licence, coaches are required inyear two, to visit two foreign clubs for a week to look at how their coaching works.

I would like to know where ours went.

Added to this, when you have such a short day at auchenhowie, by the time you watch dvd of prev match, and go and loosen up, there is very little time to 'coach and develop' any talent. Therefore, do we really need to be looking at a more detailed and structured coaching regime. ??

People on the continent call it football practice, we call irt football training. Perfect practice makes perfect.