Warburton, Weir & McParland Statement

Guest Lloyd72

6 minutes ago, Smile said:

You have to also ask why a board would endorse this signing as well.

Was a panic buy, guy was on trial with us for weeks before it when Warburton was pictured having lunch with Mariappa and trying to get Lescott to sign, Senderos was his 3rd option at least, possibly lower.

Only signed him when he realised nobody else was coming.

2 minutes ago, Lance1697 said:

Was a panic buy, guy was on trial with us for weeks before it when Warburton was pictured having lunch with Mariappa and trying to get Lescott to sign, Senderos was his 3rd option at least, possibly lower.

He's a weird one and has a good career with some good/great clubs how he's managed it astounds me.

Just now, Smile said:

He's a weird one and has a good career with some good/great clubs how he's managed it astounds me.

Got away with it at Arsenal for a good while, had a very good team around him but aye some of the clubs he's played for is incredible for such a shit player lol

Must do something in training with these clubs which he doesn't do on match days, we see him 90 minutes a week (if he plays) they see him day in day out.

4 minutes ago, Lance1697 said:

If that's true, then MW wasn't getting the backing from the board they said they'd give him. Makes me wonder how many of the team were MW's 1st choice signings and how many 2nd and 3rd choices.

16 minutes ago, Smile said:

You have to also ask why a board would endorse this signing as well.

They trusted the manager after he had apparantely watched him in his few weeks trial.

More the fool them for trusting a manager a spotty 18 year old could see was out his depth after the poor end to the season and cup final collapse.

Just now, Sweetheart said:

If that's true, then MW wasn't getting the backing from the board they said they'd give him. Makes me wonder how many of the team were MW's 1st choice signings and how many 2nd and 3rd choices.

Looking at it like that then that's a fair point aye

He was definitely pictured with Mariappa, the Crystal Palace defender. He was 29 im sure at the time and was available on a free, sure Warburton would rather him over Senderos or even Lescott.

Probably never find out but aye would be interesting to know how many of them were his first choices, can't imagine he went out in the summer with the intention of signing Hill/Senderos as his 2 main CBs

3 minutes ago, Sweetheart said:

Whit?

The board backed him, those players choose to go elsewhere ffs. Lescott fucked his medical with his knee and Mariappa choose more money from a EPL side.

It was only the summer....it's really not hard to remember what actually happened

2 minutes ago, The Godfather said:

Whit?

The board backed him, those players choose to go elsewhere ffs. Lescott fucked his medical with his knee and Mariappa choose more money from a EPL side.

It was only the summer....it's really not hard to remember what actually happened

All of them are freebies though, all on 10-15k a week probably aye but not a penny spent to get any of them.

Whether that was the board not giving him the money and he was forced to look at them or he decided to spend the money elsewhere (Garner) we'll probably not find out now.

3 minutes ago, Lance1697 said:

Looking at it like that then that's a fair point aye

He was definitely pictured with Mariappa, the Crystal Palace defender. He was 29 im sure at the time and was available on a free, sure Warburton would rather him over Senderos or even Lescott.

Probably never find out but aye would be interesting to know how many of them were his first choices, can't imagine he went out in the summer with the intention of signing Hill/Senderos as his 2 main CBs

We probably will never find out, but I foresee a clean out in the next transfer window.

Just now, Lance1697 said:

All of them are freebies though, all on 10-15k a week probably aye but not a penny spent to get any of them.

Whether that was the board not giving him the money and he was forced to look at them or he decided to spend the money elsewhere (Garner) we'll probably not find out now.

Erm again whit?!?

Lescott was on a hefty contract at Villa and Mariappa would have been on a fair whack to int he EPL. 

Facts are terms were agreed with Lescott meaning the board BACKED Mark but Lescott failed the medical.

Mariappa choose more money with a club that can pay players 4 or 5 times what we can.

The club made the money avaiable to bring in the players Warburton identified and Senderos was one of them. 

Mark fucked it, that's the real issue here. FOlk would rather spout pish about the board though because they can't take their hate tainted specs off for a minute and actually look at what happened. 

10 minutes ago, plumbGER said:

They trusted the manager after he had apparantely watched him in his few weeks trial.

More the fool them for trusting a manager a spotty 18 year old could see was out his depth after the poor end to the season and cup final collapse.

He's fucking shite he should really have had a similar career to a Garry Kenneth how he's pulled of the career he's had i will never work out.

The guys a better Magician than Warburton.

5 minutes ago, The Godfather said:

Erm again whit?!?

Lescott was on a hefty contract at Villa and Mariappa would have been on a fair whack to int he EPL. 

Facts are terms were agreed with Lescott meaning the board BACKED Mark but Lescott failed the medical.

Mariappa choose more money with a club that can pay players 4 or 5 times what we can.

The club made the money avaiable to bring in the players Warburton identified and Senderos was one of them. 

Mark fucked it, that's the real issue here. FOlk would rather spout pish about the board though because they can't take their hate tainted specs off for a minute and actually look at what happened. 

Warburton's signings were fucking shocking I agree, not 1 of them has actually made a big difference to the team (Hyndman aside but he's played like 4 games)

Just looking it from the other side....was he forced to go for out of contract injury prone players like Hill, Lescott, Senderos, Mariappa, Kranjcar etc because of the board not giving him the money he expected or were they the players he identified as being what he needed and the moves just didn't happen for various reasons...

Either way his signings were rotten

6 minutes ago, Lance1697 said:

Warburton's signings were fucking shocking I agree, not 1 of them has actually made a big difference to the team (Hyndman aside but he's played like 4 games)

Just looking it from the other side....was he forced to go for out of contract injury prone players like Hill, Lescott, Senderos, Mariappa, Kranjcar etc because of the board not giving him the money he expected or were they the players he identified as being what he needed and the moves just didn't happen for various reasons...

Either way his signings were rotten

He wasn't forced no. Where are you getting that from? Care to show us any evidence of that?

He spent shy of £3 million on fees and millions more on players like Barton, Niko, Rossiter, Dodoo and so on. Those were HIS players, those were HIS targets.

The board backed him to a tune that should have seen us comfortably finishing second. 

Honest to fuck man, the manager was a clown who made an arse of it and pissed millions up against a wall, "Aye but the board didnae back him wi his first choices..." 

:britney:

10 minutes ago, Sweetheart said:

Who else was available at the time that wanted to play for Rangers? I thought Frank was suppose to be the best in the business when scouting

It was their job to find those players within the budget that could do the job. Just taking players for the sake of it is bad management

1 minute ago, The Godfather said:

He wasn't forced no. Where are you getting that from? Care to show us any evidence of that?

He spent shy of £3 million on fees and millions more on players like Barton, Niko, Rossiter, Dodoo and so on. Those were HIS players, those were HIS targets.

The board backed him to a tune that should have seen us comfortably finishing second. 

Honest to fuck man, the manager was a clown who made an arse of it and pissed millions up against a wall, "Aye but the board didnae back him wi his first choices..." 

:britney:

Main bit of evidence would be Mariappa, obviously a higher target than Senderos was but in the end we settled for Senderos.

Barton/Kranjcar/Hill/Senderos, all go against Warburton's past signings at Rangers & at Brentford of signing young players and selling them on. Dodoo, Rossiter, Windass, Crooks were all the type of players he usually signs.

He did spend a bit of money on fees/wages I completely agree, not excusing him the slightest but Mariappa was the one we knew about because he was pictured with him, there will have been others. 

The board did back him enough to comfortably finish 2nd though, 100%. 

2 minutes ago, OhW said:

I assume he thought we were getting better 'value' by signing free players on high wages, as opposed to getting players on low wages + transfer fee.

For example, if you had £780,000 to spend, would you rather spend it on:

a) A £15,000-a-week player signed on a free or

b) Pay a £520,000 transfer fee for a player and pay him £5000-a-week?

A simplistic example I know. Doesn't take agent/signing on fees into account. I think that was Warburton's thinking behind the strategy though. I agree the signings were terrible.

Aye possibly, very risky though. Chances are if a players available on a free he's either shit, older, injury prone or somebody who hasn't hit their full potential. Offering them a high wage is a recipe for disaster. 

7 minutes ago, Lance1697 said:

Main bit of evidence would be Mariappa, obviously a higher target than Senderos was but in the end we settled for Senderos.

Barton/Kranjcar/Hill/Senderos, all go against Warburton's past signings at Rangers & at Brentford of signing young players and selling them on. Dodoo, Rossiter, Windass, Crooks were all the type of players he usually signs.

He did spend a bit of money on fees/wages I completely agree, not excusing him the slightest but Mariappa was the one we knew about because he was pictured with him, there will have been others. 

The board did back him enough to comfortably finish 2nd though, 100%. 

Mariappa who we spoke to but who choose to stay in the EPL earning EPL wages.....What were you expecting? The board to offer him £25 plus grand a week...wake up ffs. That's not the board not backing the manager that’s the player choosing to stay in England earning more money. We settled on Senderos because Mark and his team identified him as a target, it’s as simple as that.

We can’t compete with teams down south but that is the market Mark choose to spunk all our money on meaning we were paying premium prices for guys like Garner who couldn’t score in a brothel.

You say he was backed enough to finish second so what exactly is your point here Lance? Warburton was given funds to get the players he wanted….why would he be speaking to Mariappa if he didn’t? You are using that as a stick to beat the board with just because the player choose to stay in England earining more money than we could ever afford. That’s a stupid way to look at it.

3 minutes ago, The Godfather said:

Mariappa who we spoke to but who choose to stay in the EPL earning EPL wages.....What were you expecting? The board to offer him £25 plus grand a week...wake up ffs. That's not the board not backing the manager that’s the player choosing to stay in England earning more money. We settled on Senderos because Mark and his team identified him as a target, it’s as simple as that.

We can’t compete with teams down south but that is the market Mark choose to spunk all our money on meaning we were paying premium prices for guys like Garner who couldn’t score in a brothel.

You say he was backed enough to finish second so what exactly is your point here Lance? Warburton was given funds to get the players he wanted….why would he be speaking to Mariappa if he didn’t? You are using that as a stick to beat the board with just because the player choose to stay in England earining more money than we could ever afford. That’s a stupid way to look at it.

He identified Senderos as a target aye after Mariappa...Hill...Lescott and whoever else we were in talks with....he settled for Senderos otherwise we'd have signed the guy weeks before.

His problem, as you said was focusing on an overinflated english market aye, paying far over the odds for some players but some of the signings he done weren't who he usually went for.

He's a stubborn bastard as we've seen all season, he has his ways and sticks with them, all they older out of contract players aren't his usual type. From a guy who plays 1 formation all season, ignores criticism, ignores calls to drop players and to do anything different, to start signing players like that is confusing as fuck

The point was answering somebody above, I don't believe he got his first targets, not blaming the board for all of it, he wasted money on Garner especially but he settled for players.

2 minutes ago, Lance1697 said:

The point was answering somebody above, I don't believe he got his first targets, not blaming the board for all of it, he wasted money on Garner especially but he settled for players.

Yeah but saying he didn’t get his first targets is usually seen as a dig at the board when in actual fact the board backed him. Mariappa might have been his top target but it was down to the player wanting to stay down south earning more money as to why he didn’t come here….that is always a very likely outcome when shopping in that market yet Mark didn’t have a very good back up plan at all. That’s poor management and recruitment from his side.

He spent half a million on MOH then proceeded to not play him….that sums him up.

Just now, The Godfather said:

Yeah but saying he didn’t get his first targets is usually seen as a dig at the board when in actual fact the board backed him. Mariappa might have been his top target but it was down to the player wanting to stay down south earning more money as to why he didn’t come here….that is always a very likely outcome when shopping in that market yet Mark didn’t have a very good back up plan at all. That’s poor management and recruitment from his side.

He spent half a million on MOH then proceeded to not play him….that sums him up.

Aye saying that usually is a dig at the board, wasn't meant that way but for various reasons he didn't get his first targets. 

Mariappa was never coming, not the boards fault but was an example of him not getting what he thought he needed/wanted.

He's never had a backup plan for anything, transfers were just the start of him not having a plan B but think you'll hear him come out when all this resignation business is sorted and blame the board for forcing him to go down the route of older, out of contract players. Barton was signed for Season Ticket sales, the rest were him just taking what he could get.

Garner sums him up for me tbh, a square peg in a round hole if you've ever seen one, guy scored 25 goals upfront for Preston in a 4-4-2, we bring him up and stick him upfront himself and wonder why he's not scoring. 

O'hallaron is another example, Windass being another, was played almost upfront for Stanley but we stick him in CM and wonder why he's struggling...