The problem is pure and simply financial

BlueBearz1990

5 hours ago, K.A.I said:

I don't want to be a second force, your missing my point.

Do I want to be out of Europe first hurdle, no chance in the cups, sitting midtable, not being able to win 3 games in a row in Scotland and at best a slug with Aberdeen for second place ..

Or do I want to be guaranteed second place, qualify for the group stages of the Europa and maybe win a cup.

Both options don't include winning a title, but one is a much better position to be in and can lead to being able to build upon for a proper title challenge if this scummy board ever get some ambition.

That's the point I'm trying to make that some folk purposely ignore. 

You get no prizes being second.

It makes you a loser.

It makes you a sheep shagger.

It makes you get pumped out of the worst European competition every season.

I give you McKiness and the sheep shaggers, on a good day!

• Replies 127

6 minutes ago, Blue Avenger said:

You get no prizes being second.

It makes you a loser.

It makes you a sheep shagger.

It makes you get pumped out of the worst European competition every season.

I give you McKiness and the sheep shaggers, on a good day!

Point missed well and truly 

so we don't make moves to guarantee second and qualify for Europa league just because we can't win the title? Just stay mid table instead ? You any idea how mental that honestly sounds 

Not read this thread, but the problem is more than financially, it is how the finances have been spent, 8m+ worth of players on the park today, did it look like that? We spent double what celtic have spent, we have a bigger wage budget than 7/8 teams have transfer budget combined do, and also factor in that Pedro is on a pretty penny, it’s grim reading. There needs to be more authority in Rangers and more money put to scouting systems - I mean ffs, Morelos our best signing was a suggestion from our first team coach.

The problem is bigger than just finances but money being spent the right way is the biggest factor. 2.7m on Pena? Fucking hell.

1 hour ago, Blue Avenger said:

McKinnes?!

Stay of the crack pipe ffs. We've had enough spineless cunts around our team to last us a century.

Oh and I don't miss the irony on the sheep having a vastly superior budget than Motherwell who run on two bob and oh dear look what happened. Oh and who were that all star  European team who pumped them out of the qualifiers, like they get every year?

A bigger fucking bottle merchant than McKay and a boring bastard into the bargain who makes the dead look alive. 

He just loves his sheep.

Yes, just what we fucking need.

If I was being brutally honest, I'd say if ever one of us was needing to stay off a crack pipe, it'd be you. No offence, ya mad raving lunatic :lol:

Money is a factor, but it's not everything. There are other things we could be looking at, things we might have to be looking at instead of spending.

Graeme Murty got our best result against them in the last year a couple weeks into the caretaker job, and at their midden too.

If GM can do that with a bunch of players he didn't buy and hadn't worked with for that long, why can't Pedro offer anything approaching a similar performance at Ibrox? With a team he's had for 6 months that he's bought 10-11 players for?

1 hour ago, theblueoysterbar said:

Money is a factor, but it's not everything. There are other things we could be looking at, things we might have to be looking at instead of spending.

Graeme Murty got our best result against them in the last year a couple weeks into the caretaker job, and at their midden too.

If GM can do that with a bunch of players he didn't buy and hadn't worked with for that long, why can't Pedro offer anything approaching a similar performance at Ibrox? With a team he's had for 6 months that he's bought 10-11 players for?

Pedro isn't the man for the job. It was clear after Progres 

4 hours ago, theblueoysterbar said:

They were all over the place that day, arguably their worst performance of the season and even then the best we could manage was a draw thanks to a Clint Hill goal in the dying minutes.

Much like today, poor finishing from them saved us from a pumping.

9 minutes ago, LaudrupsPatrickBoots said:

They were all over the place that day, arguably their worst performance of the season and even then the best we could manage was a draw thanks to a Clint Hill goal in the dying minutes.

Much like today, poor finishing from them saved us from a pumping.

I don't accept that the reason we got a half decent result that day was just because they were having a bad day.

6 hours ago, WGOH said:

it is how the finances have been spent, 8m+ worth of players on the park today, did it look like that? We spent double what celtic have spent,

The team celtic put out on Saturday is worth a lot more than that of Rangers.  Saturdays result reflected that since the team that cost twice as much to build got the result.  I had a quick google as to what that celtic team actually cost to put together:  celtic spent £4m fees on guys like Brown, Sinclair, and Simunovic - That's over £12m on those 3 players alone.  Boyata and Armstrong cost them around £1.5m each.  They didn't pay for Roberts but Man City spent over £10m for him before loaning him out.  How much did they spend on Rogic and Griffiths? 

At this moment we all see that serious cash is needed to close this gap.. their first 11 is on a par with our strongest 11 but they have a bench that changes games where we don't.

Extra sponsorship on our shirts would bring in extra. Bloody sell the naming rights for the ground for millions a season,increase season tickets by £50 and bring in another £2.5m or so,Find an Arab who shits fifty's to buy into us lol.

8 hours ago, WGOH said:

Not read this thread, but the problem is more than financially, it is how the finances have been spent, 8m+ worth of players on the park today, did it look like that? We spent double what celtic have spent, we have a bigger wage budget than 7/8 teams have transfer budget combined do, and also factor in that Pedro is on a pretty penny, it’s grim reading. There needs to be more authority in Rangers and more money put to scouting systems - I mean ffs, Morelos our best signing was a suggestion from our first team coach.

The problem is bigger than just finances but money being spent the right way is the biggest factor. 2.7m on Pena? Fucking hell.

Your right it is more than financially, its about mentality. That squad shits it from the tims when they come. They let them run the show in our own backyard, blowing their nose on blue paper, wiping snot on the corner flag, trying to tie scarfs on the posts again, goading the fans, firing flairs at our keeper,  knowing our banners and having one ready to reply with making us look like cunts. They are embarassing us, and as a supporter its fucking disgusting to know your team wont/cant fight your corner and shut them up. 

Totally victimised on and off the pitch, the players and spineless board should be ashamed. 

See what dignified silence buys you in Scottish football? A ticket to irrelevance and being made a complete cunt of. 

I do largely agree to be honest. A common argument is that the tims haven`t exactly paid ground-breaking fees, although fees for Ntcham, Simunovic and Sinclair have obviously been pretty hefty. However, they`ve spent a heck of a lot to get to that team today when you factor in all of what they`ve paid in total even on players who were pish. Its inevitable that not every signing will work out but what you usually find is that when you have a large turnover of players you sieve through to get a good side, discarding the poor signings along the way. This is a process we haven`t really had as were in a race against time and I think its unfair to say well Griffiths, Armstrong, Lustig cost x amount which we`ve similarly paid for y player so we should be getting someone as good. For sure, their scouting team plays a large part and if spent wisely in an ideal world you could assemble a really good team for good value, but how many Bangura`s, Pukki`s etc have they gone through over the years to build this team.

In 2012 we lost the best part of £20-25mil worth of players, since then, barely £10mil has been invested in our playing squad. The two routes we had in the lower leagues was always to either slowly develop a young team with a successful scouting network so that by about now we`d have hopefully had a young but settled side, or, what has been the more costly route, building completely new sides for each challenge. The years of Ally and a board of wankers has fucked us that its plain as day the only way out of this mess is a pretty significant cash injection. If we were to spend say £15-20mil over the next year there`s no guarantee it would solve all our problems as its inevitable some of those players wouldn`t work out but we don`t have a chance in hell if we try to overthrow the tims in a short timeframe on the cheap.

OP is 100% correct. A combination of Walter, Jose and Pepe wouldn't make much of a difference.  Certainly Pedro signed these players.... but what was the total net spend?  And we have improved!  But clearly, massive investment is the only cure here.  

I read we're 3-4 years away.  That's bullshit.  We're one transfer window away with the right investment.

17 hours ago, A.T.G said:

McInnes would do a far greater job than Pedro. We should have chose out of him or McLeish but the board tried to be smart arses and pull a wonder stroke out of nowhere. Could have went one of two ways, a success or disaster. It has turned into the latter

McInnes would give us 2nd at best. I'd rather of took a chance and tried something different than settle for bang average in McInnes.

Its been a punt and hasn't worked out.

22 hours ago, Amac9 said:

£2m on Pena. £1m on Dorrans. £1.5m on Herrera. £1.5m on Cardoso. Money wasted.

It's to do with quality and finding good players. Dembele cost them nothing, Griffiths cost £1m, Sinclair was hardly ground breaking  money at £4m. Yet we continually to buy a load of shite.

We never paid anywhere near that for our players, all PR spin to make the board look good.

unless we pay the wages sellik are pYing we won't compete

23 hours ago, BlueBearz1990 said:

Blame Pedro all you wish but there is no manager in the universe who could stand a chance of competing with them in both a 90min game and over the course of a season unless we have huge money pumped into the transfer window.

Mr King, get the fucking money on the table or fuck off from our club. We won't stand for being average for the foreseeable future.

Agree with the first point but it doesnt explain why we are so poor against other teams.  The manager has to accept blame for signings and performances even if we do exclude the celtic games.

3 wins in 7 is not acceptable, end of.

22 hours ago, Blue Avenger said:

It the current context it is actually.

The scum are where they are because of money. They can buy and pay far better than all the teams in this backwater put together.

Then there is the footballing standard in this backwater. Outwith the scum, all teams are geared up for the Scottish game and is it therefore any surprise that we, the sheep and StJ were unceremoniously pumped out of Europe's token prequalifiers by no marks?

The world of football has well moved on, whereas outwith the scum in this backwater, the rest remain in a timewarp and with this board, we shall remain well stuck in it. The goat and camel herders from Kazak and Azerbejan must laugh their cocks off when a Scottish team comes out the hat. Such great footballing nations they are, not, whilst we are exactly what? Worse than fucking goat herders. Well the fact is, we are!

So we get Jose M in tomorrow, on the same bugdet that Dembele, Broon and Sinclair probably earn in wages, so what do we win? The answer is sweet fuck all.

There is absolutely nothing to be gained nor accurate in constantly winging on about, well we can't beat the other teams. The answer to that is simply because, we recruit mediocrity just like the rest and whilst we may pay more in inflated wages, they remain mediocrity and with mediocrity comes inconsistency. 

It is as simple as that.

We go nowhere without the funding to match the quality of the scum and that is the heart of the matter.

All the winging and removing of Pedro will make not one jot of a difference until the board fund a true title challenge, so it aint hapening and inconsistency will be the watch word.

That's about the size of it ...!!

1 minute ago, Smile said:

Aberdeen two points behind them now we are eight points maybe it's not all to do with Money?

Aye, maybe, mate. But we're going to have to wait until the end of the season to see what the final table looks like and come to a conclusion then. The fact is, though, second place will always be the unfortunate target with the type of budget we have, regardless of manager.

2 minutes ago, BlueBearz1990 said:

Aye, maybe, mate. But we're going to have to wait until the end of the season to see what the final table looks like and come to a conclusion then. The fact is, though, second place will always be the unfortunate target with the type of budget we have, regardless of manager.

Not really last season at this time Warburton had two fewer points in the next seven games he won 17 points out of 21 Pedro won't do that we can see where we are going and second place is looking a dream now too.

We have to show some sense of realism we do that with facts not just hopes and prayers.

2 minutes ago, BlueBearz1990 said:

Aye, maybe, mate. But we're going to have to wait until the end of the season to see what the final table looks like and come to a conclusion then. 

Does that extend to the people who say the problem is only down to finance and nothing else I.e not the manager's fault when talking about us and celtic when it comes to finance?

Or does this only apply to us and rest? Because some people are using the finance argument to get Pedro off the hook but when pointed out our money and resources dwarf the rest of Scotland we are struggling against they go quiet or go on a confusing rant ...

14 minutes ago, Smile said:

Aberdeen two points behind them now we are eight points maybe it's not all to do with Money?

The season is far from over and I am willing to bet 50 quid to give to Erskine appeal that we finish second.

Fucking Motherwell rag dolled them and they and they have even less money than a dole cheat. So inconsistency is the watchword' within the rest at our level, but we will just happen to be less inconsistent by the end of the season with Pedro in charge. If he aint, it will be more pointless upheaval leading us to nowhere, but to be second best at best. Not that Pedro is any good, just that his continuity will get us second.

As for Motherwell, they will finish below the sheep. They are even more pish than Aberdeen.

No one comes close to the scum, so it remains that all the dross below them kill each other off. That's just the way of it with such a gap in investment.