Who's the better player Kirk broadfoot or Allan Hutton?

Braq81

• Replies 75

Its a totally different set of circumstances with big Kirk....he has no footballing skill whatsoever....he can try and try his heart out all day but he'll never be able to read the game or have the agility or touch that is needed to play for the Gers.

IMO you have just summed up Nacho Novo as much as you have summed up Broadfoot, and he's considered a hero among some sections of our support, and a legend among other parts

If the majority gave Broadfoot the same backing as they give Novo then he'd look far more assured and confident than he does now.

Novo is a favourite only to the section of the supporters who either don't rate us that highly as a team or are completely ignorant as to what makes a good footballer. Scoring the odd goal, be it a decent effort or otherwise is not good enough. You have to play consistently well and perform to a standard well abov the average player in scotland to be "rangers class" in my book! We have settled for joe average for way too long in my book. Remember....this is a team who have fielded players such as Gazza, Laudrup, Ian Durrant, Stuart McCall, Numan, Gatuso, Gough, Butcher...all who played for the jersey and with enormous ability and class. We also had the pleasure of the skill of the likes of Van Bronkhorst, Arteta, and even De Boer to a lesser extent.....to name but a few!! How can we have players like that over a number of eras...and then end up settling for the likes of Novo, Broadfoot, Darchieville, Miller and other headless chickens who....if they score the odd goal against celtic...are all of a sudden club legends?? fuck right off!

Kris Boyd is statistically the 3rd most prestigous goal scorer in the clubs history...he has a goal to game ratio of 66% for the club. The guy we'd all see knighted in a second..."sir" Ally McCoist has a goal-game ratio of 63%. Granted Boyd has played 472games less, but if he plays for us until the same age as ally did then we have 11years of kris Boyd goals to look forward to.....and he cant even get a game!! What ever the fuck the club policy is on who we do and dont play....its pish!!

Its a totally different set of circumstances with big Kirk....he has no footballing skill whatsoever....he can try and try his heart out all day but he'll never be able to read the game or have the agility or touch that is needed to play for the Gers.

IMO you have just summed up Nacho Novo as much as you have summed up Broadfoot, and he's considered a hero among some sections of our support, and a legend among other parts

If the majority gave Broadfoot the same backing as they give Novo then he'd look far more assured and confident than he does now.

Novo is a favourite only to the section of the supporters who either don't rate us that highly as a team or are completely ignorant as to what makes a good footballer. Scoring the odd goal, be it a decent effort or otherwise is not good enough. You have to play consistently well and perform to a standard well abov the average player in scotland to be "rangers class" in my book! We have settled for joe average for way too long in my book. Remember....this is a team who have fielded players such as Gazza, Laudrup, Ian Durrant, Stuart McCall, Numan, Gatuso, Gough, Butcher...all who played for the jersey and with enormous ability and class. We also had the pleasure of the skill of the likes of Van Bronkhorst, Arteta, and even De Boer to a lesser extent.....to name but a few!! How can we have players like that over a number of eras...and then end up settling for the likes of Novo, Broadfoot, Darchieville, Miller and other headless chickens who....if they score the odd goal against celtic...are all of a sudden club legends?? fuck right off!

Kris Boyd is statistically the 3rd most prestigous goal scorer in the clubs history...he has a goal to game ratio of 66% for the club. The guy we'd all see knighted in a second..."sir" Ally McCoist has a goal-game ratio of 63%. Granted Boyd has played 472games less, but if he plays for us until the same age as ally did then we have 11years of kris Boyd goals to look forward to.....and he cant even get a game!! What ever the fuck the club policy is on who we do and dont play....its pish!!

To answer the opening post, Hutton was never especially wonderful at defending - indeed he excels when going forward on those mazy runs.

Broadfoot is a reliable wee stopper who isn't quite Nesta but gets the job done.

Going forward he has neither the pace nor skill of Hutton, but you know what? He can cross damn near as well at times.

So while Hutton is clearly the better player, Broadfoot has his own qualities which shouldn't be dismissed.

I think you're underestimating the effect that those 472 games may have. Given Boyd current starts to games ratio (along with his blatant lack of overall improvement), how long is it going to take him to play another 472 games?!

It's clearly Hutton but hats off to Big Kirk

He has put in some really good performances this year so far and is establishinh himself

He will never be a Hutton but is he enough for the SPL? I'd say his handling of McGayday (who lets face it is the best out and out winger in this league) shows he is.

If he can handle the wee greetin faced traitor then he can handle anyone the SPL throws at him.

Kirk Broadfoot - The Rangers Right Back

To answer the opening post, Hutton was never especially wonderful at defending - indeed he excels when going forward on those mazy runs.

Broadfoot is a reliable wee stopper who isn't quite Nesta but gets the job done.

Going forward he has neither the pace nor skill of Hutton, but you know what? He can cross damn near as well at times.

So while Hutton is clearly the better player, Broadfoot has his own qualities which shouldn't be dismissed.

I think it's like comparing women's football to the male game, and saying it's shite.

You can't do that - it's that simple.

Take them as they are. Hutton is a superb, athletic right back who could beat players all day long.

Broadfoot is a makeshift rightback who is improving with every game.

I think it's like comparing women's football to the male game, and saying it's shite.

Take them as they are. Hutton is a superb, athletic right back who could beat players all day long.

Hutton has never scored for Scotland :D

But he has single handedly demolished Italy's left side :)

Hutton put in the work to improve, broadfoot could well do the same, and it looks like he is. I didnt mind his skills against mcgeady either :P

Why do people keep sayin broadfoot marked mcgeady out the game? he had no part in keepin that we dick quiet....it was Davis trackin back that kept him out the game....Broadfoots garbage....pure and simple.....to sa he is good enough for spl is nonsense. our shit reputation in europe is down to the fact that we buy players to get us by in the spl. Last years euro run, while an amazing feat....was a one off. theres no way we'd get to any european final playing that style of football ever again....and by having muppets like broadfoot in the team...thers no chance of us playing a better standard or style of football

Kirk Broadfoot is nowhere near as bad as certain people make out. He's a decent defender although I think he'd suit centre back more than right back.

Having said that, Alan Hutton is clearly a better player and, in particular, a better right back.