Myth of the Burkey boy - Hindrance or hindrance ?

time for burke to leave, hes just not consistant enough. Can be a good player on his day but not consistant enough. Comes in and plays a few good games then hes just back to his old ways of playing badly for the rest of the matches. Happened again this season, came in and had a couple of good games, i said i will judge him at the end of the season as he had good games before. End of the season now and i have to say hes just not good enough as his form slumped yet again after those good early games. Injury was unfortunate but hes just too injury prone and too inconsistant for my liking. I would take anything just to get him off the books.

So just to clarify, what you're saying is: you don't think he's consistent enough? :craphead:

• Replies 63

Burke had 3 or 4 months a couple of seasons ago when he was the standout in the team. Champions league opposition players were quoted in the papers as saying he was the one they had to watch.

Pre and post those 3 or 4 months though he's been average, to poor, to rotten. 3 or 4 months doesn't make you good enough. Get rid of, in my opinion.

funny thing is, if his family were proddies, then most on this board would love him

I think he is Rangers most effective attacking option and it would be a sad day for em if we did let him go

Our best play last season coincided with the period of time when Burke and Naismith were getting starts, when we went back to McCulloch and David, then our form plummeted

However bad his performances have been, I say we stick by him.

Under Walter smith, I really see a good future for him. Walter knows how to get the best out of his players.

Never before have I doubted Walter and his convictions, I'm not going to start now.

Before Walter we had PLG. What a disgrace!

After PLG, we had Walter. What a Hero!

Since his return, the club has seen lots of good times.

To anyone who doubts Walter's ability, go away!

And to anyone who believes in him, good on ya!

Remember this, Walter got us to a European final!!!

Definitely the greatest achievement of modern times for this club.

So.... what more can I say?

time for burke to leave, hes just not consistant enough. Can be a good player on his day but not consistant enough. Comes in and plays a few good games then hes just back to his old ways of playing badly for the rest of the matches. Happened again this season, came in and had a couple of good games, i said i will judge him at the end of the season as he had good games before. End of the season now and i have to say hes just not good enough as his form slumped yet again after those good early games. Injury was unfortunate but hes just too injury prone and too inconsistant for my liking. I would take anything just to get him off the books.

So just to clarify, what you're saying is: you don't think he's consistent enough? :craphead:

yea..... how on earth did you figure that out?? :craphead:

funny thing is, if his family were proddies, then most on this board would love him

I think he is Rangers most effective attacking option and it would be a sad day for em if we did let him go

Our best play last season coincided with the period of time when Burke and Naismith were getting starts, when we went back to McCulloch and David, then our form plummeted

utter rubbish, who cares who his FAMILY support, the guy just isnt good enough, his dad could be the grand master of the orange order and i would still want him out. He has talent when he shows it but the season is more than 5 games long and thats about all he can keep his form for and then hes awful again.

3 decent games a season, a winger who has no balance,a winger who cannot cross the ball. He has matured into mediocrity.

Good alliteration ;)

However bad his performances have been, I say we stick by him.

Under Walter smith, I really see a good future for him. Walter knows how to get the best out of his players.

Never before have I doubted Walter and his convictions, I'm not going to start now.

Before Walter we had PLG. What a disgrace!

After PLG, we had Walter. What a Hero!

Since his return, the club has seen lots of good times.

To anyone who doubts Walter's ability, go away!

And to anyone who believes in him, good on ya!

Remember this, Walter got us to a European final!!!

Definitely the greatest achievement of modern times for this club.

So.... what more can I say?

Oh! What a grand poem!

Refreshing stuff, mate!

Ah! I canny get over it!

Never in a million fucking years!

Grrrrrrrrrr...I'm so horny that I could be a porno star!

Even Wee Chesney would weep in shame!

Castle Greyskull? Aye right! We live in Ibrox!

Under Walter Smith, forever shall we rule football!

Nacho Novo, leading us that way!

Timmy bassas languishing in league three!

Sexy sexy fitba we shall play!

That's a lot of shite. His family background or religion have fuck all to do with the fans opinion on him.

When we had Burke and Naismith either side of Cousin we played well, but if you remember correctly Burke's form also plummeted. His performance against Dundee United in the Cup Final was one of the most lazy and uninterested I have ever seen.

The attitude is why the fans get on his back. It is the same attitude shown by Cousin - another one who the fans just never took to. Coincidence? Nah, his family must be all Cafflicks aswell, eh?

I don't think Burke is a lazy player and he does have skill....but he is too weak for a grown adult footballer and gets pushed around too easy. Combined with his inconsistency then I feel he not really good enough to take us forward. He is on £12000 a week so hats off to the boy for managing to somehow get away with that! He is more a Motherwell level of player but he won't leave until his contract runs out as no club in the UK is going to come close to matching his wages for the level of player he is. Anybody know when his contract runs out?

Nothing he has done in the last few seasons supports that. Definitely had potential at 21 but injuries and poor form has been the story ever since. Not saying that we should force him out, but if a decent offer came in I'd take it.

You wouldnt get a decent offer he is shite

Guys look upon this in a physiological way. Burke is talented (barring the fact he can't cross to save his life and his eye for goal is poor to the extreme!) but given his slight nature I'd say that the injuries he has sustained over the past 2-3 seasons says were bound to happen, he also had to recover from a nasty leg break earlier on in his career which hasn't helped.

He flourished under McLeish because their wasn't anyone else available and he has contributed to general play exceptionally in same games. But given his inconsistency and the aforementioned physiological defect he has a footballer, i.e. he's too small and is only gone to get himself injured again and again, it would be far more prudent to sell him now to a Championship club; best for him to play in a less physical league while (most probably) earning more while freeing up a space for a more physically capable winger to come.

When you look at Celtic most of their players are big and strong, especially in midfield, an area that we are badly lacking.

He doesn't have the right mentality to ever improve and fulfill the potential he showed when he first broke into the team.

All this diving and pathetic "everyone's against me" antics.. get shot of him!

He doesn't have the right mentality to ever improve and fulfill the potential he showed when he first broke into the team.

All this diving and pathetic "everyone's against me" antics.. get shot of him!

Well said that man.

Oh! What a grand poem!

Refreshing stuff, mate!

Ah! I canny get over it!

Never in a million fucking years!

Grrrrrrrrrr...I'm so horny that I could be a porno star!

Even Wee Chesney would weep in shame!

Castle Greyskull? Aye right! We live in Ibrox!

Under Walter Smith, forever shall we rule football!

Nacho Novo, leading us that way!

Timmy bassas languishing in league three!

Sexy sexy fitba we shall play!

Dude, you're poetry skills are better than mine!

I must try and contest you though.

Really tough season for our boys!

Together, they got through with two trophies!!

You can't complain with uefa final either.

First time in years we've reached such heights!

Usually we're out before Christmas!

Could you have ever dreamed we'd get to the final?

Knock the lights out of all the doubters!!!!

Instead of following the club, they followed their poor judgement.

Never were such people true fans!

Gers for life!!!

Heed my words, WE ARE THE PEOPLE!!!

Unlike any other club!

Nearly won the uefa!

Scotland's shame? My erse!

Guys look upon this in a physiological way. Burke is talented (barring the fact he can't cross to save his life and his eye for goal is poor to the extreme!) but given his slight nature I'd say that the injuries he has sustained over the past 2-3 seasons says were bound to happen, he also had to recover from a nasty leg break earlier on in his career which hasn't helped.

He flourished under McLeish because their wasn't anyone else available and he has contributed to general play exceptionally in same games. But given his inconsistency and the aforementioned physiological defect he has a footballer, i.e. he's too small and is only gone to get himself injured again and again, it would be far more prudent to sell him now to a Championship club; best for him to play in a less physical league while (most probably) earning more while freeing up a space for a more physically capable winger to come.

When you look at Celtic most of their players are big and strong, especially in midfield, an area that we are badly lacking.

Don't complain when we play shit football again next season doh

A talented player, he may be inconsistent but so are a lot of wingers. His main problem has been injury/illness. :(

His main problem has always been lack of speed,he has never possessed that extra gear to go round a defender and swing a decent ball into the box.

Nine times out of ten the defender is with him all the way to the by-line,unfortunately. :(

Far better player when he cuts inside. (tu)

I don't think many people give a fuck what religion his family is, he's a Bluenose and that's that as far as I'm concerned.

If we had someone of C. Ronaldo standard who's dad was the Pope I wouldn't give a fuck (tu)