A very proud bear indeed

rab wilson

Came up from essex on friday for the game on saturday,spent a lovely weekend with my son in ayr and Irvine on friday, special mention to the lady in the Irvine JJB who was brand new with my english boy as we virtually wiped out all of the training gear in there.

On saturday about 1045, we drove along the A77 giving it as much abuse to the mhanky hordes in their buses stuck in traffic heading to killie,such an opportunity should never ever be wasted.

Got to Ibrox car park about 12, took as many pictures as i could of our palace then went round to the megastore to do some damage in there as well, as we cant get much Rangers gear in England.

As we walked round past the Edmiston Suite, i clapped eyes on 2 absolute legends.Now for any bear who goes every week i must sound like a tourist, but i used to go every week,being down here i have to be more selective and it kills me.

As i saw Bud Johnston and big Colin Stein standing there, my mind went back to stories told by my dad about Barcelona 72 and Easter Road in 75. And my gran having the picture of me and my sister on the sideboard, next to a picture of Colin Stein.Ive been dying to meet him since just to say how much he meant to my dad,and wee bud for that as well.

I was shaking like a leaf as i went over to say hello, and all i could get out was" mr stein and mr johnston sirs, you were my dads heroes, would you mind having a picture taken with me and my son Billy?"

They were totally brand new, cracking jokes with me and my boy, posing for pictures with us both for ages.They say you should never meet your heroes in case they let you down, but i can honestly say i walked away with a tear in my eye thinking about the row with my dad and why we havent spoken for 11 years.the pain soon passed.

Inside the ground in BF1 we were sitting next to the noisy and extremely brilliant singing Union Bears and the Blue Order.Those young lads have reassured me that our future is in safe hands, and they are all young lads, who remind me of great times in the past at Ibrox.

When they sang 3 little birds for the first time, i welled up again, how can you know i thought as more than 1 tear ran down my cheek(until my boy told me i was an embarrassment ha ha).

They were fantastic the whole game.

Point is, we have such a lot going for us as a club, the support is almost back together again after years of glory hunters and apologists.It may never be the same as yesteryear, but fuck sake we can try, the boys in the UB and TBO are giving it their best shot, we should do our best as well.

4 boys had a dream

to form a football team....

No Surrender

Rab

Brilliant. My daughter and I saw them too, was prob you that was talking to them when we passed. It was just outside bar 72. Wee bud was my hero during both his spells at Ibrox. I also saw him a couple off times when he played for West Brom.in which during one off the games he ripped down the wing to the corner beat the right back twice then the cheeky wee bugger sat on the ball , then got up beat him again and fired in a cross. Magic memories of a great wee winger. Legend.

Great story.

Now get the fucking finger out and go phone or visit your Dad and put whatever pish you argued about in the past behind you.

Too much water amigo, hows yer pal mate, read about it yesterday, fuckin papish bastards, hope he is ok pal as much as he can be of course.

No Surrender

Rab

Too much water amigo, hows yer pal mate, read about it yesterday, fuckin papish bastards, hope he is ok pal as much as he can be of course.

No Surrender

Rab

He is getting better pal, thanks.

It is never too late, bite the bullet and phone or go visit him, if he passes away tomorrow you will regret it.

I can only echo what Gaz and WVB said, you don't want to look back one day and ask what if.

This. Rab that was a great story and so glad you and your son enjoyed your trip, please try and sort it out with your dad, we would all like to read part two of your story in a week or two telling us you have got back on speaking terms with your dad. Good luck. (tu)

Came up from essex on friday for the game on saturday,spent a lovely weekend with my son in ayr and Irvine on friday, special mention to the lady in the Irvine JJB who was brand new with my english boy as we virtually wiped out all of the training gear in there.

On saturday about 1045, we drove along the A77 giving it as much abuse to the mhanky hordes in their buses stuck in traffic heading to killie,such an opportunity should never ever be wasted.

Got to Ibrox car park about 12, took as many pictures as i could of our palace then went round to the megastore to do some damage in there as well, as we cant get much Rangers gear in England.

As we walked round past the Edmiston Suite, i clapped eyes on 2 absolute legends.Now for any bear who goes every week i must sound like a tourist, but i used to go every week,being down here i have to be more selective and it kills me.

As i saw Bud Johnston and big Colin Stein standing there, my mind went back to stories told by my dad about Barcelona 72 and Easter Road in 75. And my gran having the picture of me and my sister on the sideboard, next to a picture of Colin Stein.Ive been dying to meet him since just to say how much he meant to my dad,and wee bud for that as well.

I was shaking like a leaf as i went over to say hello, and all i could get out was" mr stein and mr johnston sirs, you were my dads heroes, would you mind having a picture taken with me and my son Billy?"

They were totally brand new, cracking jokes with me and my boy, posing for pictures with us both for ages.They say you should never meet your heroes in case they let you down, but i can honestly say i walked away with a tear in my eye thinking about the row with my dad and why we havent spoken for 11 years.the pain soon passed.

Inside the ground in BF1 we were sitting next to the noisy and extremely brilliant singing Union Bears and the Blue Order.Those young lads have reassured me that our future is in safe hands, and they are all young lads, who remind me of great times in the past at Ibrox.

When they sang 3 little birds for the first time, i welled up again, how can you know i thought as more than 1 tear ran down my cheek(until my boy told me i was an embarrassment ha ha).

They were fantastic the whole game.

Point is, we have such a lot going for us as a club, the support is almost back together again after years of glory hunters and apologists.It may never be the same as yesteryear, but fuck sake we can try, the boys in the UB and TBO are giving it their best shot, we should do our best as well.

4 boys had a dream

to form a football team....

No Surrender

Rab

Can only agree with all the bears above I hope you can work things out with your dad whatever has happened but what a great wee story and it's good to know its not only myself who gets choked up with our magnificent fans and stadium?

Aye, get it sorted Rab. Got a lump in my throat here, every time i look at this thread, and I dont even know you fella. My dads alive and we speak every day, but I wish with all my heart I could say he was a Bear. Make it up with yer old man & theres 3 generations of Bears all happy again, him, you & your boy.