Murrayfield National Stadium Bid

scottyc06

Scottish Rugby are to make a presentation before the game tomorrow to the SFA about Murrayfield becoming the new national stadium for internationals & cup finals! 

We'll need to see how tomorrow goes as iv never been to Murrayfield, but something tells me this would be an excellent move!

• Replies 99

6 minutes ago, The Dude said:

Fuck that. Murrayfield isn't capable of holding Old Firm games (segregation on entry to Stadium) so can't see plod allowing it to happen. 

Hampden isn’t going away it can still host cup games if needbe? But we can shift that tartan army shite out there someone else’s problem 

2 minutes ago, K.A.I said:

Hampden isn’t going away it can still host cup games if needbe? But we can shift that tartan army shite out there someone else’s problem 

The plan is to replace Hampden completely (or in reality try get a better deal for them to remain there once their lease ends like last time this came up 15-20 years ago)

2 minutes ago, A.T.G said:

Glasgow has ruined it. Bring it home to the more luxurious part of Scotland.

No happnin mate. You can have the rugby and shinty and lacrosse and that. They suit Edinburgh. Football doesn't.

Just now, Inigo said:

No happnin mate. You can have the rugby and shinty and lacrosse and that. They suit Edinburgh. Football doesn't.

Imagine getting out the ground, haggis supper with salt n sauce washed wi a fine glass of red wine. And no yer Buckie shite. 

Its happening, finally. 

It's all posturing from the SFA, they have to be seen to open bids for a new lease - but the SFA/SPFL are so ingrained with administration and offices within Hampden that they will never leave. I don't actually mind Hampden, when it is full it has a great atmosphere. I can't see the SFA ever leaving, sure they may look to move some international games and SC semi finals around the country but Hampden will always be their base.

Hampden is a dump and not fit for purpose . Murrayfield is not fit certainly regarding separating fans. There is no money or chance of redeveloping Hampden so you can be sure this is the early stages of most games being moved to Parkhead, with the odd game thrown to us and the likes of Aberdeen, Hibs, and Hearts to try to show “Balance”, with celtic trying to get Parkhead seen as “The Home of Scottish football” 

1 minute ago, onefootwillie said:

Hampden is a dump and not fit for purpose . Murrayfield is not fit certainly regarding separating fans. There is no money or chance of redeveloping Hampden so you can be sure this is the early stages of most games being moved to Parkhead, with the odd game thrown to us and the likes of Aberdeen, Hibs, and Hearts to try to show “Balance”, with celtic trying to get Parkhead seen as “The Home of Scottish football” 

There is loads of small works, delapse repairs and (soon) various improvements bkth inside and outside the stadium to bring it up to UEFA soec for the 2020 euros. Hampden is guaranteed at least 2 games for this tourney 

1 minute ago, A.T.G said:

Haha Yass. You going tomorrow GOAT.

Hope you hear the word “ay” in every pub 

Ken

Aye nae pub though taking the wee man to his first ever away game.  He'll probably start greeting to leave half way through it.