Weir Press Conference

BridgeIsBlue

Seemed to me he was asked a series of questions and tried to answer as honestly as he could, do folk really expect him to start rubbishing his players. What kind of coach comes out and over criticises his players ?

We got exactly what was expected yesterday beaten off a better quality of opposition, could we have done better I believe we can play to better standard than that.

Perhaps if he had just came out and said oh by the we are so pish we are never going to win anything with this squad and by the way if Davy boy doesn't come across with 40 million within 4 months then we are doomed to bottom six for the next 3 years. Would that have suited better ?

• Replies 64

4 minutes ago, BLUEDIGNITY said:

MW must be getting fed fed up spoutin the same pish, your turn Davie, casual crew neck oan or no !

image.gif

I thought our Davie spoke with a growl in his voice, a real grit and determination- dunno why tbh, maybe just how he was as a player- but he spoke in that presser like well like ... he should be wearing a lambs wool Arran crew neck and auditing the Co-op's books.  

4 minutes ago, thebluedoo said:

Seemed to me he was asked a series of questions and tried to answer as honestly as he could, do folk really expect him to start rubbishing his players. What kind of coach comes out and over criticises his players ?

We got exactly what was expected yesterday beaten off a better quality of opposition, could we have done better I believe we can play to better standard than that.

Perhaps if he had just came out and said oh by the we are so pish we are never going to win anything with this squad and by the way if Davy boy doesn't come across with 40 million within 4 months then we are doomed to bottom six for the next 3 years. Would that have suited better ?

Here we go with this over dramatic response to fans rightfully questioning why our management team are happy with fuck all budget.

We got what we expected? did we? I certainty didn't expect to watch a team of pro footballers struggle to pass a football or dribble past a player. If you expected that pish yesterday then your standards are in the gutter.

No one is expecting or wanting Davie or Mark to say the players are pish, so stop talking...pish. What some do want though is for them to be a bit more wise to the situation at hand. We all know we need major investment to bridge the gap and pretending the levels we have had thus far is acceptable is just going to prolong our agony...it needs to be known these guys need more resources made available to them if we are to progress as a club.

Saying everything is as expected and there has been adequate funds available is just lying to yourself and the fans.

10 minutes ago, The Godfather said:

Here we go with this over dramatic response to fans rightfully questioning why our management team are happy with fuck all budget.

We got what we expected? did we? I certainty didn't expect to watch a team of pro footballers struggle to pass a football or dribble past a player. If you expected that pish yesterday then your standards are in the gutter.

No one is expecting or wanting Davie or Mark to say the players are pish, so stop talking...pish. What some do want though is for them to be a bit more wise to the situation at hand. We all know we need major investment to bridge the gap and pretending the levels we have had thus far is acceptable is just going to prolong our agony...it needs to be known these guys need more resources made available to them if we are to progress as a club.

Saying everything is as expected and there has been adequate funds available is just lying to yourself and the fans.

This. :thumbup:

It is time for someone in the football management team to tell it like it is. The investment is not good enough and it will be Mark & Davy who will be hung out to dry.

Whether they will ever manage to be good enough to take us much further is another argument, but by playing happy families they are making it easy for King IMO.

3 minutes ago, The Godfather said:

All I read was moaning and groaning about same shite responses from the management team

You didn't expect to see a team of pro footballers from Scotland struggle against one of the strongest teams in Germany really ? I did say I would like to think we can perform better than that. Considering the amount of stick all they players were getting in the match thread then my comments in the last sentences was meant toungue in cheek but may have been nearer the mark.

I don't need you to tell me to stop talking pish either thanks, I disagree with many different posters in here but I don't need to resort to that

I never said anything about everything is expected I said the result in real terms was what we could have been expected, ha ha lying to the fans

38 minutes ago, MarvinAndrews said:

He's right though. 18 months ago we had failed to get promoted from the championship. Now we're 2nd in the premiership. 

And im guessing but I'm sure their view of the team isn't that much different from ours, but they can't exactly come out and say "the majority of the squad isn't good enough right now" can they?

You think the team yesterday is any massive improvement on the team that got humped twice of Motherwell. 

Both couldn't pass both got bullied off the ball and both of them couldn't defend. 

The fact is we are going nowhere fast and if Davie thinks we are then we are totally fucked. 

16 minutes ago, KeyserSoze said:

I thought our Davie spoke with a growl in his voice, a real grit and determination- dunno why tbh, maybe just how he was as a player- but he spoke in that presser like well like ... he should be wearing a lambs wool Arran crew neck and auditing the Co-op's books.  

University lad, was scouted through that, not from the wild side of life, played his football with intelligence! 

image.gif

21 minutes ago, thebluedoo said:

Think you need to change your tampon. ??

6 minutes ago, BLUEDIGNITY said:

University lad, was scouted through that, not from the wild side of life, played his football with intelligence! 

image.gif

PS - That's why he's quoted up at hampdump, won't be controversial, that's why I think he'll be a stick on for the Scotland job at some stage !

image.gif

Learn.  Learn. Learn.  Every week we hear about the need for the team to learn.    We hear if from Warburton, Weir and the players that give interviews.   There's nothing inherently wrong with acknowledging a need to learn.    But unfortunately we never see or hear enough evidence of having learned - and that includes evidence of Warburton having learned.    Everything about the learning statements is always ahead of us, never is it rear view mirror 'we've learned and now we go forward and excel from that learning'.

I know lots of folk over the years who could never break out from the cosy corridors of learning.  Always another Degree or Masters or specialist qualification or course or seminar etc to be applying for and going to.   'Til one day they realise that instead of actually doing and earning all they became were professional learners.   Too late then to earn big bucks as they were too old and lacked experience to earn big bucks on the back of their pages of evidence of being on an endless learning pathway.    Point is, there is only so long that this endless learning message (excuse more often) can be trotted out and people put up with it.  Today I notice Weir actually mentioned the need to learn quickly.

In a way, with the contrast between Rangers and RB Leipzig that Weir referred to, its another reminder not only to the Support but to King and the Board that the choices for Rangers are quite simple.   If a lot more money can be found to invest in better players then, like RB Leipzig, progress can be made more quickly.  Much more quickly as Weir hinted a bit at when he noted how quickly RB Leipzig had been transformed into a football powerhouse in Germany. 

Or its the slow train of development of players, buying in bargain markets, relying on good contacts for good quality loan players and the long slow game of gradually building a team that can challenge for the title.  

Weir, like the big Rangers names who were in the press last week (Smith, Henderson, Ferguson) is saying the same thing.   With a lot more money a lot more is possible more quickly.  But if the current reality of living on the edge financially is to be the way of things for the foreseeable future then the underlying message is it will take time - maybe a very long time - to restore Rangers back to winning a title and being competitive in Europe. 

Which indicates that with this current Board, unless they can find more investment, the Club can only have a very narrow financial ambition for creating a transfer pot to attract better players.    Which in turn means that unless Warburton himself transforms into a manager who is much more able to harness an average squad and make them into title winners, or a different manager arrives eventually with stronger skills in getting a whole lot more out of average players then King faces a long haul to get to 55.   So do we.

3 hours ago, KeyserSoze said:

Something that confuses me a wee bit. 

Why do we place a lot of emphasis on looking for "decent people", MW (and now SDOW) have said this of most of our acquisitions - that they are "good lads" "great personality"....  It's as if a harmonious, compliant dressing room is very high on the agenda..

If we are scouting an excellent player but reports are he is a complete bampot - I honestly think MW would give him a miss..

Surely we need a balance eh?

I would rather have a team full of winners than a team of nice friendly chappies that behave and do what the gaffer tells them....   

See Barton 

I think we now see Media training in action in what Weir and Warburton say it's all cliches and nonsense but it the way they are taught to deal with the media.

Football was more honest when Pr and Media Training took a back seat to real feelings and emotions.

3 hours ago, KeyserSoze said:

Something that confuses me a wee bit. 

Why do we place a lot of emphasis on looking for "decent people", MW (and now SDOW) have said this of most of our acquisitions - that they are "good lads" "great personality"....  It's as if a harmonious, compliant dressing room is very high on the agenda..

If we are scouting an excellent player but reports are he is a complete bampot - I honestly think MW would give him a miss..

Surely we need a balance eh?

I would rather have a team full of winners than a team of nice friendly chappies that behave and do what the gaffer tells them....   

So if Chelsea offered to loan us Diego Costa we would chase them!! And  Barton must have lied on his C.V. As you say sign winners not some cunt you want to marry your daughter 

2 minutes ago, Dickie said:

So if Chelsea offered to loan us Diego Costa we would chase them!! And  Barton must have lied on his C.V. As you say sign winners not some cunt you want to marry your daughter 

I'm not understanding your points about Costa and Barton??  it's a confusing post if i'm honest

These press conferences are getting tedious. Wish they'd just tell it how it is for a change instead of spouting this nonsense week in week out.

Granted, apart from this friendly, the taigs and St Johnstone game we had a decent run of games but the consistency is none existent.

When I was a bricky if I fucked up on a job the gaffer would pull me up in front of the whole fucking squad and I can assure you I'd never make the same mistake again.

Same rules apply surely, and if the players are too precious to take a public hammering now and again then that's too bad. Management need to be more ruthless in their assessments.

Last 3 games have been a shambles.

Mollycoddled the lot of them.

MW places a huge emphasis on recruiting " decent lads" because, I believe, they will show him respect.. 

MW cannot control certain unruly players as they will pull the " show us your medals" card and MW is fooked..

It's not right and its not fair but I guess that's life and that's what I think is happening..

MW desperately needs a win against the odds against a decent team to show his players that he has what it takes.