Kai Kennedy

TerryTibbs

• Replies 55
Just now, STEPPS BOY said:

The ‘Pro-Youth’ generation.

Players have it made these days, and fair fucks to them, but I don’t think it sets them up well. In my line of work I’ve seen and spoke at length with a number of young footballers about their finances and they don’t have a fucking clue.

That’s not to say they won’t turn it around, but imagine going from earning a a relatively tidy sum at a young age with putting in no real graft, not making the cut because of that lack of application, and then having the stark reality of life as a workman put out in front of you.

Not meaning that offensively to anyone in that line of work, but the young guys I’ve spoken with - it’s clear that they wouldn’t handle that profession easily.

2 minutes ago, Rfc52 said:

I had a brilliant season at pro youth in 2002/03

Just as a wee fyi

See in terms of setting you up though, genuinely, did you feel that you learned anything from it or was it mostly just a laugh?

4 minutes ago, ScottBF2 said:

Players have it made these days, and fair fucks to them, but I don’t think it sets them up well. In my line of work I’ve seen and spoke at length with a number of young footballers about their finances and they don’t have a fucking clue.

That’s not to say they won’t turn it around, but imagine going from earning a a relatively tidy sum at a young age with putting in no real graft, not making the cut because of that lack of application, and then having the stark reality of life as a workman put out in front of you.

Not meaning that offensively to anyone in that line of work, but the young guys I’ve spoken with - it’s clear that they wouldn’t handle that 

It's prevalent nowadays. I have three 16 and 21yo twins, and the entitlement some of their mates exude is frightening. 

13 minutes ago, ScottBF2 said:

See in terms of setting you up though, genuinely, did you feel that you learned anything from it or was it mostly just a laugh?

No mate it was pretty shite.

A couple a years after I'd dropped down to under 21s and away from pro youth set ups they started with dietary plans etc.

But it failed in all honesty.

Despite playing in a league set up it was non competitive, no trophies etc at the end. Was shite 

1 hour ago, STEPPS BOY said:

Not saying it was KK he was talking about but the coach ( not difficult to work out) said he couldn’t believe the attitudes some of younger players had. He said Gerrard was disgusted too.

Always remember Jordan McMillan buying a bright orange Range Rover and he never had a drivers licence.

Whether some of the youth players are entitled, asking for too much money etc, I think it's kind of poor from the club that coaches and staff gossip about this outside the club and background fan media and journalists on youth contract discussions.

Kai Kennedy has copped a fair amount of public abuse over what should be a private matter between him in the club, and it's something that frankly he is allowed to ask for. The guy is 18 years old and we've allowed people to abuse him online by backgrounding people on his contractual demands. Pretty poor tbh.

14 hours ago, mitre_mouldmaster said:

Actually a decent wee game of football this on the bbc iPlayer.

I have went right off the commercialised pish that is served up by the EPL.

This all day, give me the blood n snotters of the Scottish game any day of the week. Seems to be a growing trend now as well.

15 minutes ago, McEwan's Lager said:

Whether some of the youth players are entitled, asking for too much money etc, I think it's kind of poor from the club that coaches and staff gossip about this outside the club and background fan media and journalists on youth contract discussions.

Kai Kennedy has copped a fair amount of public abuse over what should be a private matter between him in the club, and it's something that frankly he is allowed to ask for. The guy is 18 years old and we've allowed people to abuse him online by backgrounding people on his contractual demands. Pretty poor tbh.

Goes both ways. His agent is a bawbag. 

1 hour ago, ScottBF2 said:

Not meaning that offensively to anyone in that line of work, but the young guys I’ve spoken with - it’s clear that they wouldn’t handle that profession easily.

There’s a huge skills shortage in construction for example. Real lack of quality coming through for so many trades, partly as so many think they’re above it. 

14 hours ago, STEPPS BOY said:

I was involved in a conversation with a Rangers Coach and he said when he arrived he could not believe how self-entitled our Youth players were.

Said their attitudes were unbelievable.

14 hours ago, graeme_4 said:

Same for most young people in fairness. Shocked at the attitude of some folk on our graduate programme.

13 hours ago, STEPPS BOY said:

Complaining about other teams changing rooms, length of grass on pitches and dry pitches.

He said he’d have them back cleaning boots and sweeping stadiums like they used to do.

Unreal.☹️

2 hours ago, MaddistonKnight said:

It's prevalent nowadays. I have three 16 and 21yo twins, and the entitlement some of their mates exude is frightening. 

It’s probably just me but I don’t understand that :confused:

45 minutes ago, plumbGER said:

This all day, give me the blood n snotters of the Scottish game any day of the week. Seems to be a growing trend now as well.

Said the same to a mate the other day, when I catch a glimpse of the EPL I just find myself muttering “fucking wee fannies” before changing the channel, it’s all shite haircuts and tiktok videos. Half the players look like the kind of guys who don’t want to slide tackle incase they get dirty.

2 minutes ago, Bigdave30 said:

Said the same to a mate the other day, when I catch a glimpse of the EPL I just find myself muttering “fucking wee fannies” before changing the channel, it’s all shite haircuts and tiktok videos. Half the players look like the kind of guys who don’t want to slide tackle incase they get dirty.

It’s so sanitised it horrible.

1 hour ago, Bigdave30 said:

So much so that they make out that wee fanny Keiran Teirney is some sort of hard cunt:lol:

13 minutes ago, plumbGER said:

So much so that they make out that wee fanny Keiran Teirney is some sort of hard cunt:lol:

I watched that clip 3 times to see what it was all about, thought I had missed the flashpoint.

It was an overstatement to call it ‘handbags’ 

Hes about as hard as a hot mars bar 😂

1 hour ago, Bigdave30 said:

Was watching Anthony Gerrard on the Under the Cosh Podcast the other week and he was saying by the end of his career he was getting told off by his Manager for calling out players on the park that weren't doing their jobs, like marking at set plays. He contrasted that to when he was at Everton at the beginning of his career and he was training alongside the likes of David Unsworth and Duncan Ferguson.