Goldson

MacBoyd

1 hour ago, BridgeIsBlue said:

We'd be top of the league the now if it wasn't for him and that other eejit Souttar.

The amount of utterly moronic goals we've concede this season would put your head away. 

Last night was shoddy defending, (almost solely on Souttar) it wasn't utterly moronic ffs 😂

We've lost a goal every 180 mins in the league, our defence on the whole isn't the issue.

43 shots with only 3 goals tells us why we didn't go top last night.

1 hour ago, Jimfanciesthedude said:

Souttar isnt getting a free pass, its a goldson thread, he made absolutely no attempt to stop the cross, he might as well have not went out to the boy down the line

Aye it's a Goldson thread when Souttar was far more culpable than Goldson. Cunts can't wait to come and put the boot in to Goldson. We win to go joint top for the first time in fuck knows how long and this is the immediate thread people go to. Embarrassing.

7 minutes ago, Malkytfp1 said:

Aye it's a Goldson thread when Souttar was far more culpable than Goldson. Cunts can't wait to come and put the boot in to Goldson. We win to go joint top for the first time in fuck knows how long and this is the immediate thread people go to. Embarrassing.

Its clearly not the first thread, but its a topic that rears its head often because, like it or not, every time we concede he is partly culpable

Do you think he did everything he could when he closed down the boy on the wing? 

Souttar is a diddy, ive said it since we were linked with him, he's nowhere near good enough for us over a long period and consistently enough, his switching off and losing a man happens too often

He isnt however, held in the same regard as goldson, who does the exact same stuff as souttar, only slightly less

19 minutes ago, Jimfanciesthedude said:

Its clearly not the first thread, but its a topic that rears its head often because, like it or not, every time we concede he is partly culpable

Do you think he did everything he could when he closed down the boy on the wing? 

Souttar is a diddy, ive said it since we were linked with him, he's nowhere near good enough for us over a long period and consistently enough, his switching off and losing a man happens too often

He isnt however, held in the same regard as goldson, who does the exact same stuff as souttar, only slightly less

Fucking hell Jim.

59 minutes ago, Jimfanciesthedude said:

This is exactly the kind of utter pish I'm talking about. Your last post was on the verge before this.

2 hours ago, SeparateEntityMyArse said:

We've lost a goal every 180 mins in the league, our defence on the whole isn't the issue.

43 shots with only 3 goals tells us why we didn't go top last night.

Butland.

Don't get it mixed up. Butland is the difference.

Goldson's a lucky boy We've got Super Jack between the sticks bailing him out. 

14 minutes ago, King Jela said:

Butland.

He's not though. Before last night our XgA was 14 Vs an actual 12. So while Butland has been excellent our defence isn't conceding lots of chances either.

13 minutes ago, King Jela said:

Butland.

Butland makes a difference but is barely called into action in many games.  The defence and Butland deserve credit for the defensive record.

But last night we needed 3 goals to go top and today the narrative for some is that defending is costing us that position.

We'd 43 shots and only scored 3. We'd have been top last night if any of about 5 or 6 players had shown an acceptable level of clinical finishing.

RC lost their last game by 5 goals, we should have had a cricket score against them rather than now today looking at Goldson and Tav as what's hindering us.

35 minutes ago, SeparateEntityMyArse said:

But last night we needed 3 goals to go top and today the narrative for some is that defending is costing us that position.

Well, that is what cost us last night. And it was pish defending at that, from both of them. 

40 minutes ago, Roy Hobbs said:

He's not though. Before last night our XgA was 14 Vs an actual 12. So while Butland has been excellent our defence isn't conceding lots of chances either.

So it wouldn't have made any difference having Butland in goals or, say, McGregor for another year?

6 minutes ago, King Jela said:

Well, that is what cost us last night. And it was pish defending at that, from both of them. 

Bizarre looking at 1 goal against rather than 43 opportunities to score last night as the reason we didn't get the goal difference needed. Baffling.

3 minutes ago, SeparateEntityMyArse said:

Bizarre looking at 1 goal against rather than 43 opportunities to score last night as the reason we didn't get the goal difference needed. Baffling.

It's no baffling at all. The defence gave away the goal that ended up being the difference between going top and not going top. 

If they do their job we win 3-0.

6 minutes ago, King Jela said:

So it wouldn't have made any difference having Butland in goals or, say, McGregor for another year?

Of course it would. The goals against would then probably be higher than expected as opposed to less than expected. The point being with an average keeper we should have 14 against before yesterday.

We conceded 5 in our first 7 under Beale, under Clement we've conceded 8 in 17. Did Butland get better or are we defending better as a team?

11 minutes ago, Roy Hobbs said:

Of course it would. The goals against would then probably be higher than expected as opposed to less than expected. The point being with an average keeper we should have 14 against before yesterday.

We conceded 5 in our first 7 under Beale, under Clement we've conceded 8 in 17. Did Butland get better or are we defending better as a team?

Aye, I don't disagree we're defending better as a team. 

And while we're defending better as a team, Butland is still the difference for the defence. 

Am I saying something that's wild here? 

13 minutes ago, King Jela said:

It's no baffling at all. The defence gave away the goal that ended up being the difference between going top and not going top. 

If they do their job we win 3-0.

100% baffling that a goal conceded in 1st half hour is the problem when literally dozens of good chances were spurned.

We've got the best defensive record in the league. Our goals have come far too often from a defender or the injured Sima. Last night yet again those who aren't on the score sheet enough spurned far too many chances - take your pick from the table below.

If we had players who would finish, and no noticeable difference in defending, we would romp this league. If we improve defending and show no noticeable improvement in finishing then imo we're more likely to come a cropper.

Screenshot_20240215_121348_Samsung Internet.jpg

3 minutes ago, SeparateEntityMyArse said:

100% baffling that a goal conceded in 1st half hour is the problem when literally dozens of good chances were spurned.

We've got the best defensive record in the league. Our goals have come far too often from a defender or the injured Sima. Last night yet again those who aren't on the score sheet enough spurned far too many chances - take your pick from the table below.

If we had players who would finish, and no noticeable difference in defending, we would romp this league. If we improve defending and show no noticeable improvement in finishing then imo we're more likely to come a cropper.

Screenshot_20240215_121348_Samsung Internet.jpg

I'm not arguing we didn't waste chances?

The goal against was the difference last night and it came about from shite defending, again.

No amount of side tracking changes that. 

9 hours ago, McEwan's Lager said:

He had a weird moment tonight in front of/at the fans in the Copland.

This was at some point in the first half after their goal and after the bit where he sliced the ball high into our own area and then couldn’t get a handle on dealing with the ball as it came back down. Couldn’t make it out fully what he was screaming but I think it was “calm, calm, calm”.

Then the second went in and he turned around and gestured at the support before turning back and doing the old throw your hands ‘cmon’ routine.

A lot of players including him in this team who will really need to try and soak up the pressure of a title race with fans in the ground.

I get what you’re saying and I think the pressure clearly does get to him and a few others in the team, but I think the fans are ridiculous at times in terms of how quick they are to get on the players backs.

They equalised early enough in the first half and it never seemed like we would drop points in the game but the atmosphere went completely negative :lol:

Just now, .Williamson. said:

I get what you’re saying and I think the pressure clearly does get to him and a few others in the team, but I think the fans are ridiculous at times in terms of how quick they are to get on the players backs.

They equalised early enough in the first half and it never seemed like we would drop points in the game but the atmosphere went completely negative :lol:

There was folk around me screaming like maniacs at every misplaced pass after they equalised.