graeme_4’s official Clement discussion thread

8 minutes ago, SeparateEntityMyArse said:

Wouldn't shed a tear if any of them left. 

But a team costing what they have in salary and transfer fees with many of them in it should be beating a Dundee team in a full or bounce game.

I'd hope half a team of B players supplemented with half a team of starters from the above would beat a Dundee. 

Given how low many including Clement has taken us it's no surprise we haven't.

A celtic team of their subs and some starters struggled passed Sligo Rovers, it's a bounce game. 

Mental to be acting like it means anything.

3 hours ago, .Williamson. said:

Load of shite. 

We have better individual quality than the rest of the league outwidth celtic and to succeed here all you’ve to do is beat the rest and manage to win a couple of old firms.

The coaching of our squad is entirely at fault for how absolutely shite we look. Bringing Kieran Dowell on for Lawrence against Lyon when you’ve other attacking options on the bench and waiting until you’re 4-1 down to address the glaring issue that was Tav against Fofana ffs. We look dreadful against literally everyone we play with the exception of a once in a blue moon performance like against Ross County or Malmo 

Hes a clown 

Ffs man simple eh🤣

Are this squad capable of winning the league? 

15 minutes ago, J-Maestro said:

A celtic team of their subs and some starters struggled passed Sligo Rovers, it's a bounce game. 

Mental to be acting like it means anything.

It doesn't mean anything in the sense it determines what happens next. It's just a bit shite we can't beat Dundee even in a bounce game.

The scum still won, its what their squad tends to do. I'd like our players to give us more of that whether friendles, bounce games or competitive. Never know, they might turn it into a habit.👍

4 hours ago, Jimfanciesthedude said:

You said every manager has the winter breaks at the same time, im merely stating that managers with a settled squad built over a season or two will find these breaks less of a hindrance than a manager whos trying to build a new squad into a team

Yes but it's not like they're random, if you're in the process of a rebuild, these breaks are something you know are coming, they can't be used as an excuse, there's plenty of things that could be used, but they aren't one of them.

7 hours ago, Blueshoff said:

Destroys any momentum and reduces time you can spend training together.  Harder to develop understanding between players.  We started to see that with Jefte and Bajrami and then two weeks apart.

But these things aren't random, everyone knows they're there every year at the same time, every manager has to deal with them, plus I think the break probably came at a good time, we were getting results but playing poorly, there was a lot of tired legs in the last couple of games, the break would do the majority of the squad a favour, IMO.

1 hour ago, Andyy53 said:

This. And a top manager will improve shite players to average, average players to good etc & so on. Only need to look at what Postecoglou done for a journeyman no-mark like Anthony Ralston. There’s no system for our players to thrive. They look utterly clueless as to where they should be on the park. Overall just a complete disorganised mess. 

Ralston - pish then and still pish. 

15 minutes ago, Boybluesy said:

Ralston - pish then and still pish. 

He is. My point is that a decent manager can make a player as limited as him an integral part of a squad & he ended up providing moments that guided them to a title. We have players with high technical ability/potential like Diomande being completely ruined because we have no system for him to thrive in. The players go out every week at the moment looking utterly clueless as to what they’re supposed to do.

43 minutes ago, NixonRFC said:

But these things aren't random, everyone knows they're there every year at the same time, every manager has to deal with them, plus I think the break probably came at a good time, we were getting results but playing poorly, there was a lot of tired legs in the last couple of games, the break would do the majority of the squad a favour, IMO.

Yes they are there every year but if you are working with newish players and combinations/formations you can't work on that when the players aren't around.  A rest would probably do everyone good if they could still train together but we have some players away some of those playing two international games and others still here in what is left of the squad playing in bounce games.

All I'm saying is it's not ideal.  Clement might still have made a rip roaring cunt of it anyway but we'll never know.

3 hours ago, J-Maestro said:

We didn’t have it under Gerrard outside of one season either though?

Not really wanting to get into the pros and cons of Gerrard, but we’re miles away from what we were under him.

Think we only lost once by 2 goals or more under Gerrard in 3 and a bit seasons including Europe, whereas we’ve done that three times this season already. 

36 minutes ago, graeme_4 said:

Not really wanting to get into the pros and cons of Gerrard, but we’re miles away from what we were under him.

Think we only lost once by 2 goals or more under Gerrard in 3 and a bit seasons including Europe, whereas we’ve done that three times this season already. 

3-1 to Bayer Leverkusen and 2-0 to the sheep, both at Ibrox are the only games we lost by more than 1 goal under Gerrard if I'm remembering correctly. And as you said, including Europe. 

Yes, losing by one goal is still losing but we never suffered any pumpings under him, nor looked like doing so even in Europe. We did get outclassed in that home defeat to Leverkusen tbf.

All the managers since him have suffered multiple pumpings home and abroad and especially against them* :ang:.

*Only the one shafting from them under Clement so far, but who'd bet against more being in the post :ang:

2 hours ago, NixonRFC said:

Yes but it's not like they're random, if you're in the process of a rebuild, these breaks are something you know are coming, they can't be used as an excuse, there's plenty of things that could be used, but they aren't one of them.

Doesn't matter if you know they are coming or not, im sure clement would have loved bajrami, cerny etc in on July 1st but given we had to move players on firstly he couldn't do that, so instead we signed 3 of our starters 3 days or so before the window closed

So aye only having a full 6 weeks with your post window squad to work with them all is a decent excuse imo

22 minutes ago, RS4_wul said:

3-1 to Bayer Leverkusen and 2-0 to the sheep, both at Ibrox are the only games we lost by more than 1 goal under Gerrard if I'm remembering correctly. And as you said, including Europe. 

Yes, losing by one goal is still losing but we never suffered any pumpings under him, nor looked like doing so even in Europe. We did get outclassed in that home defeat to Leverkusen tbf.

All the managers since him have suffered multiple pumpings home and abroad and especially against them* :ang:.

*Only the one shafting from them under Clement so far, but who'd bet against more being in the post :ang:

Didnt really help gerrard did it, he won one trophy in 3 years and had a domestic cup record that can only be described as abysmal including one cup final in 3 season

Ffs gio took a pumping off them, a loss off them at ibrox, and made a euro final and won a cup

Gerrard bar one season dropped a massive amount of points both home and away to absolute shite, Clarke and mccinnes had his number outwith the title season

We've just been really really fucking inconsistent bar the title season since gerrard arrived, funnily enough clement has been consistent this season in terms kf domestically we have gotten better results since the tarrier doing, we're just playing absolutely shite

2 hours ago, BlueSuedeSambas said:

Even with better coaching, we lack the quality and depth needed to win the league.

A good coach would get alot more out of whatever players he has at his disposal. Right now there's not one player we can say is performing at their level let alone above it.

3 hours ago, Jimfanciesthedude said:

Didnt really help gerrard did it, he won one trophy in 3 years and had a domestic cup record that can only be described as abysmal including one cup final in 3 season

Ffs gio took a pumping off them, a loss off them at ibrox, and made a euro final and won a cup

Gerrard bar one season dropped a massive amount of points both home and away to absolute shite, Clarke and mccinnes had his number outwith the title season

We've just been really really fucking inconsistent bar the title season since gerrard arrived, funnily enough clement has been consistent this season in terms kf domestically we have gotten better results since the tarrier doing, we're just playing absolutely shite

Didn’t say it helped him and completely agree about his piss poor domestic cup record and the multitude of points dropped to utter shite, was merely pointing out that for whatever reason we never took any absolute doings under him. 

4 hours ago, RS4_wul said:

Celtic, Slavia and Lyon all beat us 2-0. We were lucky not to get pumped in his first Old Firm as well, they hit the post/bar 3 or 4 times, was in difficult circumstances after UFA, right enough.

1 hour ago, esquire8 said:

A good coach would get alot more out of whatever players he has at his disposal. Right now there's not one player we can say is performing at their level let alone above it.

What’s the level of Souttar, Barron, Lawrence or Jefte? Bajrami’s came in and looked our best player. 

7 minutes ago, ForeverAndEver said:

celtic, Slavia and Lyon all beat us 2-0.

I guess I wasn't remembering correctly then :lol:

What’s the level of Souttar, Barron, Lawrence or Jefte? Bajrami’s came in and looked our best player. 

I watched Souttar tonight play in a deep line, much deeper than normal due to the opposition for Scotland, and be very impressive.

I then look at Propper's pace and how they both played against Malmo and again wonder why don't we play a deeper line.

I'm not saying back to the walls against the likes of St Johnstone and Kilmarnock but just reign this press in a little bit. Be willing to soak up a little pressure and defend in real blocks. 

Everything defensively is so scatter gun and mishapen. We get away with it against St Johnstone and Hibs but not against celtic and Lyon.