Ibrox Upgrade

Rupret

If it's free I would be interested in seeing how it could be used but at the same time, call me backwards, I'd be worried in the panels making the stadium look ugly. :lol:

They don't look too bad, example below. I believe the maintenance is free for 20 years and the income earned from them is tax free.

football%20stadium_main.jpg

• Replies 86

Id rather we kept our current capacity than have thousands of empty seats like at the pigerry. I think folk are dreaming if they think well ever get 60k on a weekly basis.

Id like the area surrounding Ibrox to be improved

wouldn't hurt to put a little pressure on the Council and ask them why the whole of the east end and especially Glasgow green and Peoples palace is being upgraded and has gardeners all over the shop making it spotless ,yet the whole of the area surrounding our stadium is left to rot .The park across from the stadium probably doesn't make a penny but the bastards at the Council won't upgrade it .The whole area right the way up to the park is needing a good upgrade .The paths are fucking full of potholes and filled with very old litter that the lazy bastards at the council don't touch .Bearing in mind the Bellahouston park is used as a cash cow and brings in thousand with concerts and events .Minimum is spent to clean up the damage after some of these .When the fuck was the last time the grass was cut around the sports centre .Im my opinion ,deliberately left long so it looks like it's a run down area .How many times do you see photos taken of Ibrox last few years with this on forefront .Fuck knows why we couldn't take up the offer of all the free maintenance from Rangers fans tradesmen when it was offered .Under DM in last 10 years ,he didn't give s fuck It sadly seems it's not much of a priority with the present lot

Get Greggs in .. fuck the upgrade.

Fuck Greggs .For fat bastards .Waa over at Nou Camp last year .A few visits to their stadium would have some of the numb nuts at our club filled with ideas .Babes ,families and kids all with the emphasis on healthy .Wee five a side tournaments for the youngsters ,Stadium food served with olive oil instead of brown sauce and ketchup Somehow I think Greggs would go out of business over there .

If folk think well get 60k vs Ross County and Dundee theyre dreaming. In the 90s scottish football was huge compared to now. And even then we didnt sell out every week. Its a nice thought to imagine 70,000 regular attendees at Ibrox but there is literally nothing to suggest thats possible

I like the solar panel idea and it fits with Rangers being a progressive forward thinking club.

For me though, the main thing is sorting out the existing fabric of the stadium (which as last nights game showed has been woefully neglected by White et al). Also for me the area around Ibrox is an absolute disgrace with that waste land. We should be pushing the council hard for it to be redeveloped. I can understand the previous reluctance for a casino but to not allow the redevelopment there was a scandal in my opinion. We have one of the UKs few UEFA 5 star stadia but I cant see Ibrox hosting anything soon unless all that stuff is sorted.

My upgrade would be for the club to sign up to the government energy savings trust scheme, who would fit solar panels to the roof. The clubs energy bills would be reduced and any excess energy made can be sold back to the national grid.

http://www.energysavingtrust.org.uk/blog/2015/11/solar-powered-football-stadiums

Weder Bremen did that several years ago, not sure of the cost involved but the roof and walls now have solar panels.

Has anybody pointed out the old and obvious fact that you can't replace the screens with seats, because the supports for the Copland, Govan and Broomloan stands' roofs, yet?

The Tannadice idea is silly, as it means removing seating.

As much as I would like the screens removed and replaced with seats, it's not going to happen. Not because it can't be done but because the cost of this is way too high.

Seats were planned to begin with http://forum.rangersmedia.co.uk/index.php?showtopic=112326&hl=%2Bibrox+%2Bcorners but due to the high cost it was decided to add the screens instead.

At the moment our capacity is fine, if we do need to increase capacity in the future then safe standing in sections of the stadium is the way forward.

Just a general tidy up and coating of paint.

We are not anywhere near a scenario where we can upgrade in a major way or increase the capacity. I thik that opportunity has came and went because Scottish football is going down the toilet.

Solar panels and such are pie in the sky stuff.

Yes, 100%. Short term, to deal with the loss of us. That will all change next year.

So there wont be 10,000+ empty seats at the piggery for most games next season? And there wont be 5k empty seats at Ibrox regularly?

Ok then, if we sell out 10 games next season then maybe it would be a good idea, otherwise its just a waste of money, imo its just folk wanting the same capacity as the tims which baffles me as we have no reason to feel inferior to them in any way. Ive heard plenty of tarriers try to say things like "aye but we've got a bigger/nicer stadium" but ive never known any Bear to need to be as desperate as that, its just daft imo. How much would it cost to take us to 65k capacity? Id rather that was spend on the team or youth development or something.

The fact is the numbers go against everyones fantasy of regular sell outs

So there wont be 10,000+ empty seats at the piggery for most games next season? And there wont be 5k empty seats at Ibrox regularly?

Ok then, if we sell out 10 games next season then maybe it would be a good idea, otherwise its just a waste of money, imo its just folk wanting the same capacity as the tims which baffles me as we have no reason to feel inferior to them in any way. Ive heard plenty of tarriers try to say things like "aye but we've got a bigger/nicer stadium" but ive never known any Bear to need to be as desperate as that, its just daft imo. How much would it cost to take us to 65k capacity? Id rather that was spend on the team or youth development or something.

The fact is the numbers go against everyones fantasy of regular sell outs

I will never agree with not wanting to be bigger and richer than them. For me it is a necessity. They are the biggest football business in the country by some way and need put right in their place. We are the only club who can do that. It is our duty. "if you book them they will come" Said the weird naked indian. Well Fergus McCann also said "if we build it they will come" And they did and will again. First chance we get we must also build it.

No point in creating more seats. Bigger doesn't mean richer, Bigger means more maintenace costs. Look at the scum this year they are maintaining a 60k seater stadium with the funding from 40k(alledged season tickets) and a few thousand more tickets sold on matchday + euro money + spl money + sponsors etc. average attendance really is about what 30k???

We are maintaing a 51K seater stadium with a 45k average attendance.

As a percentage of capacity we do far better than they do and therefore would be better off financially for it if we were in europe and could draw higher sponsorships.

The only reason i see us needing more seats is in a British/English league.

I will never agree with not wanting to be bigger and richer than them. For me it is a necessity. They are the biggest football business in the country by some way and need put right in their place. We are the only club who can do that. It is our duty. "if you book them they will come" Said the weird naked indian. Well Fergus McCann also said "if we build it they will come" And they did and will again. First chance we get we must also build it.

Thats got hee haw to do with the size of their stadium. The reason theyre richer the now is because we went into admin due to cunts running us, and then went through more turmoil due to other cunts running us, and the tarriers got a free run for 4 years.

I want to be bigger and richer than them too, and the way to achieve it is by ensuring we have a capable squad for the next 5 years to challenge for the title. Not by spending a fortune on more seats to gain some brownie points when the seats arent guaranteed to bring in more money.

How much would we have to spend, and how many sellouts a season would we need to make it feasible.

I wouldnt care if there were less seats at Ibrox if the team was winning titles. The team is where the money should go.

Rip out all 3 sides that aren't the main stand, rebuild something better.

Something new, unseen before.

Get Zaha Hadid in.

She made a cunt of the Transport Museum, so let's pass on that.

A good local architect. Maybe even a Bear!

All we need now is a few hundred million quid. Pony up, Mr King!

Absolutely no point in increasing capacity when we don't have the numbers to justify it.

Someone mention a waiting list for ST's .. that's a good guide, if we sold 50k ST and had a waiting list, that is the only justification to expand.

As for the stadium, a good coat of paint or maybe an upgrade of the internal finishes in the concourses, an HPL board (high pressure laminate) that could have graphics designed onto it. They would resist wear & tear and also provide a much cleaner finish to the public areas.

Thats got hee haw to do with the size of their stadium. The reason theyre richer the now is because we went into admin due to cunts running us, and then went through more turmoil due to other cunts running us, and the tarriers got a free run for 4 years.

I want to be bigger and richer than them too, and the way to achieve it is by ensuring we have a capable squad for the next 5 years to challenge for the title. Not by spending a fortune on more seats to gain some brownie points when the seats arent guaranteed to bring in more money.

How much would we have to spend, and how many sellouts a season would we need to make it feasible.

I wouldnt care if there were less seats at Ibrox if the team was winning titles. The team is where the money should go.

They have been richer for at least the last 14 years. £6m for Lennon, Sutton, Hartson, £4m for Valgaeren etc etc and paying £50-60k a week to Bellamy and the 2 Keanes whilst we were signing Dan Eggen, Jerome Bonnisel and Kevin Muscat on free transfers. They were paying Bobo Balde £40k a week when we were trying to cut Artur Numans contract to £5k a week. They paid for Scott Brown when we couldn't afford to. The signed Kris Commons because we couldn't' afford to match the wages for him. There is no doubting they have the financial upper hand just now and it is nothing to do with the last 4 years. Their stadium is integral as to why they are the richest. It gave them a huge advantage over us after it opened averaging crowds of 59000 to our 47000. 12000 tickets every second week at say £25 a ticket for at least a decade until average crowds levelled out. Guessing at anything between £40m and £60m financial gulf in just 10 years. In Scottish football terms that is enormous.

If it costs anything up to £20m to increase Ibrox to 60000-65000 it would pay for itself in what, 10 years, 15 years? A legacy forever. It has to be a worthwhile investment. 10 years in the life of a football club is nothing. Our club has so much more to grow, so much potential to develop and so much still to do. We are a sleeping giant with huge potential. If we were to match Celtics capacity it would blow Scottish football away. Right now, i understand our position 100%, i know where we are, i know what we have and don't have and i know we could never afford to do anything like this right now but it has to be a plan for the future, it has to be part of our growth and development as a club.

We can win titles with a lower capacity ground, of course we can, we have proven that, but at what cost? It meant living outwith our means, it meant we couldn't afford the teams we put on the park, it meant the bank taking over, forced sales, administration, is all that really worth it when we can just show a bit of vision and ambition and give the club and fanbase a home worthy of them. As grand and as stunning as Ibrox is, i personally think it is too small and i know that sounds crazy at the minute but i honestly believe it is. We had almost 300000 ticket applications for the last 16 Champions League match against Villarreal, we had a quarter of a million fans follow us to Manchester and another 50000 at Ibrox to watch the final along with countless millions in their homes watching us on TV, the fanbase is there, we have the numbers. What we don't have is a vision, a vision to sell to the fans to show them where we feel we should be. SDM made a mockery of our brand for the 10 years of his reign. His gambling got out of control and ultimately cost us. Under a stable board who share a dream with fans, who knows where we could go.

I want what is best for our club, i want to be the biggest, the best, the richest and everything else that goes with being Scotlands biggest football institution and the worlds most successful football club. I want Celtic to know they can no longer outspend us or no longer pay players more than us and i want the whole of the UK and Europe to know that too. We have to be the premier choice for any players coming to Scotland or growing up in Scotland. I want us to be the undisputed number 1 and having a ground to match that status for me is paramount.