Welcome to police state Scotland

The Hammer 11

Celtic and Rangers fans visited at home by cops to warn against Old Firm gatherings

Authorities have expressed concerns over potential gatherings across Glasgow following chaotic scenes in the city centre last week.

Daniel Morrow

Cops have visited the homes of Old Firm fans to warn them over gathering in large numbers ahead of next weekend’s derby between the Glasgow sides. 

Police Scotland said that it is ‘common practice’ for the force to visit ‘individuals affiliated’ with either team before Rangersand Celtic play one another. 

But concerns have been raised over the possibility of supporters breaching Covid guidelines to gather outside Celtic Park and elsewhere in the city.

Celtic are scheduled to play bitter rivals Rangers in the Scottish Premiership at the Parkhead stadium next Sunday.

Celtic are scheduled to play Rangers in the east end of Glasgow next week (Image: DAILY RECORD)

It follows the chaotic scenes witnessed at Glasgow’s George Square and Ibrox Stadium following Rangers first Premiership title win last weekend. 

Assistant Chief Constable Bernard Higgins said: “In advance of any Old Firm match, it is common practice for us to visit individuals affiliated with both clubs and remind them of their responsibilities not to engage in any behaviour or disorder which might endanger public safety.

“Given the current pandemic, it is vitally important that people do not attend Celtic Park or any other locations on Sunday, 21 March, as this would breach coronavirusregulations and is irresponsible in terms of protecting the health of the wider public and our officers. 

"We will do everything we can to reinforce this message to stay at home including, where appropriate, visits to certain individuals.

“Police Scotland will also support both clubs in urging fans to take personal responsibility, do the right thing and stay at home."

Nicola Sturgeon has warned that next week's fixture could be at risk (Image: PA)

Keep in touch with Daniel Morrow

Daniel is a trends and advance content writer for the Daily Record.

Follow him on Facebook here and Twitter here.

You can also contact Daniel at daniel.morrow@reachplc.com

Scores of people descended on the city centre last Sunday to celebrate Rangers Premiership title win in breach of Scotland’s stay at home lockdown restrictions.

Fans were seen not adhering strict rules on social distancing, gatherings and mask wearing.

Glasgow City Council workers were left to clean up the mess left behind by supporters, which included discarded alcohol bottles and cans. Memorial benches were also destroyed during the illegal gathering. 

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon has warnedthat the club’s clash against Celtic could be at risk following the incident. 

Rangers captain James Tavernier has pleaded with supporters to stay at home ahead of the match. 

He said: “I want to send a message for all Rangers fans. Thank you for you support over the last week.

"We have another huge week ahead, the second on Thursday the the Old Firm at Parkhead on Sunday.

"As captain of Rangers it is a huge privilege to represent the best fans in the world. I want to highlight how important it is for you to all stay at home next weekend.

Top news stories today

"Please don't gather in crowds especially near the city centre or the stadium.

"We want nothing more than to have you with us next Sunday but we know you are right behind us.

"The best place to support us is from home. Stay home, stay safe."

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/celtic-rangers-fans-visited-home-23710396

• Replies 59
4 hours ago, crabbit247 said:

Just me that saw a spelling mistake and got pissed off seeing as it's allegedly a professional outfit sending that copy out? 

They also missed an apostrophe when talking about Rangers' title wins.

It is the daily retard tbf, and they apparently pay @The Dude to type shite on here so spelling and grammar mistakes is the worst of their worries. 

3 hours ago, Wearethepeople72 said:

Could just say aye nae bother we won’t do it, off they go.

Really don’t see the point in this, probably a lot of shite tbh.

Polis have a lot of time on their hands since all the murderers and rapists and burglers and drug dealers have all taken time off due to covid

5 hours ago, Wearethepeople72 said:

Could just say aye nae bother we won’t do it, off they go.

Really don’t see the point in this, probably a lot of shite tbh.

Sadly it's not shite , they turned up at my neighbours on Friday night to talk to their son who is in the Union bears , can only assume Rangers gave his name and address . Covid restrictions were reiterated and they left

Mass demonstrations on the streets to protest about women's safety.

If your applying the covid rules with equality, it doesn't matter how just you feel a cause is, it has the same potential for spreading the disease as any other mass gathering.

But comparing the reaction of politicians and media to our celebrations show complete hypocrisy. Our celebrations were called disgusting and shameful, we were told we had blood on our hands. Complaints were made about the police not doing enough.

While the women's demonstrations is praised, with the police attracting heavily critised for doing their job.

Journalism and politics are fucked in this country. And the police are being increasingly politised.

4 hours ago, Redwhiteandblue said:

They also missed an apostrophe when talking about Rangers' title wins.

It is the daily retard tbf, and they apparently pay @The Dude to type shite on here so spelling and grammar mistakes is the worst of their worries. 

It's the mods who pay me mate.

24 minutes ago, five stars said:

Mass demonstrations on the streets to protest about women's safety.

If your applying the covid rules with equality, it doesn't matter how just you feel a cause is, it has the same potential for spreading the disease as any other mass gathering.

But comparing the reaction of politicians and media to our celebrations show complete hypocrisy. Our celebrations were called disgusting and shameful, we were told we had blood on our hands. Complaints were made about the police not doing enough.

While the women's demonstrations is praised, with the police attracting heavily critised for doing their job.

Journalism and politics are fucked in this country. And the police are being increasingly politised.

The police waded in on the women’s protests! Which was shocking! 

The club and SG are pretty clear about congregating for OF game - just don’t do it! It really is that simple. 

20 minutes ago, Sparkle said:

:lol: Hurting much? 

Good stuff...

Technically correct. As the league reconstructed after we were thrown down and reconstituted as a Premiership instead of premier league. 

no?

10 hours ago, The Hammer 11 said:

Celtic and Rangers fans visited at home by cops to warn against Old Firm gatherings

Authorities have expressed concerns over potential gatherings across Glasgow following chaotic scenes in the city centre last week.

Daniel Morrow

Cops have visited the homes of Old Firm fans to warn them over gathering in large numbers ahead of next weekend’s derby between the Glasgow sides. 

Police Scotland said that it is ‘common practice’ for the force to visit ‘individuals affiliated’ with either team before Rangersand Celtic play one another. 

But concerns have been raised over the possibility of supporters breaching Covid guidelines to gather outside Celtic Park and elsewhere in the city.

Celtic are scheduled to play bitter rivals Rangers in the Scottish Premiership at the Parkhead stadium next Sunday.

Celtic are scheduled to play Rangers in the east end of Glasgow next week (Image: DAILY RECORD)

It follows the chaotic scenes witnessed at Glasgow’s George Square and Ibrox Stadium following Rangers first Premiership title win last weekend. 

Assistant Chief Constable Bernard Higgins said: “In advance of any Old Firm match, it is common practice for us to visit individuals affiliated with both clubs and remind them of their responsibilities not to engage in any behaviour or disorder which might endanger public safety.

“Given the current pandemic, it is vitally important that people do not attend Celtic Park or any other locations on Sunday, 21 March, as this would breach coronavirusregulations and is irresponsible in terms of protecting the health of the wider public and our officers. 

"We will do everything we can to reinforce this message to stay at home including, where appropriate, visits to certain individuals.

“Police Scotland will also support both clubs in urging fans to take personal responsibility, do the right thing and stay at home."

Nicola Sturgeon has warned that next week's fixture could be at risk (Image: PA)

Keep in touch with Daniel Morrow

Daniel is a trends and advance content writer for the Daily Record.

Follow him on Facebook here and Twitter here.

You can also contact Daniel at daniel.morrow@reachplc.com

Scores of people descended on the city centre last Sunday to celebrate Rangers Premiership title win in breach of Scotland’s stay at home lockdown restrictions.

Fans were seen not adhering strict rules on social distancing, gatherings and mask wearing.

Glasgow City Council workers were left to clean up the mess left behind by supporters, which included discarded alcohol bottles and cans. Memorial benches were also destroyed during the illegal gathering. 

First Minister Nicola Sturgeon has warnedthat the club’s clash against Celtic could be at risk following the incident. 

Rangers captain James Tavernier has pleaded with supporters to stay at home ahead of the match. 

He said: “I want to send a message for all Rangers fans. Thank you for you support over the last week.

"We have another huge week ahead, the second on Thursday the the Old Firm at Parkhead on Sunday.

"As captain of Rangers it is a huge privilege to represent the best fans in the world. I want to highlight how important it is for you to all stay at home next weekend.

Top news stories today

"Please don't gather in crowds especially near the city centre or the stadium.

"We want nothing more than to have you with us next Sunday but we know you are right behind us.

"The best place to support us is from home. Stay home, stay safe."

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/celtic-rangers-fans-visited-home-23710396

Do we think there would be such a fuss ,if the scum had done their 10 .Of course not .We all know ,this City is corrupt from top to bottom .GCC ,the fuckpigs ,Scotland’s media and the SFA/Spfl  .All would be turning a blind eye to all the “understandable exuberance “🤔that they would be entitled to under the circumstances 

Fucking stinks