PC Gaming Build

DeanMK

On 02/01/2023 at 22:09, theblueoysterbar said:

Question I hope someone can help me with. I replaced my power unit with a modular one, plugged everything in exactly as it was with the old unit and it won't switch on.

Anybody got any ideas about what it could be I've done wrong before I have to get a multimeter out?

The main problem is that the motherboard isn't getting power, no LEDs come on, there's usually a green one on the motherboard that's on all the time before switching on. But I don't know if hard drives etc are getting any either. I've checked everything is properly plugged in and the kettle lead is definitely supplying power.

Occasionally PSU’s are fucked out the box, have your tried reinstalling your old one? If that fires up first time it saves you broadening your troubleshooting to anything other than the PSU.

Troubleshooting is the fucking devils work, my wee yin ran into my tower the other night, PC froze, rest, power but no post, stripped it down started losing the rag, then noticed the RAM had become unseated, it’s a cunt 😂

1 hour ago, blaudrup said:

These are far superior options than trying to jam in a paperclip and turning on the mains power. 

You are indeed correct, however that kinda takes away from the whole fault finding that goes amateur enthusiast is all about. 

Theirs a reason that myself an my 2 oldest boys can pin point faults in a pc very quickly and it's by using almost old skool techniques. 

Fwiw I very much doubt that the likes of seasonic, super flower, evga, Corsair etc etc, the biggest PSU manufacturers in the world all throw in those testing clips because it's literally the easiest thing to test before u start ripping a full pc apart.

Likewise imho best way to trouble shoot a pc is by removing the full mobo and using a piece of clean cardboard to troubleshoot.

How did the poster get on with his pc?? @EatDolphins

1 hour ago, Bigdave30 said:

Occasionally PSU’s are fucked out the box, have your tried reinstalling your old one? If that fires up first time it saves you broadening your troubleshooting to anything other than the PSU.

Troubleshooting is the fucking devils work, my wee yin ran into my tower the other night, PC froze, rest, power but no post, stripped it down started losing the rag, then noticed the RAM had become unseated, it’s a cunt 😂

Must have been some scud to unseat the ram😳😳

On 03/01/2023 at 15:49, mitre_mouldmaster said:

I would double check that the 16pin motherboard connection is properly pushed in. I had a similar problem and it was due to this not being pushed fully in, it's stiff as hell.

Also, just want to check, you used the modular cables that came with the PSU, you didn't reuse old cables from a different PSU?

There is a chance that the PSU that you have is just faulty.

Building your own PC is great fun when everything is working. The moment one component starts to play up, the fun stops.

What kinda wierd shit is this:hmmm:

That's surely a propriety motherboard?? 

43 minutes ago, rabc10000 said:

Must have been some scud to unseat the ram😳😳

I’m guessing I must have not seated it properly in the first place, I noticed I was getting power to the mobo and all the lights were on, fans spinning, cpu cooler pump sounded like it was on but the LEDs on the RAM were off, gave the stick a wee push, lights came on, PC booted properly after that, I was just lucky the RAM has LEDs or I’d have ended up breadboarding the cunt 😂

22 minutes ago, Bigdave30 said:

I’m guessing I must have not seated it properly in the first place, I noticed I was getting power to the mobo and all the lights were on, fans spinning, cpu cooler pump sounded like it was on but the LEDs on the RAM were off, gave the stick a wee push, lights came on, PC booted properly after that, I was just lucky the RAM has LEDs or I’d have ended up breadboarding the cunt 😂

It's a pain in the arse at times but weirdly I enjoy messing about with stuff. Fucked pc, few beers couple of smokes and no weans at home sounds like heaven.

Btw I'm assuming your motherboard doesn't display fault codes on the board itself?? If no u should have used on of these 

All that it's doing is sensing if that pin goes to 0V before powering on.

motherboard-speaker-22.jpg

11 minutes ago, rabc10000 said:

It's a pain in the arse at times but weirdly I enjoy messing about with stuff. Fucked pc, few beers couple of smokes and no weans at home sounds like heaven.

Btw I'm assuming your motherboard doesn't display fault codes on the board itself?? If no u should have used on of these 

All that it's doing is sensing if that pin goes to 0V before powering on.

motherboard-speaker-22.jpg

I enjoy it when I’m building from scratch or I know it’s fucked and settle into it, not when I’m chilling out and my wain rugby tackles it while I’m using it 😂

Its a ROG maximus x hero so has the wee panel to display temps/fault codes, I’m an enthusiast rather than a professional, I’m yet to have a problem with a PC that I couldn’t fix myself as long as I have a functioning device with internet access.

Now you’ve actually said that I’ve googled error code 55 (which is the number that was on the panel) and low and behold it’s a memory error, live and learn eh! 

6 minutes ago, Bigdave30 said:

I enjoy it when I’m building from scratch or I know it’s fucked and settle into it, not when I’m chilling out and my wain rugby tackles it while I’m using it 😂

Its a ROG maximus x hero so has the wee panel to display temps/fault codes, I’m an enthusiast rather than a professional, I’m yet to have a problem with a PC that I couldn’t fix myself as long as I have a functioning device with internet access.

Now you’ve actually said that I’ve googled error code 55 (which is the number that was on the panel) and low and behold it’s a memory error, live and learn eh! 

Haha, see how much time you would have saved reading the code😂

Last few years with my 2 oldest when they ask me to help them with their pcs I know it's going to be a right cunt because they genuinely know how to fix most things, moreso and especially my oldest so I know the pain of having to stop everything to fix a pc u know will be a dick to get going again

1 minute ago, rabc10000 said:

Haha, see how much time you would have saved reading the code😂

Last few years with my 2 oldest when they ask me to help them with their pcs I know it's going to be a right cunt because they genuinely know how to fix most things, moreso and especially my oldest so I know the pain of having to stop everything to fix a pc u know will be a dick to get going again

😂 I thought it was the CPU temp on the display.

I’ve not really had any major dramas (touch wood) most tinker about upgrading things and I went through a wee stage of fucking about with overclocks.

Most PC repair guys just google your symptoms and follow a guide to fix your problems anyway!

Just now, Bigdave30 said:

😂 I thought it was the CPU temp on the display.

I’ve not really had any major dramas (touch wood) most tinker about upgrading things and I went through a wee stage of fucking about with overclocks.

Most PC repair guys just google your symptoms and follow a guide to fix your problems anyway!

Agree but not just pc guys but a heck of a lot of places. Garages are the ones I noticed most, especially with younger guys.

Quite funny u thought that was the cou temps. Still managed to be helpful for once on the forum

30 minutes ago, rabc10000 said:

Agree but not just pc guys but a heck of a lot of places. Garages are the ones I noticed most, especially with younger guys.

Quite funny u thought that was the cou temps. Still managed to be helpful for once on the forum

Aye it shows them usually when it’s running normally 😂 like I said live and learn 

Just bought myself a gaming PC tonight.  No sure how long it’s going to take, I was going to build one myself but just changed my mind and got a custom built one from a UK website. It will have the 4070 ti in it. Decided the 4080 was just too expensive. 

and before someone points out I know the 4070 ti is just the 4080 they postponed rebranded. 

2 hours ago, GOAT said:

Need to get myself a better monitor preferably 32inch 4k monitor. 

I would recommend a 144hz 1440p ultra wide.

That's what I have and it's the business.

Going for a 4k one, you will gimp your framerate pretty quickly, and a higher frame count is better in my opinion than the difference between 4k and 1440p.

6 hours ago, mitre_mouldmaster said:

I would recommend a 144hz 1440p ultra wide.

That's what I have and it's the business.

Going for a 4k one, you will gimp your framerate pretty quickly, and a higher frame count is better in my opinion than the difference between 4k and 1440p.

Would all come down to what GPU you have more than anything. My son plays on one of those monitors at 4k 60fps which is perfect unless your really into competitive fps type games etc.

15 hours ago, GOAT said:

Just bought myself a gaming PC tonight.  No sure how long it’s going to take, I was going to build one myself but just changed my mind and got a custom built one from a UK website. It will have the 4070 ti in it. Decided the 4080 was just too expensive. 

and before someone points out I know the 4070 ti is just the 4080 they postponed rebranded. 

Did you get it from PC Specialist? 

6 hours ago, Somemightsay7 said:

I'd 2nd a 1440p 144hz over a 4k 60hz.

Even 4080's struggle to get much more than 60fps on some games at 4k and gaming at 100+ fps is so nice.

Tbh, I wouldn’t be getting a 60hz one.  I’m looking at a LG 32 inch 144hz one that can apparently be over clocked to 160hz but it’s a grand.  Might just save up for it. 

4 hours ago, GOAT said:

Tbh, I wouldn’t be getting a 60hz one.  I’m looking at a LG 32 inch 144hz one that can apparently be over clocked to 160hz but it’s a grand.  Might just save up for it. 

You'll get a decent 32 inch 144hz monitor far cheaper than that mate. Overclocking to 160hz is completely pointless IMO because nobody could reliably tell the difference between that and 144hz.

• 2 weeks later...