£100m guarantees nothing ?

BLUEDIGNITY

• Replies 239

He is right but we don't have the time to do it all at once.  This is exactly warburton was brought in and I said back in august when all we signed was freebies before garner.  Another manager would've demanded a good budget to at least make a fist of it vs the tims but the fact is warburton is happy to do the developing side of things which is great..  

whats not great is the fact that this could take another 3-4 years to bear fruit and the board of Rangers men are literally handing the scum 10-11 in a row.  What real Rangers men would do that?

Get the first team in order and at least Europa league stages every year whilst building the good foundations for the next 10 years.

If Weir thinks it's going to take 100 million to catch the tarriers then he is as well chucking it.

2 central defenders

Ball winning strong midfielder

Proven Goalscorer

If we can get these kind of players we will start to bridge the gap. 

I already think it Is to late for Warburton and Weir

100 million aye nae bother

9 minutes ago, The Godfather said:

What he is saying is making another excuse for the lying mouthpiece King.

Read between the lines  

? watch any interview with Davie Weir since he joined  and you won't see him make a case for spending big. This is consistent with that. 

They've got many here with their headline 

He doesn't neccesarily say what the title says - surprise surprise. 

He's right in saying buying a whole new squad doesn't guarantee success, look at the likes of Man Utd, Liverpool and Spurs over the years 

The worst thing about the interview is not the money comment that was just a throwaway line pounced on by the media. It's when weir said that what they do is build for the future ? Wtf is he on about, senderos,hill,Miller, bringing in 2 loan signings we have no chance of signing (like ball and zelalem last year) signing journeymen players(tav ,Kiernan,waggie,moh,etc) how the fk can that be laying foundations for the future?

6 minutes ago, Gaz52 said:

They've got many here with their headline 

He doesn't neccesarily say what the title says - surprise surprise. 

He's right in saying buying a whole new squad doesn't guarantee success, look at the likes of Man Utd, Liverpool and Spurs over the years 

In the EPL the richest league in the world, of course it's not going to guarantee you anything there when 5/6 teams also spend a fortune.

This is Scottish football, it's impossible not to win titles with the kind of investment mentioned here.

Why is he even talking about it in any case? Is it because the fans are now wondering where Kings bullshit claim of investment are? Ach well money doesn't guarantee the title so investment isn't crucial!

The stuff coming out of our club on the park and things like this is woeful. Defeatist pish.

5 minutes ago, Ivybank said:

The worst thing about the interview is not the money comment that was just a throwaway line pounced on by the media. It's when weir said that what they do is build for the future ? Wtf is he on about, senderos,hill,Miller, bringing in 2 loan signings we have no chance of signing (like ball and zelalem last year) signing journeymen players(tav ,Kiernan,waggie,moh,etc) how the fk can that be laying foundations for the future?

Stop pointing out the obvious you. ??

Dont you know it's just a throw away headline to get us all ranting, while we build a class team of youngsters for as little money as possible. 

When we actually start building that team of talented youngsters can someone let me know. 

Just now, coopsleftboot said:

More like "make it up" between the lines. Fuck me. :headwall:

Why else is he coming out with it...in January....during the window?

Wake the fuck up.

We are skint and he knows the fans are out there questioning the lies coming from the top of our club regarding investment.

Kings boys will round up and defend him, we the fans will call the liar out.  

4 minutes ago, The Godfather said:

In the EPL the richest league in the world, of course it's not going to guarantee you anything there when 5/6 teams also spend a fortune.

This is Scottish football, it's impossible not to win titles with the kind of investment mentioned here.

Why is he even talking about it in any case? Is it because the fans are now wondering where Kings bullshit claim of investment are? Ach well money doesn't guarantee the title so investment isn't crucial!

The stuff coming out of our club on the park and things like this is woeful. Defeatist pish.

What he's doing is being real and managing fans expectations. 

Him and Warburton can only play with the cards they've got. He doesn't want to be in this position as much as we don't. 

What this interview says to me is we're a million miles off Celtic and we don't have a board with enough money to bridge the gap. He's obviously not stupid, he knows £100m in the SPL would be more than sufficient 

1 minute ago, Gaz52 said:

What he's doing is being real and managing fans expectations. 

Him and Warburton can only play with the cards they've got. He doesn't want to be in this position as much as we don't. 

What this interview says to me is we're a million miles off Celtic and we don't have a board with enough money to bridge the gap. He's obviously not stupid, he knows £100m in the SPL would be more than sufficient 

We are not a million miles away ffs.

Decent investment (£10-15 million) would bridge the gap no problem...the way he and you are talking it's as if we are up against Barcelona ffs. :lol: 

This place is bonkers man

34 minutes ago, cr3_bear said:

5-10 million used wisely would have us challenging them 

again the important part of that point is it being used wisely 

This. 

We forget this is largely the same Celtic team who dropped points left right and centre last season.

They have recruited with relatively minimal outlay, and if we can get some decent frees and spend 4-5mill on a few key players, and lock down the likes of McKay, burt and gilmour, then we can really compete.

18 minutes ago, Ivybank said:

Senderos hill and Miller will be the experience he talks about adding and Tavernier waghorn etc are the ones he rightly or wrongly thinks can improve over time.

thats my take on it and it's not weir or even warburton we should be insulting-the ones in charge brought them in knowing what route they wanted to go down 

2 minutes ago, The Godfather said:

We are not a million miles away ffs.

Decent investment would bridge the gap no problem...the way he and you are talking it's as if we are up against Barcelona ffs. :lol: 

This place is bonkers man

It would with 5 or 6 decent players on decent money. Problem is the club cannot afford to add extra 6-8 million onto the wage bill and King is not going to overinvest (or even invest).

Its not just about having expensive skilful players - its also about having the right attitude. At the moment the attitude emanating from the board down is fucking dreadful and certainly not what I expect from my club. Time for them to fuck off if they can't invest properly and do a job that only requires about £20m.