Kris Boyd - Take A Bow

VanVeenRangers

• Replies 157
1 hour ago, the cry was no said:

There was NO winter break but one team were granted one when it made absolutely no sense whatsoever either in terms of the health risks or in terms of the fixture strain

Simultaneously that delayed playing 3 fixtures until a point when they could strengthen their squad. Most other teams are more concerned about losing key players during this window and due to the pandemic would be unable to resist any decent offers (especially for players entering the last 6 months of their contracts)

Preferential treatment is the new sporting integrity in Scottish football it seems. ONE team and only ONE team got a winter break, the rest followed the rules

Thing is it could come back to bite them. Some teams are bringing new faces in which could work against them. 

The spfl have allowed them to use the 'winter break' as an excuse to delay matches to suit their poor form and under performing personnel,  its nothing new as they allowed them to cancel the new year game for legend Phil in 2007. 

Boyd should have mentioned this when he spoke of 3 games in 5 days.

5 hours ago, Malkster said:

Bolingoli's Majorcan sojourn

Thumbheid's party

Pingpong's american visitor

Dubai debacle...

How many indiscretions are the tramps allowed before something gets done about them!

Was there not a team photo as well.

31 minutes ago, trueblue 64 said:

The spfl have allowed them to use the 'winter break' as an excuse to delay matches to suit their poor form and under performing personnel,  its nothing new as they allowed them to cancel the new year game for legend Phil in 2007. 

Boyd should have mentioned this when he spoke of 3 games in 5 days.

IMO this was the overriding factor in them going ahead with the Dubai trip, that defence had to be dealt with and postponement of fixtures have allowed that to be addressed, it's as obvious as the nose on the end of our faces all approved of coarse by the complicit authorities.

6 hours ago, Malkster said:

Bolingoli's Majorcan sojourn

Thumbheid's party

Pingpong's american visitor

Dubai debacle...

How many indiscretions are the tramps allowed before something gets done about them!

I’ve heard Duffy is at home in England so is this not another one,especially if he travels back here for hibs game. Glasgow to Dubai to london to Brighton to Glasgow in a national lockdown surely qualifies him as a future snp candidate.

13 minutes ago, Dickie said:

I’ve heard Duffy is at home in England so is this not another one,especially if he travels back here for hibs game. Glasgow to Dubai to london to Brighton to Glasgow in a national lockdown surely qualifies him as a future snp candidate.

We'll no count the Duffy one if it means he can play on Monday 

When Boyd first started in the media I didn't think he'd last as he lacked any confidence. Some change in him now and he's realised he just needs to speak the truth.

Many won't like it but the arseholes that write for crap papers or talk shite on radio don't have the football background Kris has, plus, facts are difficult to argue against.

41 minutes ago, JWAC said:

When Boyd first started in the media I didn't think he'd last as he lacked any confidence. Some change in him now and he's realised he just needs to speak the truth.

Many won't like it but the arseholes that write for crap papers or talk shite on radio don't have the football background Kris has, plus, facts are difficult to argue against.

Yeah, he didn't look to comfortable in front of the camera at first. What a difference! He's a joy to watch now, and doesn't hold back. 

Think he got a bit of stick for not being forthcoming previously and backing us to the hilt, but I think that was more to do with the fact he was still a player (for Kilmarnock). He doesn't give a fuck now :UK:

49 minutes ago, JWAC said:

As much as I loved Barry Ferguson as a player, he could certainly take a leaf out of the Kris Boyd ‘tell it like it is and not be afraid to show who and what you are’ book...

18 hours ago, MorelosRangers said:

He is taking those bastards to task. This is new levels and they deserve everything that's coming to them. Here's just a short piece of the article he has written in the sun:

'ARROGANCE' 

celtic are losing the title & losing the plot – there’s no excuses for Dubai trip, says Kris Boyd

CALLUM McGREGOR turned the ball into the celtic net at Ibrox last weekend.

But it was nothing compared to the huge own goal his club have scored in the past week.

Let’s get it right, this trip to Dubai was nothing short of a PR calamity.

For the life of me, I can’t understand why their powers-that-be thought it was a good idea to fly Neil Lennon and his team to the Middle East during a pandemic.

They go every year, do they? I’m sorry but that just doesn’t wash after the year we’ve all had.

The world has changed, in case they hadn’t noticed.

The Hoops jetted out just hours after losing to Rangers

celtic’s decision to go away stinks of arrogance, frankly.

It’s little wonder their supporters believe their board has lost all touch with reality these days because that’s the way this whole episode looks.
Here’s what I think.

celtic shouldn’t have gone to Dubai or anywhere else for a winter training camp.

They should have been at home in Scotland playing at least one of the games they’ve got in hand. In fact, thinking back to how we at Rangers were forced to play three league games in just five days at the end of the 2007/08 season, maybe they could have got two of their extra matches out of the way.

It could have been Rangers at Ibrox last Saturday then Livingston on Tuesday, Aberdeen on Friday and Hibs on Monday night.

That kind of schedule was good enough for Rangers 13 years ago, wasn’t it?

Remember when sporting integrity was all we heard about and how the season had to be finished before the Scottish Cup final.

Hang on a minute, didn’t celtic just beat Hearts to lift the trophy seven months later than it should have been? I’m going off topic. The point is celtic seem to live by different rules from the rest of the clubs in this country.

That’s how it appears yet again with the SFA compliance officer turning a blind eye to everything that went on in Dubai.

Maybe the eight lads at Aberdeen who were hauled over the coals would like to know why.

But then it was always going to be hard for her to throw the book at celtic when the SFA stood back and watched a conga in the Scotland team hotel after the victory over Serbia.

Fucking love it 🔴 🔵 🇬🇧 

200 (5).gif

This is how corrupt the whole thing is, we all have a window to sign players in which both old firm done, however we have played 22 games with our chosen signings and they have only played 19, so now they can sign better players than they have and have a stronger squad for more games than we can as we played the required quantity of games by this part of the season and they can now play three more if they sign better players than what they have. SPFL playing a blinder here.

36 minutes ago, Robmc1 said:

As much as I loved Barry Ferguson as a player, he could certainly take a leaf out of the Kris Boyd ‘tell it like it is and not be afraid to show who and what you are’ book...

If he done that his tarrier Mrs would probably kick him oot the hoose! :confused:

42 minutes ago, BlueboyG said:

This is how corrupt the whole thing is, we all have a window to sign players in which both old firm done, however we have played 22 games with our chosen signings and they have only played 19, so now they can sign better players than they have and have a stronger squad for more games than we can as we played the required quantity of games by this part of the season and they can now play three more if they sign better players than what they have. SPFL playing a blinder here.

Would rather be in our position than there’s.

Who cares who they bring in, the end result will be that they’ll be part of the team that lost 10 in the tarrier hordes eyes and will never be forgiven 🤣

Money down the drain absolutely fuck they taig cunts it’s all about us now they can’t stop us, we can only stop ourselves.

6 minutes ago, Tiger Shaw said:

Would rather be in our position than there’s.

Who cares who they bring in, the end result will be that they’ll be part of the team that lost 10 in the tarrier hordes eyes and will never be forgiven 🤣

Money down the drain absolutely fuck they taig cunts it’s all about us now they can’t stop us, we can only stop ourselves.

Stop your sensible talk Tiger. 

I'd be interested to hear what @The Dude makes of it. As a fellow journalist, do you think boyd is taken seriously outwith our fans as a journo/pundit? Its great that he is defending us while putting the boot into them, but its only any good if he is taken seriously by broadcasters or newspapers, i mean him saying it is great but will anyone respond to it or chip in to it?

Good news troops, John Kennedy has cleared up any confusion. They're being victimised with a false narrative. It's not easy being victimised all the time you know.

The full article c&p'd with maybe a little added in bold.............. you really, really couldn't make this shit up

John Kennedy rails against 'false' celtic in Dubai narrative but assistant coach admits to 'slip ups'

The Premiership champions came under fire for jetting out to the Middle East in the midst of a pandemic.

By

Gabriel McKay

15:11, 9 JAN 2021

celtic assistant manager John Kennedy admits there have been "slip-ups" with coronavirus protocols but insists the narrative around the trip to Dubai is a false one. 

The Premiership champions jetted out to the Middle East following Saturday's defeat to Rangers, something they are permitted to do as elite athletes. 

However celtic came under fire for the optics of the situation, especially after images emerged of the squad in Dubai enjoying beers beside the pool. 

Kilmarnock were forced to forfeit a match after players sat too close together on the team bus and at a pre-match meal and, as Record Sport revealed, the Ayrshire club intend to use celtic's trip in their appeal. 

But Neil Lennon's assistant is adamant everything was above board, despite admitting there may have been slips.

Kennedy insisted: "You guys back here probably got a snapshot of one of two pictures that might kick around from local people or people who are on holiday.

"It paints a picture which is probably a bit false.

"The whole week we had a lot of work put into the trip itself, we had a lot of people who spent a lot of time and effort travelling out there before we arrived to make sure everything was ready for us.

"In terms of the protocols in Dubai the hotel worked very hard with us in terms of giving us our own areas, we had our own meeting places and pretty much left through our own entrances and exits, the only exceptions being when we didn't obviously.

"So at no point did we really have to go into the main part of the building we were kind of kept aside and that was just to try and follow the protocols. Well apart from the times we were in the bar area in a group that wasn't socially distancing or sitting round the pool drinking with other guests less than 2 metres away - but that's a false narrative. 

"Before we went there we took advice from the usual advisors, we made sure we were following all the protocols we had to. You might think that because we are only supposed to stay in a hotel if it is ESSENTIAL (even in Scotland) would mean travelling abroad to train when we have our own training facilities here would not be seen as ESSENTIAL, but that would be a false narrative too.

"That allowed us to train well.

"In terms of the facility itself, the training sessions we got out there, the work we got done - we couldn't have replicated it here. There's two reasons for this. Firstly there was NO winter break this year  and secondly the weather wasn't too good.

"We wanted to give ourselves the best opportunity for the second half of the season and it's always worked for us in the past so here's hoping that can be the same. So although there was NO winter break this year we decided to create one for ourselves and got our friends at the SPFL to ok it and they even moved a wee game to help. Some people might see this as preferential treatment and an unfair advantage but, guess what, thats just another false narrative"

It was then put to Kennedy that some of the photos appeared to show the squad not obeying the two metre distancing rule.

He replied: "Listen, there have been slip-ups. Minor things which if you get a snapshot you can criticise and jump on it. Just because several players and officials were less than 2m apart might make it seem as if they've not followed the protocols but that would also be a false narrative - just don't ask me to explain why lol

"We, as much as we possibly can, speak to the players in terms of the protocols they must adhere to because everyone wants football to continue.

"We want to abide by all the rules and if there's any error in that we try to eradicate it or fix it and that's what we did.

"The picture maybe paints a bleak picture but we've got to move on from that. Move along guys, there's nothing to see here

"The government and the SFA have said there's not really a case to answer, we've submitted what we need to and they're content with that. Well the government are still a bit concerned and that wee tit Jason is still banging on about it but we told the SFA to tell them to piss off and they did so it's all good, so to speak

"So we just have to concentrate on moving forward now.

"There's been contact asking the question when we were over there but we've submitted what we did every day, the protocols we put in place while we were there to mitigate any sort of risk and they seem quite content with that. Except maybe the times where we breached the protocols but we've told them that's fuck all to do with them - it's just a false narrative and there's nothing to worry about.

celtic returned to Scotland on Friday and are now awaiting the results of their tests ahead of Monday's Hibs game.

"We were tested on arrival last night, there's usually a 24 hour turnaround time for that so we should recieve that in the next day or so. They'll all be negative because we do our own testing and the only time we've had any positive tests has been when someone else, like a national team, have tested our players. So again a kind of false narrative  

But Kennedy insists whatever risks there may have been will be outweighed by the rewards.

He said: "From our perspective in terms of the football side it was a really good trip.

"We got a lot of work done which would have been difficult here considering the weather and the circumstances we've got here, like NO winter break

"Really good weather, really good sessions, and hopefully that sets us up well for the remainder of the season.

"We made the decision two months ago, we looked into the options in terms of was it an option to get away?

"At that time things were looking better, there was light at the end of the tunnel.

"We were talking about bringing fans back to the stadiums and everything else, so at that time we sat down and spoke about it.

"We went through all the right channels with the government, with the Joint Response Group, and made the decision back then to ignore the fact that there was NO winter break and crack on regardless

Interestingly Jason Leitch seems far less "content" than John Kennedy would have us believe 

Pointing out that in order to avoid quarantine they need to have followed all the protocols and stayed in their bubble whilst overseas (or even when here if truth be told)

I get the feeling that the SFA "get to fuck and stop asking questions" stance might be about to be politely returned with a message of "no you fuck off - did they follow all protocols? and if not we assume they will be quarantining on their return"

Interesting comments from Leitch...........

Leitch also turned his attention to the topic of celtic's Dubai training camp.

The Hoops' decision to travel to the UAE for winter training has caused huge controversy, with Ally McCoist slamming the decision last night.

While he explained why the Hoops DON'T have to quarantine upon their return from Dubai, he said it was up to the football authorities to confirm that the rules were observed throughout.

And highlighted the fact that Covid-19 cases in the UAE are currently TWICE the level of Scotland.

"The rules are that professional sports people can go on winter training camps, that is allowed. 

"So if you are Mo Farah and you need to train at altitude in Ethiopia then come back and run the London marathon that is permitted, it is a reason for travel. 

"So professional sports, football included, are allowed to go on winter treaining camps. 

"They are not allowed just to go on a holiday, like the rest of us aren't.

"But that winter camp is therefore allowed. Now that is a judgement for the authorities and the clubs and the authorities about what that it is. 

"That exemption - if they stay within their bubble - means they don't have to quarantine when they come back. 

"But I should tell you that the UAE yesterday had 5,000 cases, nearly double the Scottish number of cases. So there is a lot of Covid in Dubai. 

"And the club when they are in Dubai, have to follow the rules. 

"They have to distance, the only exemption is over the white line, whether you are training or playing. 

"They have to behave the same as the rest of us, when they are there.

"But they are allowed to be there, just to be clear."