The other mob

MisterC

21 minutes ago, Rowley Birkin said:

they're beating us in the league that's all that matters to them

They've got a chance to do what they could have done to us years ago and put us behind them for decades if they get the next few transfer windows right.

4 hours ago, SkylineBlue said:

They've got a chance to do what they could have done to us years ago and put us behind them for decades if they get the next few transfer windows right.

There’s not a player on earth who puts either of the OF decades ahead. 

It’s a 2 horse race, all it takes is for the other horse to fall and you win the title by default. We’ve been absolutely dreadful for the past 2 seasons, as bad a side to watch in parts as I can remember.

But the tarriers aren’t spending big and I imagine they’re ringfencing money for the ongoing court case. If we had our our shit together and hadn’t had such a black hole in recruitment for 3 years, we’d be the ones with 3iar. 

1 hour ago, plymouthranger said:

It’s a 2 horse race, all it takes is for the other horse to fall and you win the title by default. We’ve been absolutely dreadful for the past 2 seasons, as bad a side to watch in parts as I can remember.

But the tarriers aren’t spending big and I imagine they’re ringfencing money for the ongoing court case. If we had our our shit together and hadn’t had such a black hole in recruitment for 3 years, we’d be the ones with 3iar. 

Aye but we haven’t!

16 minutes ago, B1872 said:

Aye but we haven’t!

Yes it’s true, but I don’t see either side ever being in a position where the other can’t turn things around within a transfer window. 

Ultimately whichever team wins 90-95% of their games against the rest of the league, will win the title. The OF games should take care of themselves and currently aren’t, but they should with a competent manager. 

I keep harping on about it, but look at the Seville season for us. The tarriers had an awful squad in August, but kept in the race and by January were within touching distance and strengthened. We went from an unbeaten season to rabbit in the headlights in a title race within 6 months, because of 2x bad transfer windows and arrogance. That can happen to either side. 

They’re not getting better, so if we can improve and they drop off slightly, we’ll be right in it. Regardless of how much of a shitshow things feel currently. 

1 hour ago, plymouthranger said:

Yes it’s true, but I don’t see either side ever being in a position where the other can’t turn things around within a transfer window. 

Ultimately whichever team wins 90-95% of their games against the rest of the league, will win the title. The OF games should take care of themselves and currently aren’t, but they should with a competent manager. 

I keep harping on about it, but look at the Seville season for us. The tarriers had an awful squad in August, but kept in the race and by January were within touching distance and strengthened. We went from an unbeaten season to rabbit in the headlights in a title race within 6 months, because of 2x bad transfer windows and arrogance. That can happen to either side. 

They’re not getting better, so if we can improve and they drop off slightly, we’ll be right in it. Regardless of how much of a shitshow things feel currently. 

Look at us last season, out of sight in October and Clement dragged us back in the race.

4 hours ago, plymouthranger said:

He’s the most depressing fuck on the forum. Stick him on ignore, it’s what I did.

Even when things were good last season for a period before our collapse he was still being a negative mess. Don’t know what he’s been saying lately as I’ve had him on ignore for a couple of months now but can only imagine he’s saying things like “what’s the point” etc

Right now I’m anything but optimistic about the upcoming season and in truth think it could be a brutal one, but there’s being negative and then there’s whatever he is. “Put us behind them for decades” good grief what a downer

9 hours ago, SkylineBlue said:

There’s realism, pessimism, and even just feeling jaded, but your negativity is so catastrophic and dramatic I’m beginning to think you’re pretending

Just now, Essandoh said:

There’s realism, pessimism, and even just feeling jaded, but your negativity is so catastrophic and dramatic I’m beginning to think you’re pretending

Just ignore me then. It's easily done.

5 hours ago, plymouthranger said:

Decades is overstating it, but they could put themselves ahead for a sustained period of time if they get the right players in and keep trading players the way they have been.

We simply cannot compete with them financially as things stand and it very likely means that we can't compete with them on the park either. Outwith a takeover, we're going to have to get very lucky buying low, developing and selling on for a few seasons to get ourselves in a place where we have decent spending power.

2 minutes ago, SkylineBlue said:

Decades is overstating it, but they could put themselves ahead for a sustained period of time if they get the right players in and keep trading players the way they have been.

We simply cannot compete with them financially as things stand and it very likely means that we can't compete with them on the park either. Outwith a takeover, we're going to have to get very lucky buying low, developing and selling on for a few seasons to get ourselves in a place where we have decent spending power.

What does decent spending power actually get you in the SPL? I don't think any of their top signings actually broke the bank or were outwith our budgets.

10 minutes ago, J-Maestro said:

What does decent spending power actually get you in the SPL? I don't think any of their top signings actually broke the bank or were outwith our budgets.

The ability to conduct a drastically needed rebuild, even if those players are low fees, hopefully.

3 minutes ago, SkylineBlue said:

The ability to conduct a drastically needed rebuild, even if those players are low fees, hopefully.

We are after two seasons of spending a load on a bunch of players we can't sell.

They've got the O'Riley and outside of that every other good player they have is heading closer to 30.

Hatate is 26 and is good but he won't go for multi-millions either now

Last summer they spent £22m on Nawrocki, Palma, Lagerbielke, Kuhn, Holm, Yang, Tillo, Kwon and Iwata. That's an absolutely honking window. They will be lucky to get their money back on most of them, and will likely be stuck with a few of them.

7 minutes ago, J-Maestro said:

We are after two seasons of spending a load on a bunch of players we can't sell.

They've got the O'Riley and outside of that every other good player they have is heading closer to 30.

Last summer they spent £22m on Nawrocki, Palma, Lagerbielke, Kuhn, Holm, Yang, Tillo, Kwon and Iwata. That's an absolutely honking window. They will be lucky to get their money back on most of them, and will likely be stuck with a few of them.

They have blown millions on players over the years.

Difference is they had sellable assets and CL money which allows it.

We had record sales/CL money and still made a loss.

2 minutes ago, Rangers_no1 said:

They have blown millions on players over the years.

Difference is they had sellable assets and CL money which allows it.

We had record sales/CL money and still made a loss.

Yes and this season is the last of it for them, O'Riley and they'll never get through a playoffs if they qualify next season.

On 15/07/2024 at 20:34, J-Maestro said:

Basically every window they’ve had since the Jan of the Seville season has been absolutely pish.

There’s also a ceiling in Scotland in terms of fees / wages.

Can always been turned around in a window or two. 

3 hours ago, Dan Deacon said:

Next week he’ll be out with his Catalonia flag supporting independence against the Spanish fascists. Same as all the weirdo Scottish nationals viva Espania one week Catalonia independence the next.

Wanks