Official match thread: Hoffenheim vs Rangers.

KaiserJon

32 minutes ago, billythebear1986 said:

Lets not get carried away. You get some weird results in friendlys. We best real madrid last season! Didnt go on an win the champions league. New players finding their feet. 

got close but

18 minutes ago, J-Maestro said:

No, but it’s a whole new frontline with a patched together defence.

Patched together my arse, the back 4 know each other inside and out and they have cantwell and raskin infront of them

6 out of 10 outfield players all have played together for 6 months or more, that's not lack of gelling that's either shite players lr shite tactics 

9 minutes ago, Jimbeamjunior said:

Patched together my arse, the back 4 know each other inside and out and they have cantwell and raskin infront of them

6 out of 10 outfield players all have played together for 6 months or more, that's not lack of gelling that's either shite players lr shite tactics 

If you don’t understand that 4th choice and 6th choice CB’s aren’t a patched together defence, there’s not really much to discuss.

Aye you’re right, sack Beale and sack all the players.

Says a lot about our defence that Lundstrum was told to sit right in front of them later in the game.

It worked, but we don't have a settled CB pairing. If we can see that, so will opposition managers.

A solid CB who can read the game should be our priority before the window closes. 

Beale knows this, but time is running out, and it's really frustrating. 

3 minutes ago, J-Maestro said:

If you don’t understand that 4th choice and 6th choice CB’s aren’t a patched together defence, there’s not really much to discuss.

Aye you’re right, sack Beale and sack all the players.

Who said anything about sacking beale or the players? But the idea that tav, yilmaz, lundstram, cantwell, raskin, balogun, souttar, barisic, davies all need time to gel or get beales tactics is a stretch given they've been playing under them for 6 months or in the likes of tav and barisic case 4 years

3 minutes ago, Jimbeamjunior said:

Who said anything about sacking beale or the players? But the idea that tav, yilmaz, lundstram, cantwell, raskin, balogun, souttar, barisic, davies all need time to gel or get beales tactics is a stretch given they've been playing under them for 6 months or in the likes of tav and barisic case 4 years

Balogun does, Souttar and Davies didn’t even play today…

The whole frontline is completely changed, it’s not like a wee switch up. It’ll take time, acting like a rebuild should mean that the guys already here don’t have to adapt too, is mental.

I think we will do quite well domestically this season but bomb out of the CL. (As things stand)

Not sure I can see a team with Cantwell and Lammers at the same time unless Cantwell is in a more forward position.

Team a work in progress. Some lovely forward play at times, some total defensive fuckups 

1 minute ago, RockwellGers said:

Right that's my cue to offer to meet you at the next home game for a square go. Mon then 

I am in my 50's. Not a fair fight

Can I send my psycho 6 foot 4 nephew instead?

He supports Man Utd, so I win no matter who gets their head kicked in.

4 minutes ago, BlueThunder said:

I think we will do quite well domestically this season but bomb out of the CL. (As things stand)

Not sure I can see a team with Cantwell and Lammers at the same time unless Cantwell is in a more forward position.

Team a work in progress. Some lovely forward play at times, some total defensive fuckups 

No chance of making the champions league, no even expecting it going by what's been served up so far.

23 minutes ago, J-Maestro said:

Balogun does, Souttar and Davies didn’t even play today…

The whole frontline is completely changed, it’s not like a wee switch up. It’ll take time, acting like a rebuild should mean that the guys already here don’t have to adapt too, is mental.

The whole front line isnt the major worry, the backline have been leaking shambolic goals

Souttar and davies played against olympiakos midweek and while souttar hasnt done much wrong in pre season, he's still not a new player for argument sakes

We know our fullbacks bomb up the park, or try to, yet we concede terrible goals that all start from out wide

Does that not tell you that either the tactics are flawed or someone isnt doing their job, and that isnt the front line that's tye defensive players who have all been here long enough to know the tactics 

Just now, Jimbeamjunior said:

The whole front line isnt the major worry, the backline have been leaking shambolic goals

Souttar and davies played against olympiakos midweek and while souttar hasnt done much wrong in pre season, he's still not a new player for argument sakes

We know our fullbacks bomb up the park, or try to, yet we concede terrible goals that all start from out wide

Does that not tell you that either the tactics are flawed or someone isnt doing their job, and that isnt the front line that's tye defensive players who have all been here long enough to know the tactics 

How many games has Souttar played? If we get Trusty in we will look much better. 

Barasic/Yilmaz are a problem but doubt that’ll be fixed this Summer. 

Todays goals were from simple mistakes, almost every goal has come from the left hand side. Where Barasic/Yilmaz have been pish, or Davies/Yfeko have made simple mistakes.

40 minutes ago, J-Maestro said:

How many games has Souttar played? If we get Trusty in we will look much better. 

Barasic/Yilmaz are a problem but doubt that’ll be fixed this Summer. 

Todays goals were from simple mistakes, almost every goal has come from the left hand side. Where Barasic/Yilmaz have been pish, or Davies/Yfeko have made simple mistakes.

If we get trusty in and doubt the left side issue will be fixed this summer 

And we have CL qualifiers in less than a fortnight 

Someone has fucked up somewhere then if we still have a honking defence by the time we play the qualifers

Its always simple mistakes and its always from out wide, imo if we dont have the players the now to fix that issue then we need to change tactics to fix that issue

Shutting our eyes, playing plan A constantly hoping something happens will see us fuck something up pretty soon

Just now, Jimbeamjunior said:

If we get trusty in and doubt the left side issue will be fixed this summer 

And we have CL qualifiers in less than a fortnight 

Someone has fucked up somewhere then if we still have a honking defence by the time we play the qualifers

Its always simple mistakes and its always from out wide, imo if we dont have the players the now to fix that issue then we need to change tactics to fix that issue

Shutting our eyes, playing plan A constantly hoping something happens will see us fuck something up pretty soon

What would you like them to do? Have 18 defenders or wave a magic wand to clear up injuries.

If we’d started with Souttar and Davies today I doubt it would have been anywhere near as bad.

25 minutes ago, J-Maestro said:

What would you like them to do? Have 18 defenders or wave a magic wand to clear up injuries.

If we’d started with Souttar and Davies today I doubt it would have been anywhere near as bad.

Well why did we spend the last month chasing and signing 4 brand new attackers (knowing full well all of them wont play at the same time) when our defence is a fucking bombscare

And if we have been actively trying to get defenders in the last month, why are we wasting time still chasing them when its almost qualifier time