*****Official Rangers vs St Johnstone League Cup last 16 match thread*****

10 hours ago, BlueJacketRFC said:

Don't see the issue with the players jumping around with the fans after the game. 

Think people need to actually think about what's going on here? 

Our clubs a shambles, board level is fucked, the fans are distraught and fed up and just expecting a shit show, the players are not good enough to mount a challenge for the title, we have just been knocked out of the CL, we have bad press near enough every single day, We have had some stinking results throughout pre-season and bad performances from the team. 

Yesterday was a sign of good management from Clement to get the players to come up and thank the fans and try and heal the fracture. Always quick to bash this team on here and to fellow friends who support the club because of the shit show we view at times but this was good to see yesterday.

Brings a bit of unity in what's a shit fucking time and it might do the players a world of good playing in a stadium that's not a comfortable setting like Ibrox. We are all in it together. And might be a message from Clement to his players of what they have backing them each week.

Birthday caird pish. 

They way to thank the fans and heal the fracture is to put in a performance  and score goals. If they really wanted to do something with the UB then send n Tav and Butland over to talk with them after the game. You see Italian teams doing it. Jumping about celebrating after a quarter final win against St Johnstone reeks of wee team energy. 

3 minutes ago, SPWF said:

Birthday caird pish. 

They way to thank the fans and heal the fracture is to put in a performance  and score goals. If they really wanted to do something with the UB then send n Tav and Butland over to talk with them after the game. You see Italian teams doing it. Jumping about celebrating after a quarter final win against St Johnstone reeks of wee team energy. 

It's naw Birthday Caird Pish?

It's fucking clear as day what's going and you are fool for not realising what clement is trying to do. Every fucking day it's just negative press and every week it's negativity. The UB work there arse of raising money for displays etc it's nice for the players to show a bit of appreciation. If you think that was a Celebration for winning it wasn't. It's about Unity right now. 

No matter the days of anxiety that come our way we will emerge stronger because of the trials to be overcome. 

1 minute ago, BlueJacketRFC said:

It's naw Birthday Caird Pish?

It's fucking clear as day what's going and you are fool for not realising what clement is trying to do. Every fucking day it's just negative press and every week it's negativity. The UB work there arse of raising money for displays etc it's nice for the players to show a bit of appreciation. If you think that was a Celebration for winning it wasn't. It's about Unity right now. 

No matter the days of anxiety that come our way we will emerge stronger because of the trials to be overcome. 

Calm doon Buddha. 

9 minutes ago, SPWF said:

Calm doon Buddha. 

Let's all sit raging constantly at the team and just be negative and moan that the players are trying to show a bit of unity towards the fans in attendance.

People just moaning for the sake of it now or because Celtic fans are laughing at it. Fuck what others think we can all admit we are pish but let's not kill all spirit.

8 minutes ago, BlueJacketRFC said:

Let's all sit raging constantly at the team and just be negative and moan that the players are trying to show a bit of unity towards the fans in attendance.

People just moaning for the sake of it now or because celtic fans are laughing at it. Fuck what others think we can all admit we are pish but let's not kill all spirit.

Bet you stand and clap the players off after we beat. 

11 minutes ago, BlueJacketRFC said:

People just moaning for the sake of it now or because celtic fans are laughing at it. Fuck what others think we can all admit we are pish but let's not kill all spirit.

Not sure how old you are, or what version of Rangers you grew up on, but the club is genuinely only been this shambolic once previously and we know how that went. 

- No stadium

- No CEO

- No Director for the academy

- Huge losses made year on year 

- A new scandal or legal case near enough every month 

- Highest wage bill in Scotland last year 

- Very little in saleable assets to show for it 

- Even less chance of silverware

- And the near certainty that we’ll no longer be ‘Scotland’s most successful club’ come the end of the season

If you aren’t negative now then you’ve got your head in the sand. 

2 minutes ago, graeme_4 said:

Not sure how old you are, or what version of Rangers you grew up on, but the club is genuinely only been this shambolic once previously and we know how that went. 

- No stadium

- No CEO

- And the near certainty that we’ll no longer be ‘Scotland’s most successful club’ come the end of the season

Reluctant to give such a depressing post a like so I’ll just say you’re spot on. :lol:

31 minutes ago, graeme_4 said:

- No stadium

- No CEO

I'm 35, Grew up watching Laudrup and Gazza and McCoist 9IAR and then Advocaats era etc etc but this isn't about age or accepting the pish we are served up now.

All the things you have listed are 100% every reason to be scunnered about which we all have been but my point is having a bit of unity in what's a shite time. We can't click our fingers and everything will be better. Going to be a long slog to get where we want to be and moaning won't fix it. It's not fixed it the last decade and won't fix it this season. Of course we can shout from the rooftops over change but we can't start moaning at the players for coming over and appreciating the fans fs.

We slaughter the players for leaving the field of play and not thanking the fans after a defeat so why are we moaning when they are coming up to the fans after a win and during hard times on and off the pitch?

If we are going to start turning into celebration police over our players bonding with the fans then the games fucked.

6 minutes ago, BlueJacketRFC said:

I'm 35, Grew up watching Laudrup and Gazza and McCoist 9IAR and then Advocaats era etc etc but this isn't about age or accepting the pish we are served up now.

All the things you have listed are 100% every reason to be scunnered about which we all have been but my point is having a bit of unity in what's a shite time. We can't click our fingers and everything will be better. Going to be a long slog to get where we want to be and moaning won't fix it. It's not fixed it the last decade and won't fix it this season. Of course we can shout from the rooftops over change but we can't start moaning at the players for coming over and appreciating the fans fs.

We slaughter the players for leaving the field of play and not thanking the fans after a defeat so why are we moaning when they are coming up to the fans after a win and during hard times on and off the pitch?

If we are going to start turning into celebration police over our players bonding with the fans then the games fucked.

Unbelievably there is a middle ground between a player disappearing up the tunnel bang on FT, and the full team gibboning about like Saturday. 

1 minute ago, SPWF said:

Unbelievably there is a middle ground between a player disappearing up the tunnel bang on FT, and the full team gibboning about like Saturday. 

It's a split decision in the fan base clearly some fans understand what Clements trying to do and others refuse to accept it which is fine. The game is all about opinions.

My point is I slaughter this team every day it feels like on and off the forum. If Saturday helps some of the players then I guess we will find out this coming weekend against County. 

It's sad though that the standard of professionalism from Rangers players has fell so low that we need to have unity forced the way it was though.

23 minutes ago, Blue Nosed Babe said:

St Johnstone meeting with the SFA. Still raging about the first goal.

Is this because he gave a foul rather than a goal and that VAR can’t intervene?

I would have thought the clear and obvious error of giving the foul rather than a goal would overrule it.

6 minutes ago, ayro said:

Is this because he gave a foul rather than a goal and that VAR can’t intervene?

I would have thought the clear and obvious error of giving the foul rather than a goal would overrule it.

Got to assume it is the timing of the foul. I was watching on TV but it looked to me like he had given the foul (and spoken to folk at the game that thought he had blown for it) pretty much at the impact with Dessers and the defender.

If he has blown for the foul before Dessers has scored then my understanding is he shouldn’t have been able to go back and look at it (as in theory their players could say they heard the whistle and had stopped playing).

As @SeparateEntityMyArse says pretty tedious we are getting involved in it again as it’s not our fault - but if the above is correct basically the ref has:

- made the incorrect decision initially (has accepted that after reviewing on VAR)

- compounded it by blowing for the free kick to early (officials have been directed to not immediately award fouls so it is possible for VAR to review - i.e. the flag gets delayed going up for offside so that play doesn’t get stopped when someone is actually onside)

- totally fucked it by trying to use VAR to correct his initial mistake but the compounding error meant he shouldn’t be able to

This whole scenario is utter bollocks blown up by Michael Stewart and the other usual media puppets.  Remember when Gollum made the Johnson handball ‘mistake’ and it was brushed off as irrelevant since the right decision was ultimately reached?  Totally different story now.  None of the St J players involved in the area of play stopped so the ref raising a hand had no impact.  Any perceived fault was a result of the usual officials making an error but as we are involved it is blown out of proportion.

2 hours ago, Soldier blue said:

This whole scenario is utter bollocks blown up by Michael Stewart and the other usual media puppets.  Remember when Gollum made the Johnson handball ‘mistake’ and it was brushed off as irrelevant since the right decision was ultimately reached?  Totally different story now.  None of the St J players involved in the area of play stopped so the ref raising a hand had no impact.  Any perceived fault was a result of the usual officials making an error but as we are involved it is blown out of proportion.

Aye, that Marvin Barclay was trying to say when a ref raises his hand (whistle or not) players instinctively stop. 

I've watched it back several times and not one St J player stopped/was looking at the ref, they were focused on what was happening, facing play, in front of them, not behind them. So that's a fucking myth. 

1 hour ago, Leftpegcoopz11 said:

Aye, that Marvin Barclay was trying to say when a ref raises his hand (whistle or not) players instinctively stop. 

I've watched it back several times and not one St J player stopped/was looking at the ref, they were focused on what was happening, facing play, in front of them, not behind them. So that's a fucking myth. 

The two players around Dessers aren't facing the ref and the keeper comes flying out to try and save it.

12 hours ago, rossco87 said:

Got to assume it is the timing of the foul. I was watching on TV but it looked to me like he had given the foul (and spoken to folk at the game that thought he had blown for it) pretty much at the impact with Dessers and the defender.

If he has blown for the foul before Dessers has scored then my understanding is he shouldn’t have been able to go back and look at it (as in theory their players could say they heard the whistle and had stopped playing).

As @SeparateEntityMyArse says pretty tedious we are getting involved in it again as it’s not our fault - but if the above is correct basically the ref has:

- made the incorrect decision initially (has accepted that after reviewing on VAR)

- compounded it by blowing for the free kick to early (officials have been directed to not immediately award fouls so it is possible for VAR to review - i.e. the flag gets delayed going up for offside so that play doesn’t get stopped when someone is actually onside)

- totally fucked it by trying to use VAR to correct his initial mistake but the compounding error meant he shouldn’t be able to

I watched it after I got back home and it's quite audible , the whistle blows after the goal is scored . 

The question now is his body movement . He quite clearly turns and starts to raise his hand during play . By this stage it looks likely Dessers will score so it seems to me he decides to wait to see if a goal is scored  , and then let VAR decide on its legality . Once the ball hits the net , he then blows his whistle . 

I think it the correct decision , we want referees to be decisive but they do change their mind as play develops , whether to see if advantage can be applied , or,  as in our case , if a goal is scored .

Ultimately he called it right because had he blown a few seconds earlier he would have disallowed a perfectly good goal . 

Trying to think positively , looking back I don't think it as bad a performance as some are making out . 

Some of our passing was quick and incisive , we created some good chances and were only rarely threatened at the back . We rested Dessers and Barron , and comfortably beat a PL team at Hampden .

Yes our finishing needs to improve , and I worry for the defence against a better team , but I think overall we're a better team than last season . Interesting to see what will happen if we can stay injury free . 

1 hour ago, gmcf said:

I watched it after I got back home and it's quite audible , the whistle blows after the goal is scored . 

The question now is his body movement . He quite clearly turns and starts to raise his hand during play . By this stage it looks likely Dessers will score so it seems to me he decides to wait to see if a goal is scored  , and then let VAR decide on its legality . Once the ball hits the net , he then blows his whistle . 

I think it the correct decision , we want referees to be decisive but they do change their mind as play develops , whether to see if advantage can be applied , or,  as in our case , if a goal is scored .

Ultimately he called it right because had he blown a few seconds earlier he would have disallowed a perfectly good goal . 

I was in the south stand, at the corner flag, so had a good view of Dessers turn, and the ref raising his hand. I didn't even jump up as I saw his arm raised well before Dessers took his shot.

Was a very bizzare situation, but if he's not blown the whistle to stop play, then it's quite clear no matter what the media say that the right decision was reached.