Statement from A Johnston

islandblue

1 hour ago, cushynumber said:

i knew he was an individual with significant control - i would just love toĀ know what that means in reality.

these are the powers that aj has.

An individual who has significant control or influence over a company can be a person or legal entity, such as another company or firm. As per some examples provided by Companies House, ā€œcontrolā€ and ā€œinfluenceā€ can be exercised in a number of different ways:

A person directs the activities of a company, trust or firm.

A person can ensure that a company, trust or firm generally adopts the activities which they desire.

A person has absolute decision rights over decisions related to the running of the business of the company, for example relating to:
ā€“ Adopting or amending the companyā€™s business plan.
ā€“ Changing the nature of the companyā€™s business.
ā€“ Making any additional borrowing from lenders.
ā€“ Appointment or removal of the CEO.
ā€“ Establishing or amending any profit-sharing, bonus or other incentive scheme of any nature for directors or employees.
ā€“ The grant of options under a share option or other share based incentive scheme.

A person has absolute veto rights over decisions related to the running of the business of the company, such as adopting or amending the companyā€™s business plan, or making additional borrowing from lenders.

Where a person holds absolute veto rights over the appointment of the majority of directors, meaning those directors who hold a majority of the voting rights at meetings of the board on all or substantially all matters.

A person who is not a member of the board of directors but regularly or consistently directs or influences a significant section of the board, or is regularly consulted on board decisions and whose views influence decisions made by the board.

A company founder who no longer has a significant shareholding in the company they started, but makes recommendations to the other shareholders on how to vote and those recommendations are always or almost always followed.

1 minute ago, backup said:

these are the powers that aj has.

An individual who has significant control or influence over a company can be a person or legal entity, such as another company or firm. As per some examples provided by Companies House, ā€œcontrolā€ and ā€œinfluenceā€ can be exercised in a number of different ways:

A person directs the activities of a company, trust or firm.

A person can ensure that a company, trust or firm generally adopts the activities which they desire.

A person has absolute decision rights over decisions related to the running of the business of the company, for example relating to:
ā€“ Adopting or amending the companyā€™s business plan.
ā€“ Changing the nature of the companyā€™s business.
ā€“ Making any additional borrowing from lenders.
ā€“ Appointment or removal of the CEO.
ā€“ Establishing or amending any profit-sharing, bonus or other incentive scheme of any nature for directors or employees.
ā€“ The grant of options under a share option or other share based incentive scheme.

A person has absolute veto rights over decisions related to the running of the business of the company, such as adopting or amending the companyā€™s business plan, or making additional borrowing from lenders.

Where a person holds absolute veto rights over the appointment of the majority of directors, meaning those directors who hold a majority of the voting rights at meetings of the board on all or substantially all matters.

A person who is not a member of the board of directors but regularly or consistently directs or influences a significant section of the board, or is regularly consulted on board decisions and whose views influence decisions made by the board.

A company founder who no longer has a significant shareholding in the company they started, but makes recommendations to the other shareholders on how to vote and those recommendations are always or almost always followed.

thatsĀ mate. Begets another question: what has he done to achieveĀ such an illustrious position?

2 hours ago, cushynumber said:

Rangers are ahead of the curve in their recovery despite the current disarray at Ibrox, according to director Alastair Johnston.

The Ibrox club were in the bottom tier of Scottish football in 2012 after their financial implosion and are now in their second season back in the Ladbrokes Premiership.

Ā CAlastair Johnston says Rangers are doing better than he expected since the dark days of 2012

But the chasm between the second-placedĀ Light BluesĀ and rivalsĀ celticĀ was again highlighted in Sundayā€™s Scottish Cup semi-final at Hampden Park, where a 4-0 thrashing extended Gersā€™ winless run against Brendan Rodgersā€™ side to 10 games.

To add to Rangersā€™ woes, club captain Lee Wallace and veteran striker Kenny Miller were suspended pending an investigation into claims of a heated exchange with Graeme Murty, who after a second spell as caretaker was in December given the managerā€™s job until the end of the season.

Johnston insists Murtyā€™s position is currently being evaluated in an ā€œobjectiveā€ way.

But asked about the clubā€™s progress since coming back to the top flight in 2016, he told PA Sport: ā€œWe are probably doing a little better than we would have imagined back in the dark days of running out at Brechin in the fourth tier. :angry:seriously!!!! - after putting the club in debt 20+M

NY RAMSAY - THE SUN GLASGOW

Johnston says they wonā€™t be rushed into a decision over Murtyā€™s future

ā€œSo you have to look back. The fans have been terrific, as I would have expected them to be, to hang in there and hopefully they will be rewarded.:redcard:Ā I think that is aimed at the UB silent protest telling them to be good boys and they'llĀ be rewarded

ā€œIn terms of looking forward from where we were four or five years ago at the bottom, the progress that has been gradually made, we are probably ahead of the curve in reality if we finish second or third.

ā€œWe are making progress.

ā€œHopefully the curve will be fast but it is still going to be gradual, it is not going to happen overnight.ā€Ā :confused:

Rangers supporters, however, are still reeling from their sideā€™s dismal performance at the weekend and they see celtic on the cusp of their seventh successive league title and a Scottish Cup final win over Motherwell away from an unprecedented successive domestic treble.

It is widely believed there will be a new boss in place at Ibrox for next season.

However, USA-based Johnston, who joined the Rangers board last June having been chairman of the club between 2009 and 2011, insists the board will take emotion out of their decision on the future of the clubā€™s former under-20s coach.

He said: ā€œWe have had the discipline of saying that we will evaluate the situation at the end of the season and the reason that we chose that is that at any given time during the period of his tenure there has been a lot of support for him and sometimes there has been not so much support.

ā€œWe as a board have to take a very objective view and not be kind of swayed by the last result, whether it is positive or negative.

ā€œCertainly the weekend wasnā€™t a good weekend for us. I was there.

ā€œBut as I said we have to be disciplined as a board and not be swayed by the emotions at any one game.

ā€œWe have to look at the big picture. We owe that to the club, thatā€™s what we are in place to do.ā€:rofl:Ā If I didn't laugh I'd cryĀ 

Ā 

Come to think about it, it makes the 'Going for 55 campaign' and King saying on record twice recently that we need a lot more for the money we've spent in relation to the players we've signed. It flies in the face of all that if we are really ahead of the curve, doing great etc.

I get the point of view that it was always going to be a tough ride back to the top considering all thatā€™s happened to us but heā€™s basically saying the boards ambition is to surrender 2nd and 3rd to a team like Aberdeen who we astronomically outspend and a team like Hibs who have just come back from spending 3 years in the Championship. Absolutely not the mentality required. Itā€™s actually quite a terrifying thought that the board thinkĀ this way.Ā 

Standing in the pishing rain at Brechin was much more fukkin enjoyable than most games I've watched this season. Cunts so far out of touch a fukkin priest couldnae reach him.Ā 

These last 5 games are gonny be a fukkin nightmare.

A Manager that disnae want tae be here, managing players that'll be pissed off wae him getting Miller & Wallace the boot, and that fat bastard Marshall bawling in ma fukkin lug aboot how guid the board are!

A could fukkin great.Ā 

Ā Another reason this board is not up to the task. A very seriously rich Bear is what we need now with a bit of business acumen as a side plus. A fully fledged businessman is what we have got and it ainā€™t working. And yes thatā€™s the lot of them, so out of reality they have not got a clue imo.

Where's the leadership or inspiration?

Much preferable would have beenĀ a statement of intent that strategies areĀ in place and action is being taken to address developing situations. Don't let this idiot open his mouth again anywhere near the press or any other open forum.Ā 

Trying to read that as objectively as possible but its a catalogue of absolute bolloxs, winning 1 game in 5 at the business end of the season is horrific,Ā  forget about not being swayed by the emotions at any one game, its been the last 6 and we've virtually collapsed, the nonchalance of the man is unbelievable, if this is indicative of the rest of the boards view then the worst fears about them are realised, they clearly have no place at the head of our club and must be ousted.

I used to like AJ, always thought he had potential to be good for us with his connections but was hamstrung by the situation we were in but its now clear he's a dead weight like his mate mini, brought back for no other reason but the old pals act.

The board better choose their next move fucking wisely because us as fans are on the brink and sick of all this bullshit constantly.

go get us a fucking good manger itā€™s as simple as that and if yous donā€™t then all the board can get and take a monumental fuck to themselves